We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely stay at the Radisson”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Freeport
Reviewed 13 July 2012

In june this year , I went to Florida for a Bahama celebration with my Friend anne .we had some stay in Florida ,but Freeport Radisson Lucaya was our destination for a couple of days.As soon as we enter the hotel we fell in love with the staff presentation and nice mannerism they show.This hotel is elegant with,large foyer and rooms with all a traveller can ask for .Our room view from the tenth floor was superb with ocean front and we saw the sunset from our balcony in the evening breeze.From our room we also could see several swimming pool and the bar was so close to it ,you din't had to go out the pool to get yourself a drink.When I go back in the future ,I have no esitation to stay here again.Love it.

Room Tip: ocean view is very good to stay.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank gioacchino g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2012

Hello gioacchino g,

Thank you for the kind words. We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to rate us TripAdvisor. WE are so pleased to hear that you had such a wonderful stay at the Grand Lucayan. We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Grand Lucayan Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (3,017)
There are newer reviews for Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,193 - 2,197 of 3,017 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2012

It was a good short trip,even with 3 stops - check in great - arrived at 5pm
No cruise people that day .
However - our cab driver told us not to go to a specific place to purchase drinks and later find out that that he lied to us to help a certain Liquor store .
We got the room 952 - ocean front view - great!
Room was clean but someone forgot to flush the toilet or there was no room service before we got there?
The beach was awesome but they always wanted the chairs back at 5pm
Not crowded at all

But we talked them into letting us to put chairs back later
The towel service always closed at 6 or so and so that was a drag

Breakfast buffet was only $14 a person but the service was poor . Food ok-
The snorkeling at paradise cove was not great cause one had to swim a distance to get to real fishes about $45 a person
But one could take the boat for $5 more if you wanted a boat to drive to the better reefs
It was good exercise to swim what I did - but had to turn back cause the waves were rocky and there were sharks around
Pat and Diane snorkeling - was closed for vacation which was a shame - heard great things about it.
Then the glass boat cruise was okay - you can see the fishes and sharks on the glass on the floor but not great - the glass was a bit murky to look through - not that clean clear but you could see through - had more fun watching the fishes come about when they threw food in the water.

The casino was great - remained in the game and won some at the end but the dealers were nasty rude and unfriendly.
One dealer couldn't stand the smoking - and made a point of it so maybe she shouldn't be working there ?
I ended up giving my ring to her that she liked but she didn't seem to appreciative
Not sure why I gave the ring to her - maybe cause I felt sorry for her?
There were bonfires at htoel but didn't go to them
No shows on the grounds

Market place was uneventful - but one could bargain - they were really pushy
Just state your price - they eventually give in ESP when you go late afternoon

We ate there as well at zorbas - Greek place - food ok but not great
Terrible service though
Not sure what the rave was about on trip advisor about Zorbas

The dolphin show and petting was neat but the boat ride there was awful
He went to fast that a few of us were not happy about it
It swayed too much
He realized this and on the way back the ride was smoother
I guess he was showing off ?

At least I petted a dolphin for like 6-8 mins and had a pic of them kissing me
That was $82 a person
It was fun seeing the others go through the encounter and the dolphins gave us a very short show so to speak

Swimming with dolphins isn't worth it - I could see it right next to us - it's $164 and personally getting close to a dolphin is a better encounter for $82 a person .

The airport in Freeport was a drag
Only cause we got there early and the seats were so uncomfortable and we were trying to catch a snooze
And they had nothing left for us to eat at the airport - only muffins and croissants
No orange juice just some apple juice and pineapple orange juice.

The general attitude on the hotel was that they were only friendly if you tipped them
We didn't feel welcome on the island
Basically ALL the hotel staff were all rude -
I lived in New York and the Bahamians were rudest!

We will not return to Freeport again- maybe Nassau better?

A lot of people from miami cause its only 50 min plane ride
A lot of Germans

This isn't the sophisticated crowd
The hotel elevator area seemed like a hospital decor
Not very classy

But the hotel entrance was good cause you can see the beach a bit

Upon arrival at airport was good cause they had Bahamian music on so you get in the feel of the Bahamas

Room Tip: Ninth floor ocean view is great Just tip the maid and they do extra special job on the room . Ver...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tobemeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2012

Good day tobemeister,
We sincerely regret that we did not meet your expectations. Thank you for taking the time to post a comment on TripAdvisor. We take all feedbacks seriously. We apologize for the frustrations encountered in some areas of our resort. We are currently undergoing an employee evaluation implementation where employees are to evaluate themselves, their peers and their surroundings. This helps to generate some self-awareness of the service quality guests are experiencing. Our resort offers daily resort activities ranging from fitness classes, options for kids, pool activities, golf putting lessons and more. Our Weekly Managers Cocktail Party offers complimentary drinks and light snacks. This activity allows the resort’s managers to interact with guests, welcome them to the island and get direct feedback about their stay. On weekends, our resort hosts our Junkanoo, a street parade similar to carnival or Mardi Gras, yet still uniquely Bahamian. At Grand Lucayan, a Junkanoo parade makes its way around the property carrying with it the sounds of goat skin drums, horns, and cowbells. We have no control over the off property activities, the marketplace nor the airport, however we are a 10 minute ride from the airport, we are situated on a mile stretch of beach, with 8 restaurants and bars, three swimming pools including our serene infinity pool, 90,000 square feet of meeting space providing the ideal space for weddings and events, an 18-hole championship golf course, a Las vegas style casino Spa services and a fitness center. We sincerely apologize for not meeting your expectations, but invite you to come back and experience what a real caribbean vacation should be like. If there is anything that we can do to make your next stay with us mor enjoyable, please contact us at info@grandlucayan.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Keep in mind that if your cruise kicks you off the ship early, you could have at least a six hour wait before you're allowed to check in. Apparently, they didn't have enough cleaning staff to have any rooms ready before the afternoon check-in time. It rained during our wait, so we were pretty much stuck in the lobby with the other pasengers.

While waiting for our room, the wife and kids went to the hot tub/spa. When they finished, staff would not give them towels "because it was raining." So, they sat around drip-drying in the lobby for a couple hours until our room was ready.

The staff/worker at the cafe/snack shop ignored our presence until he was done sweeping and cleaning the counters before filling our order for a cup of coffee. The rest of the staff in general seemed inattentive and not very friendly.

Our room on the third floor on the back side (opposite beach) of the west wing of the tower overlooked the heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) equipment, which ran very loudly 24-hours a day--see photos. I imagine most of the rooms on this side of the west wing have this view.

The TV had very poor reception/video quality, and did not always work.

One good thing (actually great) was their poolside pina coladas.

We were able to get away from the crowds around the (middle) pool by using the pool further to the east. The beach was also much less crowded.

Room Tip: Do not stay on the back side (opposite beach) of the west wing of the tower. Otherwise, you'll...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank budoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2012

Dear budoon,
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience on TripAdvisor. We take all feedback seriously, and sincerely regret that we did not meet your expectations. Our standard hotel check in is 3pm. The room is based on the category purchased in your cruise package. Our apologies for the frustration encountered in some areas. In fact, we are implementing an employee evaluation program where employees are to evaluate themselves and their peers. This is to help generate some self-awareness of the service quality guests experience. Grand Lucayan is always looking for ways to improve - be it the installation of new equipment or minor changes that improve the guest experience, recently we have made renovations in our carpeting, lighting and in the amenities in our guestrooms. We are delighted that you enjoyed the poolside pina coladas, and we sincerely apologize for note meeting your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

I just returned from the Bahamas and I have many reviews to write. What a wonderful time. I have traveled to Nassau but have only been to Freeport once on a cruise. The locals are fantastic. This hotel surpassed my expectations. We arrived at 9:00 a.m to an upgraded room. The room was clean and spacious. The pools were great, the infinity's water was cool but not freezing and the middle pool was warm, I cant remember a pool that I could jump in at 9:30 am without shivering. They have activities throughout the day, plenty of stuff to do. The staff was pleasant and helpful at all times. China Beach restaurant a must. Market place just across the street. This hotel is top notch.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank odyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2012

Hello odyp,

Thank you thank you for the kind words and the great rating. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Grand Lucayan. We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Grand Lucayan Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Travelled for our honeymoon, beautiful resort and amazing infinity swimming pools.
Check in was very quick and were originally given a corner room on 3rd floor with a part ocean view room. Went back to reception and they were happy to assist and moved us to a 5th floor room with ocean view, a fantastic view.
The higher the floor the better the view!!!
Great location, right opposite the Market.
Not a great night life but more of a relaxing holiday.
Swimming pools were amazing and although busy hotel especially when cruises arrive there was still plenty of space to sit around the pool.
The entire resort was stunning, rooms very clean, although bathroom was a bit old.
All the staff were extremely friendly and would recommend the resort.
We went on the Cave Tours and would advise to visit but rather expensive.
Overall we had a fabulous time and enjoyed the experience.
$22 taxi ride from the airport.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Motra11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2012

Hello Motra11,

Thank you for taking the time to rate us on TripAdvisor. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we sincerely appreciate all the lovely remarks. We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Grand Lucayan Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freeport
0.9 km away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#1 of 14 in Freeport
245 reviews
0.7 km away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
5.4 km away
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
#2 of 14 in Freeport
1,001 reviews
3.1 km away
Island Seas Resort
Island Seas Resort
#12 of 14 in Freeport
1,305 reviews
40.7 km away
Old Bahama Bay
Old Bahama Bay
#1 of 1 in West End
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Lucayan, Bahamas? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Lucayan, Bahamas

Address: 1 Sea Horse Lane | Lucaya, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Freeport
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Freeport
Price Range: ₹ 8,113 - ₹ 33,803 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Lucayan, Bahamas 4*
Number of rooms: 542
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Lucayan Bahamas is an elegant resort set on 7.5 tropical acres of sandy coastline and spectacular oceanfront. This 542-room hotel delivers the ambiance of the islands with all of the style and amenities you expect in a resort destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Grand Lucayan, Bahamas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas Hotel Freeport
Sheraton Grand Bahama Island Our Lucaya Resort
Radisson Freeport
Lucaya Sheraton
Sheraton Our Lucaya
Sheraton Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing