We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average hotel with long beautiful beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Freeport
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

you can walk for an hour on either side of the hotel. nice wide sandy beach. i prefer the east side to the left of the hotel because of the sand bars
the only shade on the beach is provided by skinny palm trees. my wifes biggest complaint
there were plenty of chairs at the beach

the hotel rooms are nice there are a number of english tv channels. the only issue was the bathroom. the drain stopper was rusty. the hot water was plentiful but would fluctuate so you have to play with the faucet to make sure it you don't get burned(thanks for other reviewers for pointing this out).

the food at the buffet was better than i expected based on previous reviews. it is completely self serve. water, coffee, wine you get them yourself. i've never seen this before. we did all of the 3 ala cartes excellent food and service.

there is a beach bar and bar outside the buffet. the only issue was they ran out of mint for mojitos half way thru our stay. it sounds picky but this is my favorite southern drink. i can't figure out why they don't grow there own mint.

All of the staff including bartenders and maids were friendly and spoke english.
They have shows at night. the thursday acrobatic show was good. the monday show i thought was tacky as the made fun of japenese and german people. they started at 9:30 which was late as i dove early the next day

To me this place has a jamican feel to it rather than british, which i expected. we didn't go off the resort because a sailing excursion was cancelled twice.

i went diving thru the reef oasis dive center and had a great time (see review)

fyi if your from canada you leave through the domestic terminal at the airport so no duty free for booze or souveneirs

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kwfrozen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaWFortuna, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear customer,

Thank you for sharing your comments with us on your recent vacation at the Fortuna Beach

We can assure you that all of our clients’ opinions are very important to us because it is the more reliable source of information to improve our services and facilities.
We are sorry of the wrong perception you have had regarding our shows since they our purpose is to entertain all our different cultures without any possible misunderstanding.

We apologize for any inconvenience that you might have experienced during your stay.

Again thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Kind regards,

General Manager
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (4,636)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10 - 14 of 4,636 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A friend and I spent a relaxing week at Viva Wyndham in Freeport mid Nov. This resort is very clean and well kept. It was on sale and excellent value. The 3 resturants were very good especially Viva Cafe. The Buffet was good too. The staff in the buffet don't serve drinks they only clear, so if you want a decent coffee or beer /wine pick it up from the bar on your way in. There is nice furniture around the pool and you do need to save a chair by the pool, some guests leave their stuff on the furniture beds 24/7 to keep their spot. Energetic international recreation staff. Avoid the 90 min time share hard sell. The beach is wide and roomy, lots of chairs so you don't have to save a beach lounger. Hard but possible to find shade because most of the palm trees are small. There is a swath of coral stones and rocks underwater close to shore that make it difficult to get in and out of the sea. ( if they built a short dock to get people past the rocks more people could enjoy the ocean.)It was very windy/wavey on the beach, less windy by the pool. They keep the beach clean and rake it by tractor every few days. This resort doesn't provide daily drinking water bottles but you can buy one and refill it at the buffet or the bar. The beach towel exchange always had enough clean towels on hand. They had the best gym I have seen at a resort though it's not air conditioned. The guests were multiracial from the USA, Canada, Europe. Everyone seemed friendly. There were lots of families and kids.
The marketplace ($15 taxi each way) was disappointing, stores mostly closed, and many of the sales staff were so aggressive there was no pleasure in shopping. The prices were the same as on the resort and from the beach sellers.
Other guests told us about hiring a cab to take them around the island and they had a fantastic time.
Things that could be improved on;
I was surprised there was no stomach soothing cafeine free herbal teas on site, and the yogurt was the gelatine type not the live bacterial culture kind that helps guests who may get digestive issues. All resorts should carry these things.
There was an unpleasant sour gas smell on the beach that was hard to avoid from the desalination system which was upwind, or from the beach bar restaurant.
At one point my friend referred to me at the bar as "my love" and put her hand on my arm (she does this to everyone) but the previously friendly bar tender had an ugly reaction, he obviously assumed from what she said that we were gay and after that he wouldn't look at us even if we were there to order something. I would expect hotel staff to treat all their guests well.
If you go via Sunwing, take food from the hotel with you for your return trip. There was no open resturant at the smaller Bahamas airport they dropped us off at at 8am. They didn't start serving food on the plane until 2pm and they ran out of meals and sandwiches ($) almost immediately. We had purchased this trip as a direct flight but prior to leaving sunwing had changed it to include a stop in Cuba so a 3 h trip home became a 6+ hour ordeal. There was no duty free place at the smaller airport they dropped us off at.
This resort is best for couples and families who like to be around the pool and party on site.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaWFortuna, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear customer,

Thank you for choosing Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach as destination for your vacation.

We appreciate the time dedicated to write your opinion about your stay at our resort.

We will take your observations into consideration, as they will assist us in our ongoing commitment to improve our services and facilities.

Please do not forget that Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach will be pleased to welcome you back.

Best regards,

General Manager
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Me and my boyfriend love to travel and this was our First Holiday in Bahamas. What Can i say? We found a new family here, i want to give a special thank to Patrizia, Simone, Silvia, Andrea, Federico, Samanta and Veronica for their company and happiness. I do diving for the First time here and this was the most beautiful experience in my Life! Thanks to all of you! ❤️

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jessi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaWFortuna, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear customer,

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you and your wife at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach during your recent vacations. It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed our services and facilities.

Furthermore, we are happy to know that we exceeded your expectations. Our customer’s satisfaction is our constant goal. We hare honored to have you as a member of the big Viva Wyndham Family!

We look forward to your return visit and again thank you for choosing to stay with us at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach

Kind regards,

General Manager
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had to change rooms three times and all of them are below standart. Resort is a great disappointment, but there are some good points.
First room with Garden view, the airconditioner did not work, musty, mold in bathroom, corroded faucets, not clean. It took over an hour for service personal to come and tell us that the air conditioner can not be repaired. Front desk changed us to the second room, still not clean, corroded faucets, mold in bath room, very dated as well, needed to be redone. Cabinet drawers fell apart when opened, could not be used. The first two rooms been a good size with a good size bathroom however. Packed our suitcases again and back to the front desk. In addition to our issues, the electronic door keys did not work at any room, if you wanted to get into your room you had to ask for a service person to let you in. The computer could not program the keys that. An expert had to be brought in from Miami to fix the problem, later that evening everyone could use their key cards again. The front desk staff was very friendly and tried to help as much as they could and they offered us an upgraded room which they did not charge for it.The room was right across the hall from our relatives room, which was a plus. However, The room was smaller, had a little better furniture, air conditioning worked and the bath room was much smaller, still mold in the bath room, paint pealing of the wall, door panels separated, not very good and dated as well, this was an upgrade? The patio faced the rear of the building facing the road, air conditioning units and dead tree junk.
I am sure they gave us this room because they couldn't rent it.
The hotel is really not in great shape and needs to be fixed up. The beach is OK, with palm trees but very little shade, lounge chairs are nice but no umbrellas available, even to rent. only the pool area had some large umbrellas. Pool was good, hot tub not great.
Music at pool was very loud.
Going from the beach into the water was actually dangerous, there are so many rocks right in front under the water, going into the ocean without water shoes or sandals was very uncomfortable especially at low tide, once you were able to swim it was OK. For snorkeling the larger rocks under the water further in was great because these rocks attracted a lot of fish. The np charge availability of kayaks, paddleboards, windsurfers and hobie cats for sailing was a great plus. The exercise gym had a lot of equipment with friendly staff. The Viva diving and snorkeling center is great with professional friendly staff, all of them are not locals and are from all over the world. They entertainment staff was also mostly not local and very friendly and helpful. If you like to beach walk, that is great as well. The buffet food was OK, but not great. The three restaurants are great with great food and a great serving staff. The resort stores and pharmacy are good and prices are competitive with Freeport. The resort is isolated and if you need to go some where you needed a Taxi, you could get free bicycles . The entertainment was OK considering all the entertainers are professional entertainers, we and they had fun.
The biggest disappointment for us was the accommodations and they tried to sell us Wyndham time share, a joke I guess.

Room Tip: best to be a member of VIVA Time share club, but not sure, don't use rooms to the reat of the bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JS1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaWFortuna, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear customer,

We appreciate the time you dedicated to write your remarks about your stay at the Fortuna Beach. Your review will assist us in our commitment to improve in all aspects of our operations.

We regret not having been able to fulfill your expectations.

Thank you for the opportunity to serve you at our resort.

Kind regards,

General Manager
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I were at the resort for 10 glorious days. The employees, Timmy, Meshika, Gena and Andrew at the Member Services Desk are the best there are. They are very friendly, lots of fun and helpful. Diana, who works in food service is one of the nicest people I've ever met. Jamal is a gem, he's my go to guy for everything and anything. The rooms are clean thanks to Rosie!! This is not a five star hotel, but for us it's the best. We will be back in May and are counting the days until then. Thanks for a great time. K&G

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank K P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaWFortuna, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear customer,

We really appreciate your review published on TripAdvisor.

We are grateful for your remarks and especially we are happy to know that you had a great vacation at our resort. our staffing is our main asset and we are Glad they could assist you with our best quality standard.

Thank you for recommending Viva Wyndham Fortuna Please do not forget that we will be pleased to welcome you back at anytime.

Best regards,

General Manager
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Freeport hotels
5.4 km away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#1 of 14 in Freeport
252 reviews
4.7 km away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
5.4 km away
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
#4 of 14 in Freeport
3,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 km away
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
#3 of 14 in Freeport
1,005 reviews
5.2 km away
Lighthouse Pointe at Grand Lucayan Resort - All Inclusive
7.7 km away
Ocean Reef Yacht Club & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach

Address: Churchill Dr and Doubloon Road, Freeport 42398, Grand Bahama Island
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Freeport
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Freeport
Price Range: ₹ 9,930 - ₹ 23,148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 276
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Hotel Freeport
Wyndham Hotel Freeport
Wyndham Freeport
Viva Fortuna
Freeport Wyndham
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Resort
Club Viva Fortuna
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Freeport, Bahamas - Grand Bahama Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing