We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok hotel, just not great.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Royal Islander

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Islander
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Freeport
Southport, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ok hotel, just not great.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2011

I found the hotel to be clean, and the staff friendly. The location of the hotel is horrible. It is to far away from any of the attractions on the island, and the shuttle service to the beach does not run often enough.

Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Finsandpirates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    21
    18
    11
    15
See reviews for
9
13
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
128 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2011

DO NOT STAY HERE. We were having an alright time on our spring break until one day we left for lunch and came back half an hour later to find that the maid had come and cleaned our rooms...and OPENED EVERY COMPARTMENT IN EVERY PIECE OF LUGGAGE WE HAD. $250 AND SEVERAL IPODS WERE STOLEN FROM OUR ROOMS. NO ONE BUT THE MAID WAS AROUND. The front desk played stupid and said there was nothing they could do, and the local police were even worse in helping. WHATEVER YOU DO, DO NOT STAY HERE. Our rooms were locked and our valuables hidden, but when the thief (maid) has the master key there's nothing you can do. WORST HOTEL I HAVE EVER BEEN TO.

Room Tip: GO TO ANOTHER HOTEL. None of the rooms are safe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travelgogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Freeport hotels

Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2011

I will have to be fair in saying the service is perfect. Friendly helpful staff no attitudes and not rude. The rooms are clean and don't smell funny, there was no remotes for the tv, the plumbing was ... well .. somewhat functional, it was a safe place to stay. There is a restaurant in the lobby that had good breakfast special $4.50pp and dinner was good as long as you stick to seafood. Don't order the chicken dinner.
IF you just want a clean safe room at a good price this is it. Take your room savings and put it on a car rental if you plan on going to many attractions on the island. There are only a handful of choices for restaurants other than what is in the lobby, Burger king, Polo Tropical are walking distance as well as three or four local bar/restaurants in the old dying international mall. There was a good nightclub next-door club Amnesia that's closed.
The good news is the "bus" ( a ten passanger mini-van) is only $1.25pp and it will take you near the Lucaya marketplace/resort area where you will have a great time.

My wife and I went with another couple and we had a great time, If you like being with friends and having a few drinks without going broke this place is perfect.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike23oo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2011

royal islander is a good resort
it was my first time and i really appreciate their service
it's very clean and they are very welcoming

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aboubacar A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec City, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2011

It was my forth time down there. Really nice hotel and staff. In front of the International Bazar, close to restaurants, drugstore, liquor store, gas station. They offer transportation to Xanadu Beach every days, almost every hour. They have a nice pool and Jacuzzi, a bar and restaurant. There's also some bars around the hotel where you can go by walk (Sports bar, Garden bar, Amnesia club etc ....). It's definitely the best hotel for a large group on vacation. You're also close to Port Lucaya, the Casino and Taino beach (Bone fire and Fried fish, local events) where you can go in taxi for 10$ + or - depends. The owner is a wonderful woman who wants people to remember their trip. "It's a treasure that stays for ever in our minds and that we will always remember" ,she said to me once. I agree with her.... Thanks for every thing!!! We really had a great time once again! See you all next year!!!
xx
Bianca Smith, Québec, Canada

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bianca2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Freeport hotels
5.3 km away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#3 of 14 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
6.3 km away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
0.0 km away
Castaways Resort & Suites Grand Bahama Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 km away
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
#2 of 14 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,958 reviews
5.7 km away
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
#1 of 14 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
4.1 km away
Sunrise Resort & Marina
Sunrise Resort & Marina
#7 of 14 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Islander? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Islander

Property: Royal Islander
Address: The Mall Drive, Freeport F-42549, Grand Bahama Island
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Freeport
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,688 - ₹ 9,761
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Islander 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Expedia so you can book your Royal Islander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Islander Freeport, Bahamas - Grand Bahama Island
Royal Islander Hotel Freeport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing