We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Snorkeling on the Island” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paradise Cove Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Paradise Cove Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Freeport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best Snorkeling on the Island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

It’s a bit of a drive from town but well worth it. Another beautiful beach but this one has the best snorkeling on the island. The food and drinks were good and also at great prices. You can pay to get a boat ride out to the reef if you think it’s too far to swim. They even have umbrellas, beach chairs, and kayaks to rent. Everything you need for a fun day at the beach.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Howard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    71
    18
    9
    9
See reviews for
132
92
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

While on our cruise we decided not to spend our money on a cruise excursion, but to find something on our own. We looked online and found Paradise Cove along with 2 others that sounded like fun. When we docked we asked one of the helpful people by the excursion pick up area which he would recommend. He chose Paradise Cove. He called Paradise Cove and told them they had 4 more to pick up. It was a nice 20+ minute ride from the port to Paradise Cove and our drive and his partner pointed out landmarks and told us history of the island while enroute. When we arrived, it was completely deserted. We checked in, were given instruction on what was available to partake in, and were ready to get started. Some snorkled, some kayaked, a few played volleyball, and a few just lounged in the sun in a beach chair while sipping on a cocktail! We were able to get underwater video of rays, eel, and many varieties of fish. The staff was helpful and friendly. We decided we wanted to go back to town for the rest of the afternoon and they were more than happy to give us a shuttle back. I will return, and hopefully have the opportunity to rent one of their cottages!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank FLGirl32804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

We set-up our own excursion by emailing Paradise Cove before our ship stopped in Freeport and we had a great time there. We did the snorkeling package which for $35 PP includes transportation from the cruise terminal and rental gear. They are a small family owned business that took great care of us from the moment we got off the ship until they dropped us back off.

The cove is in a great location and they offer rental equipment for a number of different activities to choose from. The snorkeling around the reef was unbelievable! There is lots of great coral to view along with all different types of fish including stingrays and barracudas. We also rented a glass bottom kayak to paddle around and take in the excellent underwater views.

They also have some great food and cold beer available. We tried a number of the local Bahamian brews that they offer and enjoyed them all. It helped add to a nice relaxing day of basking in the sun.

I highly recommend checking out Paradise Cove when in Freeport and I hope to make it back there myself again someday.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wanderluster4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

We had a group of 18 people, and Barry and staff had no problem accomodating us. We made arrangements via email, and there was just a small confusion among his staff about our rate, but Barry the owner ironed it out . His father picked us up at the cruise port on time. He was nice and gave us a great tour with some history around the island and even stopped at the pharmacy to get some meds. At the beach...we got our gear and went into the waters. It is fairly shallow, with some deep areas. Long swim to the reef, about 200 ft , but ok even for beginners. Snorkeling was great; lots of coral, brain, fan , staghorn, fire ( be careful of this ) , and others. Saw Lionfish, wrasses, parrot fish, stingrays, barracuda, butterfly , french angel, damsel, tangs, snappers, jellyfish,etc. The beachcombing is great..lots of nice conch and other shells, full shells, not broken up ones. We played volleyball and football on the whitesand beach. Kids and adults loved it. Nice sitting areas. Get the conch fritters, Must try some since you are here...!! I would not hesitate to come here again. I think there was extra cost for the beach chairs...which may be the only slight drawback.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank 88harry88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
the Hat
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2011

Paradise Cove Resort offers a quiet getaway with the best beachfront snorkelling on the Island. The resort consists of two self-contained units, each with full kitchen, living room, bathroom, laundry machines and two bedrooms. Units are beach front and offer great views. The resort would be perfect for larger family groups to share and have the whole property to themselves.
There are a full service dive center and a snack bar that operate on the premises. The dive shop staff keep a close eye on guests and give orientation information on everything from what you will likely see to where and when it is safe to explore. The snack bar has some of the freshest and tastiest local seafood you will find (we watched a diver bring in some seafood). All the conch dishes and the lobster were excellent and went down well with a nice cold beer or coconut water from a freshly picked from the property.
Property owners are local Grand Bahamians and they are friendly, informative and happy to share local history and knowledge. You will need a car to get groceries and explore more of the island if you plan on staying more than a few days.
There are floats to hand onto and rest while snorkelling, which was great because we were seeing so much sea life we were reluctant to go in. We spotted four kinds of ray fish, including four spotted eagle rays; a devil fish; many varieties of parrot fish; and a multitude of other tropical fish.

Room Tip: There are just two units, each with two bedrooms. Rate for the entire two bedroom unit with full kit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KTColleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freeport
24.0 km away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
23.2 km away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#3 of 14 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
23.6 km away
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
#2 of 14 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.5 km away
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
23.4 km away
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
#1 of 14 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
18.5 km away
Old Bahama Bay
Old Bahama Bay
#1 of 1 in West End
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Cove Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Cove Beach Resort

Property: Paradise Cove Beach Resort
Address: Deadman's Reef | PO Box F-42771, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Freeport
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,438 - ₹ 14,706
Hotel Class:3 star — Paradise Cove Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Paradise Cove Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Cove Beach Hotel Freeport
Paradise Cove Beach Resort Freeport, Bahamas - Grand Bahama Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing