We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxing stay at the beach...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
42 reviews
Oceanfront Villa, Main Entrance
Oceanfront Villa from private cul-de-sac
Oceanfront Villa from Ocean
Master bed room with balcony, 2nd floor
Master bed room with balcony
Master bed room with open French Doors to balcony overlooking the ocean
view from Master bed room balcony to Atholl Island
view from Master bed room balcony down on beach area and breakwater
Master suite bathroom: seperate shower and seperate toilette, 2 wash basins
view through window Bed room # 2
closet Bed room # 2
closet Bed room # 3
Bath room for Bed room # 2 + 3
Stairs
washer and dryer
kitchen
kitchen towards porch - ocean
from kitchencounter to porch
view from living-dining-kitchen
sunrise view from porch
porch
stairs to the ocean and garden
chilling out under Palm trees
Beach area with Deck and Breakwater
View from Deck
Prince Charles Dr beach, 2 min walk from Villa
Prince Charles Dr Beach
The Oceanfront Villa in \'green\' before \'yellow\'
Villa from oceanside
early morning
morning sun
meditating?
Back Porch
Villa from Ocean side
Moon Rise @ Villa
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Nassau, New Providence Island, Bahamas

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Darcia M
Houston, Texas
1 review
“Relaxing stay at the beach...”
Reviewed 27 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Shangri La, is a beautiful beach home in New Providence, Bahamas. The house is complete with all the necessary amenities. The patio and pool are wonderful. The beach is just steps away. It accommodated our large family very well. I would absolutely stay there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: The busy street infront of house.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BigSnipes
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good accommodation in a beautiful spot”
Reviewed 2 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I with our 1-year old daughter and a friend stayed here for 2 nights. What a beautiful spot, overlooking the ocean. It was really nice and we felt safe. The food store was just up the street and Denise even stopped by to make we were settled in. Our only small concern was the wifi which seemed not to work at first. Even after Denise actively tried to resolve it, the connection would drop. Seemed to be an issue with the ISP. Anyhow, my advice would be to forget about the internet, go out and try a thigh snack from the Bamboo Shack about 5 mins away and wash it down with a Goombay punch! We will be back to visit!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin...
Middleton, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lots to like but a few warnings”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We -- extended family group of 8 adults and a toddler, ranging in age from 1 to 75 -- largely enjoyed our stay in the villa. Denise was helpful making advance arrangements including procuring the necessary equipment for our toddler, and Dee was reasonably attentive on site. The villa is spacious and well laid out. There is plenty of gathering space in the living/dining area and on the spacious back porch. Bedrooms offered plenty of privacy and a quiet place for baby naps.

We had some communication problems getting in touch with Mr. Darling but eventually hooked up with him and he was most accommodating for our transportation needs. Another taxi driver, Clint (don't remember his last name, sorry -- left his card at the house) lives in the area and knows how to find the villa, which is very important. (Some of our group went diving and picked up a random cab for the ride back -- driver did not know where the villa was, they had not brought the directions with them, and it took two hours to get back. That's not an exaggeration.) We did not realize -- and wish we had known in advance -- that the villa is quite a distance outside the city -- 30 minutes or so, a $30 to $40 cab ride each way -- so if you are planning on eating out or doing much sight-seeing you really need a car.

Because of the toddler we stayed close to home base, and hired Chef Perry Sweeting (on Denise's recommendation) to cater. He arrived each morning around 8:00, made coffee and put out fruit and pastries, prepared a substantial brunch at midday and fabulous dinners each evening. We asked for a Bahamian meal and his grouper, peas 'n rice, slaw, and plantains compared very favorably to the best Bahamian restaurant my husband and I sampled after the rest of the family left. All of his meals were excellent, but in addition to the Bahamian meal his barbecue, with chicken and shrimp in his fabulous marinade, was really special. He also makes a Bahama Mama that is far superior to any others we tried during our stay. He did special food prep for the toddler, was alert to food allergy issues, and accommodated picky eaters. He cleaned everything up after we ate and never left the house before 9:00 p.m. -- and once he stayed until around 11:00. When his cooking obligations did not demand his full attention, he was willing to help drive us around and he even took us to the local market. This location would not have worked well for us without Chef Perry, and we highly recommend him. His prices are very reasonable; we would have spent much more had we eaten out, and the location of the villa makes the logistics of frequent restaurant meals very difficult.

A couple of other problems: termites in the bathrooms and kitchen, ugh. And we had no electricity the first night and during part of the next day -- meaning that AC and fans did not work, toilets did not flush, and some of the food in the newly stocked refrigerator had to be thrown out. Apparently electrical outages are not uncommon and most rental properties have back-up generators, but this one does not. Finally, and frustratingly, internet access seems to be an extension of the cottage internet and works only sporadically, with no access at all in many parts of the house. We spent a lot of time in the front yard trying to get on line.

There really isn't much of a beach, though the property is waterfront. It's very rocky. We had read reviews and brought water shoes, so we were able to enjoy the ocean right outside. The little beach 3-4 houses away is much better, though still rocky. On the up side, the water was delightfully warm and the waves were gentle. But good sand beaches are, again, an expensive cab ride away.

Bottom line: after the electricity came back on, we were reasonably comfortable and happy in the villa, which is well suited to extended family gatherings.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Layout of the villa
Liked least: Electricity outages -- internet problems -- termites
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunnyocea...
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The view from the house is to die for!!”
Reviewed 29 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Our whole family decided to travel to the Bahama's for 7 nights. We chose to stay on this property and it absolutely turned out to be the best decision we could have made! The views from most every room in the house, include the ocean. Denise (property manager) was so friendly and helpful!! She was always very responsive to our needs and was helpful in getting things coordinated for us. Mr. Darling.. the taxi driver was so very sweet and patient!! I would definitely consider staying at this location again, if we were to go to Nassau again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The unimpeded views of the ocean
Liked least: Mosquitos
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michelle...
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“a lot to like!!”
Reviewed 2 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

we booked at short notice, for 3 days, and it was as described. Denise was delightful and extremely helpful. the only downside was, for the money, the property was a little 'tired'. the toaster had to be held down, the spa bath did not work, the sofa , although very comfortable, was worn and not very clean. the light in the living room did not work, and the plastic chairs on the verandah were very worn and dirty. although this sounds bad, it was not glaringly obvious, but for the same money we could have booked a state of the art room in a glossy hotel. the property itself was lovely,and the fridge,bathrooms, kitchen etc were very clean, and I think it is the absent owner who has to take responsibility for the fact that things need modernising and replacing, even the sheets on the bed, although clean were of a 'home' standard of several years old , not crisp and hotel like. therefore I think it was overpriced for what was provided, not for location (very quiet) but for quality of fittings throughout the property, this is not the fault of the cleaners or of Denise, who was mmore than helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: very helpful agent
Liked least: the fact that the whole place needed a facelift, it was not a kitch cottage, but a holiday villa
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Mar 2014
We would like to thank you for your review and appreciate hearing from you.
Just for the record: You did not stay at our Cottage, you stayed at our other property.
The 4 bedroom home you stayed in can sleep 10 persons.
Our daily rate is $385, which is $38.50/person.
Because of you had originally inquired for the Cottage with it's rate of $290/night and the Cottage was already booked we gave you the 4 bed room home for the price of the Cottage.
There are no comparable prices for a room in any decent hotel in the Bahamas.
Our main concern is to make sure that all our guests have a comfortable stay with us!!
Denise, our property manager in the Bahamas, is 24/7 available.
One phone call and Denise would have replaced the toaster right away as well as anything you were not happy with. No problem.
We constantly upgrade our homes.
Maintenance in the Bahamas being right at the ocean is more difficult than being in land because of salt.
Your suggestions will be taken very seriously!
We are happy that you enjoyed the ocean view and quietness of the area.
Thank you for staying with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing