We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island
Ranked #2 of 37 Hotels in Nassau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 May 2012

I have to admit I was nervous after seeing people's reviews of this place but I found that the experience was well worth the price. We arrived on Monday and left on Friday. The people were very friendly and attentive. The property was very clean. Our room was large size in the Royal Village. We had a king size bed, good space in the bathroom, sitting area and a nice private patio. We were not able to get into the Baccarat Restaurant (maybe we could if we had paid for Butler Service). But honestly we were ok with that. We went there for breakfast and it was very pleasant. The dinner at Kimonos and Crystal Restaurant were wonderful. In fact, the dinner at Kimonos was amazing. It would have cost us easily $200 to have that amount of food and drink at the local hibachi restaurant. I enjoyed a midnight fish and chips dinner at Cricketer's Pub. The dinner at Cafe Goombay was amazing but remember to ask for bug spray. The only restaurant I would avoid is Ristorante Casanova. We had pizza twice at the beach and found it to be really good. Lunch and breakfast were perfect. Drinks were always great. The beach was wonderful. The gym was awesome. The trip was very relaxing. Night time entertainment was relaxing. We enjoyed watching sunsets at the fire pit. We enjoyed a couples massage while we were there as well. I recommend this place because the value was excellent.

Room Tip: I would stay away from the towers. The rooms in the Royal Village were spacious and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Carolyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (8,986)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,226 - 5,230 of 8,986 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2012

We returned last night from a 5 day stay at Sandals Royal Bahamian Resort in Nassau, Bahamas. The resort is beautiful and the grounds are well kept - lovely to look at, but our discontent started shortly after arrival. We had completed an on-line check-in several days before we arrived.....supposedly to save time. Apparently those on-line check-ins are of no value. They filed a group of probably 10 couples who arrived at the same time into the lobby and we all have to hear a "speech" about the property, restaurants, etc. They gave us forms to fill out with our return flight and departure information (which I found ironic since Sandals had arranged our air and land package, shouldn't they have it all ready)? We spent the first hour "waiting" in the lobby for the reservations folks to "check us in" - only to find out that our room wasn't ready yet, so they took us all to a restaurant to have dinner and come back later. We had been told there were several restaurants that you had to make reservations for. They had copies of menus in the lobby, but as we were packed in the lobby like sardines, we didn't feel like wasting more of our time to wait in line to overlook menus. Surely they would have copies in the rooms that we could review. NOT. We managed to make one reservation at check-in on Wed and the first time we could get a reservation was for Saturday at 8pm. Our one reservation was at Kimono's, the Japanese restaurant. We arrived promptly at Kimono's at 8 on Saturday, only to be told that they did not have a reservation for us. I was more than livid. I told them we had it written on our schedule in our room, but it was pouring rain and I truly didn't want to go back and get it. Reluctantly the hostess seated us - ironically at a table with several vacant seats. There were also several completely empty tables there. The couple seated beside us were there for a week and they were only able to make reservations for restaurants for two nights out of seven and they booked their preferences the day they arrived as well.

My husband is an early riser - he was up and around the property every morning before 7:00 am. Every morning when he got up, all of the pool and beach chairs were already reserved for others. I guess people came out early and put towels in the chairs to reserve them or later. There was NEVER enough room at the pool for everyone - it was a constant battle for a place to hang out.

We are by no means high-maintenance people, but when we fork out hard earned money, we expect to get our monies worth. Each morning we ate at the buffet breakfast. I ordered Diet Coke each morning. NEVER ONCE did a waitress ever come back and ask either of us if we needed refills. Finally, we started asking for two at a time because we realized that once they sat us down, we were history. There seemed to be a lot of animosity between the workers, most notably in the restaurants. On several occasions, a manager and a subordinate would argue in front of us about who was to do what and why they did or didn't do something - with total disregard for anyone that might be standing around. The wait staff left a lot to be desired.

The bartenders, however, were a completely different story. We probably ordered drinks at every bar on the property and they were always friendly and eager to make conversation with you and acted as if they truly enjoyed their jobs. Gordon and Rico at the watersports area were fabulous. They did a fabulous job with their sailing instructions and always made us feel welcome every day when we went by to venture out on the Hobie Cat. The brick oven pizza was to die for. We had pizza every day! The folks there were exceptionally nice and friendly and always made you feel welcome- but the service was more than lacking at the other restaurants we attended.

We had friends who arrived at a restaurant for dinner just as they were opening. They were told that it was full and they would have to wait approx 1 hour. 1.5 hrs later, they finally got a table. Once they were inside, they noticed that there were12 empty tables at that time, and when they left there were still 8 empty tables. When they asked why people had to wait in line while there were obvious available tables, they were told that people who were staying the rooms with "butler service" could reserve tables, and they HAD to hold the table for up to one hour after their appointed reservation time in the event they showed up late. Apparently that was the big problem all week. So many of the butler class rooms making reservations and never intending to show up for them, then everyone else is forced to wait.

I don't want you to think that our trip was a complete disaster - we still had a great time and enjoyed our stay, but apparently our expectations of the entire "Sandals Experience" was very high, and the delivery on those expectations by Sandals was average at best. Our room was fabulous - we got upgraded to the Windsor Building to a Cable Beach Honeymoon Grand Lux Mega Suite. We were completely satisfied with the size, layout, location, amenities, etc of the room. Room service was wonderful, they were very attentive and made sure we were taken care of in a timely manner. .

We are extremely glad that we booked our trip at the 65% off sale - if we had paid full-price and received the service we did, we would have been extremely upset.

The food in The Crystal Room was great. I would highly recommend the ribeye steak and crab legs.

I would rank our stay at Secrets Excellence Riveria Maya much higher than Sandals. Perhaps the bar was set so high by the folks at Secrets that anything else will pale by comparison. We did hear lots of people raving about the Bahia Principe resorts - we will definitely check those out as well. For folks who had such high expectations of the "Sandals Experience", we were extremely disappointed with all the areas in which service was lacking.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank sgbandjlb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SRICS, Manager at Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2012

Warm greetings from Sandals Resorts International! You are very important to us and we welcome the opportunity to speak with you. Please e-mail us at (customerservice@sandals.com). We look forward to hearing from you. Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

I I just came Back from The Sandals Royal Bahamian and I don't think I would do another Sandals again. The property itself was very clean and nice. Most of the staff were very nice. However, if you do not get Butler service they really could be bothered with you. My husband had to get up at 6:30 am to reserve a spot at the pool. It was very hard to get a reservation in the Restaurants. I arrived on Monday and tried to make my reservations and could not get a reservation for Bacart. It was not until we complained heavily that they final fit us in on Friday night. Once day we could not even get lunch, they sent us to all different places and each place told us they stopped serving. Then we found out one of the restaurants lied to us and said they were closed when they were really open. When we complained they could really care. The food was really not what I expected at all. The Breakfast and Lunch were just ok,and the dinner at all the places was horrible. They had no taste and knew nothing about how to cook seafood. We did leave relaxed but also Very Disappointed!!!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chickey011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

pictures on website dont do justice to what you are going to experience....get ready to lower your standards....if i hear once more, "you are on island time" as an excuse for terrible customer service, i will heave....totally disinterested employees....bartenders are in a haze....i am the paying customer, at least make a semi inspired effort....food is terrible if considered five star....that is if you can make a reservation during your holiday....everything always booked up yet half the tables are empty.....?????.....and dont get me started on the room quality....this is 5 star?????.....yikes.....carpet stained and torn.....scenery from your room...sure, a parking lot is scenery......and if you like contractors urinating wherever is convenient, this is the place for you....bang on....food is uninspired and "hooters" like....private island, closed anytime there is a breeze....a veiled excuse for shortage of employees.....if you enjoy a shortage of mid-afternoon beer, pony up my friend....shortage of chairs, right this way....all saved by butlers for "imaginary" guests who never use them....but still saved.....last time with sandals....returning to paradisus de oro in holguin cuba....rooms in royal service twice as nice at half the cost....save your hard earned money....this brand is so overrated....

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank vanillagorilla58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SRICS, Manager at Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2012

Warm greetings from Sandals Resorts International! You are very important to us and we welcome the opportunity to speak with you. Please e-mail us at (customerservice@sandals.com). We look forward to hearing from you. Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Very overpriced! If you like fine dining don't expect it here! We paid 144.00 extra to eat at Gordons on the Pier! What a waste! A tiny finger size lobster tail and small steak! Save your money! Dinner at Crystal Room was comparable to a grizzle steak you would get but never do at Applebees The presentation of the food is laughable! Lunches well lets just say we went across the street to Burger King a few days! However the breakfasts were good if you made it there on time! We like to stay out late and have a brunch at 10:30 11 Forget that they all close at 10: 00
Than you have to wait a few hours for lunch to open! Which is not worth the wait! We went April 6th and I wish I would have packed warmer clothes as the evenings were very cool! The entertainment outside of Spices one night was the best but only lasted an hour or so! A band playing here or there but for a very short time! The piano bar was fun ( If you like singing Tie a Yellow ribbon... with senior citizens) Go to the Island everyday if you can. The weather was too windy to go out to the Island the first few days but when we finally went it was very ice! We would have gone everyday! I hope this helps! I will not waste my money on a Sandals vacation again!
If you want great, I mean fabulouse food and entertainment and service, go on a cruise!! Try the Royal Caribbean!

Room Tip: We were in a cat island room and it was newly remodeled and very clean but small!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank myflood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nassau
9.9 km away
Atlantis, Royal Towers, Autograph Collection
1.6 km away
Grand Hyatt Baha Mar
Grand Hyatt Baha Mar
#1 of 37 in Nassau
329 reviews
1.1 km away
Melia Nassau Beach - All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Breezes Resort & Spa Bahamas
8.4 km away
The Cove Atlantis, Autograph Collection
6.5 km away
British Colonial Hilton Nassau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island

Address: West Bay Street, Cable Beach, Nassau 13005, New Providence Island
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Nassau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Nassau
#2 Luxury Hotel in Nassau
#2 Spa Hotel in Nassau
#2 Family Hotel in Nassau
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Nassau
Price Range: ₹ 38,001 - ₹ 73,204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island 5*
Number of rooms: 404
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•New, extra comfortable, ultra luxurious Day Beds added poolside on Sandals Cay •Sandals Cay now has Zen Spa and Fire Pits.-----•Butler Service, 24-Hour Room Service, and Rolls Royce or Mercedes Transfers for select suite categories. •Over 10,000 sq. ft. of the Island’s most impressive Freshwater Pools•Sandals Cay – Nassau’s only resort with Private Offshore Island & Restaurant.•Ten Dining Options featuring an array of cuisine from French to Bahamian. •Minutes away from excellent duty free shopping in Downtown Nassau on Bay Street and world class gambling on Paradise Island.•Weekly Late night decadent Chocolate Buffet offering specialty coffee •Voted Sandals Resorts “World’s Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row. •Voted Sandals Resorts “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row. •Voted Sandals Royal Bahamian “Bahamas’ Leading Spa Resort”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Prestigia so you can book your Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island Hotel Nassau
Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort And Offshore Island
Sandals Bahamas
Sandals Royal Bahamian Cable Beach
Sandals Bahamian
Sandal Royal Bahamian
Sandal Resort Bahamas
Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island Bahamas/Nassau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing