We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Another Great Stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of West Wind Club II

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nassau
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
West Wind Club II
Ranked #13 of 37 Hotels in Nassau
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia
Level Contributor
183 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“Another Great Stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2011

Just returned hom from another great stay at Westwind II. This is a timeshare property, with some renters. I am an owner. The new renovations are very nice, and it is good to see some of the same faces year after year. The resort has a small intimate feeling, but you can use the facilities, beaches, pools, waterslide, etc at the Sheraton next door, and many of the families with children took advantae of that during the week.. In addition to the full kitchen, there are grills for BBQ, 2 pools and a nice snorkeling area just off the resort. The staff is very helpful in meeting any needs and in recommending and making arrangements for activities and day trips. The snack bar has very good food at prices that are much lower than what you will find at most places in Nassau. You can get a nice breakfast for about $6.50, on Tuesday and Thursday Grouper, slaw, peas and rice for about $12 etc. Try that any where else on the island.

The atmosphere here is laid back and pleasant, not a big party scene but you can walk down the street for that.

Some of my favorite things in Nassau:

Restaurants: Poop Deck for local seafood and good atmosphere, the one downtown is better than the one on the west end of the island. Fish Fry for local dishes like crack conch, conch salad, lobster, etc. (Oh Andros is my favorite place there). Compass Point for excellent food and gorgeous sunset views from the outdoor dining deck. Luciano's of Chicago, a true 5-star place. This time I decided to try some of the local native dishes I had heard about and asked some staff members where to go. I had "stew fish" at a place called Charlie's Nassau Stadium (ask because you won't find it on your own), Sheep tongue at the Souse House (again ask), and when I mentioned to Lovely at the snack bar that I wanted to know where I could try "souse" she gave me a bowl of pig feet souse from a pot that she was making for herself. It was delicious. All of these are sort of like soups and stews and are traditional breakfast items for Bahamians. Other good places for these dishes, the Reef, Nesbitt's, Bahamian Kitchen, and street vendors (everywhere, just like conch salad vendors).

The best peas and rice on the island ....Tuesday and Thursday at the Westwind snack bar. Always wondered why so many locals came by there and bought lunch on those days.

ONE THING YOU MUST TRY. Just down the road across from the Wyndham is the DAK Shack, next to the straw market. Best daquiris and smoothies ever, all made from whole fresh fruit, no mixes. My first was a Miami Vice, half pina colata and half strawberry daquiri. Good shot of rum. Made with fresh cut strawberries freshly shaved cocount and fresh cut pineapple. The server said "sip it down man" so I drank about half, he added another shot of rum and refilled the cup. $6. Went back everyday.

Favorite day trips: Powerboat Adventures (read the reviews on Trip Advisor). Great all-inclusive day. and Stuart Coves dive, snorkle, bubble sub, etc. adventures. Booze cruise not bad either.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank RUtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    45
    15
    9
    4
See reviews for
47
26
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2011

Just returned from a week at Westwind II. We were lucky enough to get the oceanside villa, so I got to sit out on the patio and look at the ocean right beside me! The resort is clean and well maintained. Rooms also are clean and I found the beds to be comfortable. Kitchen was well stocked with most things we needed. Didn't find cleaning service was necessary since they have a towel exchange 3 days a week. Food at the rotunda was good and reasonable prices. All of the staff were friendly and helpful. As others have mentioned, the majority of the visitors there are timeshare people who have been going there for years, so they all know each other. Renters tend to be the odd one's out, but we were certainly not treated rudely or totally ignored (although they do hog the patio loungers with towels and hats by 7:00 am which I don't think should be allowed). The timesharers are actually good for providing some ideas on where to eat and such. Location was ideal for some peace and quiet. Right next door is the Sheraton, and you can use their beach chairs, pools, shops and restaurants, as with the Wyndham as well. It was really, really quiet over at the big hotels so lots of chair available on the beach and the water not crowded at all. The beach is lovely with wave breakers about 30 feet out which provided some easy and fun snorkling for us and our 7 and 9 year olds. Water is clear, no rocks, but lots of areas with seaweed.

Buses (jitneys) run constantly right out front of the resort and for $1.25, will get you right into town, the fish fry, Ardastra Gardens, Fort Charlotte etc.. to the east and to restaurants and grocery stores to the west. We walked to the grocery store and restaurants as they are only about 3/4 mile.

Outside of Westwind II to eat, we went to Capricio (west). Great home-made pasta and fairly reasonable prices ($15-$25 on average per plate). Ate at the all-you-can eat breakfast and dinner buffet at the Wyndham. Friday nights are seafood nights, so we had cracked conch (you must try conch!) and grouper. Not much selection for dinner though, but we all found enough to fill us up. If you go into Nassau, Lums Iguana Cafe and Grill was great (on Bay St). It is located up some stairs so sitting on the patio provides a great view of Bay St while you eat. Regardless of where you eat, keep in mind this is the Bahamas, so cooks and service staff run on island time. Don't expect fast service anywhere. You are on vacation so relax and go with the flow.

An absolute MUST is the Daq Shack, located across thee street from the Wyndham. The daquiries are all made with fresh fruit with very, very generous splashes of dark rum (or virgin for the kids). I just can't say enough about this place. Wish we had gone earlier in the week so that we had more opportunity to go back again and again! Don't let the look of the green and red shack turn you away, because you'll be missing an island gem! I hope it doesn't get displaced when the Baha Mar is built.

Saw the Pirate Museum (so-so, although the pirate outside is a blast), Queen's Staircase and Ardastra Gardens. Toured the aquariums at the Atlantis. Also went on the Stingray Adventure at Blackbeards Cay. Swam with and fed stingrays which was an amazing experience. Included lunch. Well worth the money, especially considering it was probably the least expensive excursion around!

Overall, really enjoyed the Westwind II and wouldn't hesitate to stay there again. Location, Location, Location! New Providence itself was lovely, and Cable Beach is outstanding. Our week flew by, and I would definately visit again (although I suspect the entire Cable Beach area will become way far out of my price-range once the BahaMar is done).

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank 3Sam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matoaca, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2011

We stayed at Westwind II condo in April of 2011 unit #19. First I will start with the Taxi drive from the airport. It says $18.00 to Cable Beach. That is for one person and 2 bags. It is $3.00 extra per person over one and $1.00 per large bag over 2. The staff at Westwind II is very friendly and helpful. You can buy water for $1.95 per gallon or $6.00 for 5 gallons. We did not know this but you can rent beach towels for $5.00 for the week. You can exchange towels every Monday, Wednesday and Friday. They have two pools, one which is heated and tennis courts if you are interested in that. You can go over to The Sheraton and use their lounge chairs. They also have a pool table and ping pong table at the snack bar. There snack bar prices are reasonable. The three of us ate for around $30.00. You may want to ask for a ticket every time you order or at least write down what you have ordered. Everything is charged to your room so make sure you check you bill carefully when you check out. They have Happy Hour from 4 – 7. Beer is $3.50 and tropical drinks were $5.00. My suggestion if you are going to drink Beer, there are two Liquor Stores less than ¾ miles west on the left. We bought 12 beers for about $19. They also have a City Market open 24 hours about ¾ miles west where you can purchase groceries. Drinks were pretty reasonable but snack food was high. I brought an extra carry-on bag and filled it with snacks. The kitchen is stocked pretty well. Also paper towels, toilet tissue, tissues, soap, and dish detergent is provided. Our unit had salt and pepper. You can get free wifi most of the time. If you want to go into town you can catch bus number 10 for $1.25 per person one way. They run from about 6am until 7pm Allot of the stores are closed on Sunday and the rest of the week stores close at 5:30. You can go to The Caves which is free. It is west of the hotel and you can catch a bus to it. It’s a small cave you can walk in but it does have bats flying around. We had heard a lot about the Fish Fry. We were not impressed. They have about 25 restaurants and people try to get you to go into their restaurant. I guess it was not what we thought it was going to be. Across from that is Fort Charlotte $5.00 per person and The Ardastra Gardens and Zoo $15.00 per person for all day. You can come and go. The Zoo has about 41 exhibits and is worth the money. Lots of animals and at10:30, 2:30 and 4:30 each day they have the Flamingo’s marching. We were not there to see that. You can take the Ferry Taxi to Paradise Island for $3:00 one way or a Taxi at the harbor for $4.00 per person. The Ferry has a narrator on it and tells you some history. You cannot get into Atlantis know matter what they tell you without a band. You may want to call and make reservations. Shops and restaurants are expensive. They three of us ate at Johnny Rockets for $52.00. Fries were included with your hamburger. One drink and an order chili cheese fries. That was the cheapest place. While you are downtown Nassau you may want to stop by Senor Frogs also $52.00 for three wraps and one drink and fries included whether you want them or not. It is some interesting entertainment. Just so you know they automatically add 15% gratuity on you bill. The day before you leave you can check out and they will arrange a taxi for you and let you know when you need to leave for the airport. I hope this was helpful.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
21 Thank beachbumz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2011

Exceptional view, prime beach, clean, safe, friendly, and memorable. Nice villa's, friendly staff with 24 hour security. 2 pools (not crowded at all), one heated, ocean front with snorkling 20 feet out around the rock breaks (all kinds of fish, stingrays starfish...) and use of the resorts nearby is a bonus- chairs-pools.... Buses take you anywhere for $1.25. Grocery store is a mile away (local restaurants are mainly in the hotels and are pricey). Loads of long time timeshare holders that are super friendly. We had our 9 year- never a boring minute (pool table- ping pong- swimming and shell hunting) and 19 year old who too was never bored.
Nassau is a short trip or a nice run (13 miles total). Lots or pushy sales in Nassau, but not so much here. Paradise Island is a bus and water taxi away (water taxi reminds me of refugee boats but is memorable). In general we found the Bahamas friendly and accommodating. Sad though to see the island in general is not as maintained as it once was. As for the West WInd II- a treasure and recommended to all -except really picky- upscale folk who need constant attention. OH, if you are concerned about the Baha Mar construction, we did not hear anything nor were we inconvenienced in any manner.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank NIrish01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, MD
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2010

If you want to be away from the main downtown area in a relaxed setting, this is the place for you. Spent a week here with hubby and loved it. We were steps away from the famous Cable Beach. We were surprised at how empty the neighboring properties were, the Sheraton looked dead as did the Wyndham. The waters were awesome, it was our first time there. We did all the main attractions including paradise island, straw market, queen's staircase, forts and casinos. We had an excellent time. The Westwind II is a very nice place to stay. The rooms were very spacious, ours had 2 bedrooms and 2 baths, plenty of space for 2 people. We cooked a lot and often went to the grocery store. Please stay away from Toll Brothers at Fish Fry area, it is a tourist trap, they will rip you off. I can make better fried fish than these people can. If you want to see sights, get a scooter, we didn't and ended up walking way more than we wanted to. Downtown feel is busy and fun so you do want to do some walking.

But going back to the Westwind II, this place is nice....had food from the bar a couple of times and it was actually quite good and reasonably priced. We did run into a jellyfish incident but nothing major. Staff at Westwind II is very friendly and accomodating. The only negative is that some of the people that stay here tend to be kinda snooty, the ones that know each other from year to year, they tend to make the newbies feel somewhat unwelcomed....like you are not part of their click. But if you are not there to make friends then this is not a big deal. Other than this, had a great time, the weather was fabulous. Bad thing is that the week flew by. I would definitely go back there!!! Wish I was there now :-(

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank babyjacklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nassau
0.2 km away
Blue Water Resort on Cable Beach - TEMPORARILY CLOSED
8.5 km away
Compass Point Beach Resort
9.1 km away
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
#4 of 14 in Paradise Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Melia Nassau Beach - All Inclusive
2.3 km away
Sandyport Beach Resort
Sandyport Beach Resort
#3 of 37 in Nassau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
1.6 km away
Breezes Resort & Spa Bahamas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Wind Club II? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Wind Club II

Property: West Wind Club II
Address: West Bay Street, Cable Beach | Cable Beach, Nassau, New Providence Island
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Nassau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Nassau
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Nassau
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,697 - ₹ 19,458
Number of rooms: 54
Also Known As:
West Wind Club Ii Hotel Nassau
West Wind Hotel Ii
West Wind Resort Ii
West Wind Club Ii Nassau
West Wind Club II Bahamas/Nassau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing