We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (775)
Filter reviews
775 results
Traveller rating
511
138
68
40
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
511
138
68
40
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsscott beachsushigelatosugar millsea turtlesnatural beautywild donkeysbeach servicebeach grillturn down servicenational parkst johnhawks nesttropical fishturquoise waterfour seasonsgarden view
Filter
Updating list...
248 - 253 of 775 reviews
Reviewed 14 June 2016

I just came back from a wonderful seven-night stay at Caneel with my husband and 2 1/2 year old son. I cannot say enough good things about Caneel. The beaches there are so gorgeous, and the staff is very courteous and friendly. We stayed in the premium gardenview room, which was very spacious and comfortable. Our son loved playing on the beaches and the water is very calm, which is great for little kids. The food at the beach bar & grill was also good and we especially enjoyed the sushi. Another highlight was the complimentary daily afternoon tea. The freshly baked scones and homemade lemon curd were scrumptious. We also rented a jeep for 2 days to explore the rest of the island, but definitely preferred it at Caneel! We had a very relaxing, amazing time and highly recommend this resort!

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sh828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2016

The resort is very spread out and has some of the most beautiful beaches. Our favorite was Scott beach and Turtle Bay Beach. There was never more than 15 people on the beaches whenever we were there throughout our three night stay. They had floats you could use on Scott's beach. The beach chairs are a little worn. The rooms are rustic and have a cabin feel to them. It is like going to camp with no TV's, phones or radio's in the rooms. The staff at the resort could use some customer service training. They never smiled, greeted you good morning or good afternoon, they walked us to our room with no explanation of any of the resort services. We didn't know about how the shuttle buses work, phones on the pools or how to get ice. We weren't told the Turtle Bay restaurant was only open on Sunday night. We overheard wait staff then went and made reservation. The restaurant was over booked for the staff they had so we waited 45 minutes for our table. We did have one staff member, Deborah, who was friendly and worked the bar at Scott beach and bar at restaurant in main lobby while we were waiting for our room to be ready. For the price of the rooms the service should reflect the cost you are paying to stay there. Loved the wild donkeys and deer all over the property and beaches which made for a relaxing stay.

Room Tip: If you don't get at least an ocean view room you will be in the back of the property with a long walk to get anywhere.
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank MWRHouston_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2016

If you want to stay right on the water, Caneel Bay Resort is actually one of the few options available. The resort grounds are very well maintained. Beautiful and unique. The roaming deer and donkeys offer a very unique element. Very peaceful. Beautiful beaches. There is a reef in pretty good condition at the end of Turtle Bay beach that provides very good snorkeling. The rooms are comfortable and clean.
Caneel Bay is not cheap but a a nice experience none the less.
The fitness center is very well done.

Room Tip: If you want a kid free zone stay at Scott Beach.
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MBudd2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2016

If you want a supremely satisfying way to explore the US Virgin Islands, put Caneel Bay Resort high on your list. It’s not inexpensive, but if you want a luxury destination for a special occasion, look no farther than this sprawling resort in the Caribbean.Your experience starts at the Caneel Bay welcome office at the airport, where attendants tag your bags for transit to the resort on the resort’s own boat. After a quick tour of the shops and a drink at one of countless bars in town, board the private ferry and enjoy a complimentary drink as you take in the scenic views during the 30-minute boat ride. My friend and I stayed at a large, nicely appointed room with a dazzling ocean view and a private path to a semi-secluded beach, shared only by guests from the same bank of rooms in the complex. To get to the various shops, bars and restaurants on the island, you can take the resort shuttle which picks up guests at designated stations every 15 minutes, or enjoy a leisurely walk that treats you to a robust habitat of flora and fauna, including donkeys and deer that freely graze the rolling greens. Dine elegantly at one of the resort’s restaurants, or order room service and enjoy your meal on a beach chair, watching boats on the horizon or other guests snorkeling in the pristine waters. Wifi is free and reliable. If there’s a minor gripe, it was that our room was left uncleaned (and sheets and towels unreplaced) during one night of a 4-night stay. Fortunately, the resort’s many other amenities made up for the blip. Highly recommended, and don’t forget to enjoy the islands' signature cocktail, the Painkiller.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank ChronicFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2016

I think this was our seventh trip to Caneel Bay, and again it felt like a homecoming. We were welcomed warmly by staff who know us from previous visits. We are a mom and two young adult sons. My younger son is autistic and a diver, and went out again with the folks from Patagon, and had a great experience (thanks Luke!). We stayed as we always do, at Caneel Beach in an oceanfront room, mere steps to the water, diving off the ferry dock, swimming to the raft, and watching the little ones play. It is amazing how you get to know your neighbors here. There are several more secluded beaches where you can stay.

I am almost afraid to mention names of the terrific staff, as I will be forgetting people. But thanks to Claudette (housekeeping), Elvis (the ferry), Lodi, Mugsy and Hannah (the Grill), Amber (beach service), and Jackie (the Beach Bar)... and so many more. The staff is why people come back here year after year.

I think the negative reviews of this resort have to do with expectations. The rooms are rustic, old Caribbean. The resort is situated in the National Park, where donkeys, deer, iguanas and land crabs are everywhere. If you want to stay here, do it because you will be in the heart of nature. (Yes, there are bugs.) If you are looking for a different experience, stay at the Wyndham. Caneel's rooms have no TVs or telephones, but the internet works well.

The only glitch in our stay was an issue with the AC in my room, but it was addressed immediately. We will be back next year.

Room Tip: I stay on Caneel Beach, which is the busiest beach in the resort. There are quieter beaches.
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cami612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews