We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location!”
other travellers have booked this property
THIS COULD BE YOUR VIEW !!  AND 5 MINUTES TO DOWNTOWN!!!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
THIS COULD BE YOUR VIEW !!  AND 5 MINUTES TO DOWNTOWN!!!
SUNSET VIEW FROM PATIO. RELAX IN STYLE!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
7 reviews
THIS COULD BE YOUR VIEW !!  AND 5 MINUTES TO DOWNTOWN!!!
SUNSET VIEW FROM PATIO.
RELAX IN STYLE!
WHEN YOU SIT ON THE COUCH YOU CAN SEE THE OUTER ISLANDS!
NEWLY REMODELED KITCHEN
MASTER BEDROOM
ONE OF THE VIEWS FROM THE MASTER ROOM
GUEST BEDROOM.
WHAT A VIEW !!!!!!!
WATCHING THE SAILBOATS CRUISING IN THE HARBOUR
BREEZE RIGHT IN AND ENJOY!!
NEWLY REMODELED BATHROOM
TASTEFULLY DECORATED.
CHECKING EMAILS IN PARADISE!!!!
PLAY CRIBBAGE, DRINK WINE OR DO BOTH!
SPEND A DAY BY THE POOL!
ANOTHER VIEW FROM THE PATIO.
I'M ON ISLAND AND LOVIN' IT!
ENJOY ISLAND LIVING AT ITS BEST !!!!
WE ARE HAPPY TO SHARE OUR ISLAND HOME WITH YOU!!
YOUR VIEW !!!  FANTASTIC!!!!!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Cruz Bay, St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Explore23...
1 review
“Great location!”
Reviewed 16 May 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Had a return stay at Sea Grape in March. We love staying here, as it is always a wonderful vacation getaway for us. The condo is beautifully decorated, very comfortable, fully equipped kitchen and fantastic views!! Vehicle is not necessary as Cruz Bay is just a short walk with numerous bars and restaurants to choose from. Already looking forward to our next stay at Sea Grape!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 May 2017
Thanks! So glad you enjoyed your stay!
Mike and I strive to make our Island home YOUR Island home while you are on vacation.
Looking forward to having you come back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roving675...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice accommadations, too small for 4 people, uphill walk back from town difficult for older adults.”
Reviewed 1 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Residence is very nice, well kept. Living room and kitchen and porch are very small ,especially for 4 adults. Bedrooms were fine. Alll 3 window a/cs worked well. Kitchen is well equipped and appliances all were great. Town is located at dock on right side of photo. Photo is taken from porch of residence. It is a long 5 minute walk to town downhill and an exhausting walk back to residence, up 2 steep hills. I would plan on taking a taxi back if we were to return. Would recommend this residence for TWO young healthy adults that enjoy a good walk. We had a good time.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarahkawa...
Burlington, Vermont
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great beach apartment with fantastic views, close to downtown, with everything you need”
Reviewed 24 January 2017 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Seagrape is an apartment in an apartment complex on Battery Hill. It was very clean, furnished, and came with many amenities that you would need on vacation. There was air conditioning (which was so lovely!!), cable TV, towels, kitchen ware, beach supplies, and local guides for exploring St. John. My husband and I were set with things that we needed to prepare meals, and relax. Cecelia, the apartment owner, was very accommodating and flexible.
The view from the balcony overlooks downtown Cruz Bay, and you can watch boats come and go while eating breakfast outside. The walk downtown was very do-able (and also very steep) so we walked pretty much everywhere during our stay. Our favorite beach bar was right at the bottom of Battery Hill, so the location of this apartment is wonderful! You can get to a beach, and downtown in literally five to ten minutes.
In congruence with some other reviews, Cruz Bay is filled with night life. There are times when you can hear the activities from downtown in this apartment because it is situated on top of a hill. We stayed during the Carnival, which was super fun, but also very loud. If you are looking for a super quiet place, this apartment might not be for you. If you want to be immersed in downtown Cruz Bay, walk everywhere, and enjoy the night life, this is the apartment for you.
Overall, we really enjoyed our stay! We were greeted by a lovely woman who gave us a tour of the complex, and situated us in the apartment; there was a welcome basket waiting for us with coffee, snacks, and a personalized note. We definitely felt right at home in this apartment, and can't wait to go back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaey23
Boston
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“OK, but some frustrating problems”
Reviewed 26 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
3
people found this review helpful

First, St. John is a great place to visit and we enjoyed our time on the island.
We rented Seagrape condo on Battery Hill for a few nights. It is a good location for access to downtown Cruz Bay.
The greeter, Charmaine, was great. She was very pleasant and helpful to us.

However, the location, and the unit, had a few problems that disappointed.
Due to the condo's proximity on the hill, it allows unrestricted late night noise from "party central" Cruz Bay bars. That was somewhat expected as we knew Cruz Bay has a lot of bars open late and visitors will overindulge with alcohol.
The biggest noise problem was actually from downstairs occupants, seemed like a few guys, hanging out on their balcony right beneath our bedroom. Drunk, inconsiderate jerks that were talking loudly and arguing with each other until after 3:00AM!!? Seriously?!
We heard dogs barking and other people in the neighborhood hollering and yelling at all hours of the night.
I guess I've come to the conclusion that the area really is one big party all night, every night. The Cruz Bay area is very loud, a place to party, with a lot of young people, fairly high percentage of American youth.
But inconsiderate people that cannot control themselves, have no regard for others, feel entitled, and get drunk every night is the reality of places like Cruz Bay. That's too bad for older travelers like us because it is a great island with fantastic beaches.
While the 2 bedroom unit is fairly small, not a lot of sq. ft. in each room, the amenities offered with the condo rental are good.
You'll find cabinets stocked with plates, mugs/glasses, bowls, small appliances, oven, full fridge (but no dishwasher) that allow you to prepare meals and eat in. Just head down to Starfish Market, about 15 min. walk, to pickup a few things and you could save a little cash if on a budget. There is a cooler and beach totes in the condo and beach chairs for guest use are in a common area under the stairs. Wifi was OK but did seem a little wonky at times and we occasionally lost the connection even though right next to the router.
Negatives:
The water pressure and hot water when showering was terrible. If one of us opened the kitchen faucet while the other was in the shower, the water pressure and temp in the shower dropped further from its lukewarm and low pressure state. Frustrating to have lukewarm to cool showers during our stay.
Not as much of an issue as we are early risers most days, but there was construction of a new building next to the adjacent condo there so that contributed noise about 7am everyday, even on Sunday.
The laundry facility there is in a common area and not great. Although free for guests to use, it consisted of only a single worn washer and dryer.
Once again, water didn't seem to get hot for our towel wash, machines were dirty and we didn't feel comfortable using them. Guest must provide their own detergent.
And as we did not rent a vehicle, we used taxis to get to beach but walked most everywhere. On the morning of our departure, we called a taxi to bring us and our luggage to the ferry deck down the hill. It's a 5 minute walk but fare with 2 checked bags and a carry-on was $20. I felt the driver was taking advantage as there was plenty of room in his safari-style vehicle for the few minutes ride into town.

Overall, we made due and it was good to have a couple of overnights on St.John.
However, I would stay somewhere different, probably further away from Cruz Bay next visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Proximity to Cruz Bay
Liked least: Noise
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jun 2016
First of all, I am sorry that my guests had unpleasant experiences while staying in St. John. I corresponded with them at length before their stay to answer many questions they had. They did not rent through FlipKey and in the contract I sent to them, I mentioned that because Seagrape is right above Cruz Bay, within easy walking distance from downtown , there has been music that can be heard from the local bars. I mentioned also that I installed new hurricane windows to lesson the noise and that if they closed the windows and turned on the fan in the new air conditioner, it really cuts down on noise...
St. John is a small island, and Cruz Bay is the hub of the island..
I cannot do anything about the rude folks who stayed below them- there are rude people everywhere. It is too bad my guests didn't call my management team--- they could have taken care of the problem quickly...They also could have fixed the water pressure problem. I have a management team so that they can fix these kinds of problems....As far as the taxi driver's rate--well, what can I say? I obviously had no control over that.....
I have gotten great reviews from previous renters. I would suggest that if these folks come again to St. John, they should stay in Coral Bay, on the other side of the island... It is quieter there, but the drive to Cruz Bay for beaches, restaurants, or shopping is a very hilly, curvy and hair raising experience!
I take pride in sharing my island home with folks, and providing them with a charming, relaxing place to stay.. And Cruz Bay, all in all, is a lovely spot...Imagine sitting on my deck, watching sailboats, and viewing
the outer islands while listening to soft blues or jazz from downtown, while sipping a glass of wine on a quiet Sunday afternoon! Lovely!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShellyS46...
Lexington, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Seagrape is a REAL bargain”
Reviewed 5 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Located on a hill within a short walking distance from the port, Seagrape is a wonderful place to live while taking in St,. John. The condo was spotless, well stocked with 2 bedrooms (1 with a queen size bed and 1 with 2 twins). The apartment is not gigantic but has a more than usable kitchen, AC, a lovely porch overlooking the port and a living room with cable TV. The owners have thought of everything - their binder had info about almost every vendor and restaurant. There is a small but lovely pool steps away. As a condo owner myself, this is well worth the money for small groups. When you venture into town, you can eaily walk the short distance down the hill!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing