We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Loved the view and convenient location!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View From Your Living Room at Captain's View Southerly View of Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
12 reviews
View From Your Living Room at Captain's View
Southerly View of Living Room
Living Room Facing North at Captains View
Aerial view of the house
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Cruz Bay, St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
stjohnbea...
St. Louis, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
431 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Loved the view and convenient location!”
Reviewed 21 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

My husband and I stayed here 10 days in June. We have been to St. John 8 or 9 times and this was my favorite location of all. It is literally a 5 minute walk to the center of Cruz Bay. The bedrooms had comfortable beds. The ac worked great! It has an above ground pool that is shared with the villa below. It has a gate that made us feel very secure. It is very private. It had a bird's eye view of Cruz Bay, the NPS office, the Lind Point Trail, and the Cruz Bay harbor. There were also a lot of birds and other critters to view on the property. I would definitely stay here again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Loved the convenient location to town!
Liked least: The washer could be updated.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fromfairf...
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great location and you can't beat the view”
Reviewed 25 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

My husband and I and another couple stayed here for a week and would rent here again. We have stayed on St John before, in different locations in/around Cruz Bay, as well as in Coral Bay. This villa is in a perfect location - close to everything, and with a fabulous deck with an outstanding view of Cruz Bay looking across to St Thomas. It's perfect to watch the 'world' go by.
I was concerned about potential noise, but the a/c was on at night in the rooms and thus it drowned out any outside sounds (e.g., music). In the early morning we loved watching the town come to life and in the afternoon, the sunsets were fabulous. The only concern to note for staying here would be for someone with mobility problems, since the driveway is steep. Agree with others that the appliances are dated, but they work. A mid-week cleaning would have been nice (we were told one would happen once during the week but it did not) but that was not a big deal. Was nice to be able to do laundry and cook a few meals.
Overall, I would recommend this rental.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kanuk13
St. Catharines, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unbeatable location and views!”
Reviewed 19 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

We have visited St. John a few times before and this time we wanted to be located within walking distance to Cruz Bay for the restaurants and bars. Captain's View offered the perfect location, a bit of a hike uphill, but not bad if you are in reasonable shape. The views were terrific and allowed us to enjoy watching the town wake up in the morning while enjoying our morning coffee on the balcony. The evening sunsets were great. Captains View is a great value with fairly basic accommodation, not luxury, but very adequate. We had a great week and did not have to worry about a car rental as we utilized the local taxis and Vitran bus when going over to Coral Bay or Salt Pond.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moonjelly
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great stay in town”
Reviewed 30 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We loved this property for it's great location and the views. It is located close to everything in town, though you have to walk up a couple steep hills to get to it. The condo has all the amenities you need except some of the appliances are very dated and the bed pillows were horrible. It was nice to be able to cook our own meals and the grill was nice. We spent most of our time on the deck staring at the amazing view. No one checked on us while we were there and it would have been nice for someone to check in and see how we were doing. The welcome amenities in the fridge were a nice touch and overall I would definitely recommend staying here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and location were great.
Liked least: Some of the appliances were very old, the pillows were horrible and no one check on us while we were there.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
debkay27
New Paris, IN
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great View from Deck”
Reviewed 9 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Four of us stayed here for 6 nights. The view from the wrap around deck of the boat harbor was something I never got tired of. The two bedrooms were very nice one was off the kitchen which could be a bit noisy if anyone is an early riser and wants to make coffee Some of the appliances are a bit dated (i.e. washer and dryer). The only real complaint was we were suppose to get maid service mid-way through our visit but it did not happen. Beware it is at the top of a rather steep hill and is a bit of a climb. We would definitely return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: View from th deck
Liked least: Climb up the hill
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Sep 2013
We are grateful for all our new and repeat guests at Captain’s View. It truly is a magical place! I’m sorry to hear the mid-week cleaning was missed, but assure all our guests that St. John Properties will take care of any cleaning or maintenance glitches ASAP, as they are only five minutes away in Cruz Bay!

BJ Harris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$ 250
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing