We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (87)
Filter reviews
87 results
Traveller rating
41
32
8
2
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
41
32
8
2
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fridge was stocked bottles of liquor orchid suite st john air conditioner living room and bedroom phillips dvds goodies town units breeze
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 87 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2018

We stayed in the front suite. It has a great view of town and a good breeze to keep you cool at night. we never needed to use the air conditioner. Its located at the top of a big hill so walking back from town is a challenge but not to bad. We enjoyed the room very much.

Room Tip: Nice view, needs a little stove.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank DonA1679
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2017 via mobile

We went with Hillcrest because of its proximity to downtown Cruz Bay, and the fact that our Orchid Suite has a kitchenette, in order to save money on food and parking fees. It is a five minute walk down (way down) to all the restaurants and bars in Cruz Bay, and an eight minute climb back up (waay up). Twice we paid to park in town just to not have to crawl back up that hill! The rooms were clean when we arrived, and were not cleaned again during our one-week stay. The 3 window units kept all very cool, but the bedroom's AC rattled incessantly, which forced me to turn it off at night. The Wi-Fi is spotty, and there are only a handful of channels on the TV, and about 30 DVDs. The kitchen sits 2 inches below the living room and bedroom: watch your step! The fridge was stocked with two bottles of wine, three bottles of liquor, some bacon and eggs, and the spice cabinet was full of all kinds of goodies! There were no oven baking dishes or aluminum foil, but we cooked on the stove top. Phyllis left us a nice rolling cooler, snorkel fins and masks. We left suntan lotion and mosquito repellent for the next guests. I would check your room before you buy some of these smaller items yourself. The shower had weak pressure, a rusty shelf and a slightly moldy curtain in it. There's a small screened porch next to our suite that we had sole access to, but one of the window units vented hot air into this space, so we avoided it. Phyllis was super sweet and a pleasure to talk to. The place was not perfect, but all its flaws were slight, and we will certainly consider staying here next time we come to STJ.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
5  Thank Jesse T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2017

My girlfriend and I stayed 5 nights at the Front Suite. This spacious room had the most wonderful view overlooking the Cruz Bay harbour.

Philly, the host, was extremely friendly and helpfull. The only downside is, that the continental breakfast only includes eggs and bacon.

Room Tip: If you can, you should go for the Front Suite.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grauen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2017 via mobile

The Manager / Owner greeted us when we arrived, checked us in (3 HR Early) upgraded us to a room with a view and all with a smile.

This isn't the Westin, BUT, it's in Cruz Bay, it's affordable and friendly!

O yeah the fridge was stocked with Bfast food, drinks and cocktails, included!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank KV9647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2017

We really loved our stay at the Hillcrest Guest House. The owner, Phyllis, is friendly and welcoming. The room was very nice, with a spectacular view of Cruz Bay. The room has nice double bed, bathroom with shower, air-conditioning, microwave, hot plate, cooking and eating utensils, and a large refrigerator and Freezer which comes stocked with a variety of things, including wine, beer and rum, all included in the price. We loved our stay there. It is a 10 minute walk to the shops and restaurants and ferry in Cruz Bay. The only drawback is that the Guesthouse is atop a hill, and the last 100 yards is very steep. We did rent a jeep so we did not have to do the steep climb often, and we did not mind it the few times we did walk, but renters should be aware of this. If you don't mind a short but steep walk, this is an lovely place to stay on St. John Island.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Patrick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews