We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing rental in St John's”
other travellers have booked this property
The view from dining room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The view from dining room
The pool in the sky The sunset view of the Caribbean Sea at Mar de Amores
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
17 reviews
The view from dining room
The pool in the sky
The sunset view of the Caribbean Sea at Mar de Amores
The view from the balcony
Tropical landscaping at the entrance of the villa
The balcony
The view
The pool in the balcony
The living room
Master bedroom
Guest bedroom
Guest bedroom
The kitchen
Inside view
Dining room
Balcony on a sunny day
Outside view
Far away view
Balcony
Outside
Kitchen
Outside dining
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Cruz Bay, St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
CTHappyTr...
Lebanon, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Amazing views, but showing its age”
Reviewed 12 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
4
people found this review helpful

We stayed at the villa in July, and upon arrival we were blown away by the view. The pictures don't do it justice. The view and pool are the two reasons why we overlooked the fact that the location is beginning to show its age.

The owner was very nice and communication with her was quick. We were disappointed at first because the VRBO website listed the prices incorrectly and the cost was substantially more than what was listed. The owner explained that the property was well worth the extra money and she would not negotiate the price.

When we arrived we were met at the ferry dock by the property manager and we followed him up the interesting drive to the villa. Make sure you have a 4 wheel drive because the drive is not for the faint of heart. The manager showed us around and left.

The bedrooms each had a separate AC unit, but the main rooms were not air conditioned. We were assured the ceiling fans would be enough in the main rooms. Perhaps in the winter the fans were enough, but it got very hot in the main rooms during the day. Since we went to the beach every day the hot rooms were not an issue.

On our second morning the house was overrun with ants. They were everywhere...walls, electrical sockets, cabinets and all over the clean dishes. It took two calls before the property manager answered us, he came, looked around, and said he'd send an exterminator. The exterminator sprayed the entire house and the ants were gone for a few days. They returned later in the week, but to be honest, we didn't want to waste our vacation calling the manager and exterminator again, so we just dealt with them as best we could.

The house was well laid out and the furniture was in pretty good shape. The property, however, was in need of some TLC. Many of the screens had holes in them and the walls on the deck side needed some fresh paint. The master bath was also different than the pictures from the owner. The jets in the tub did not work and there was a makeshift shower attached to the wall and a shower rod bolted to the wall. There also seemed to be an issue with whomever was responsible for cleaning the villa between guests. On the day the exterminator sprayed I emptied all the cabinets and rewashed all the dishes. That's when I discovered a layer of dirt and grime on top of all the light fixtures, the refrigerator and the kitchen shelves.

In spite of all those issues, we were there on vacation and did enjoy ourselves. The home was equipped with a gas grill so we were able to grill a few nights, and they provided beach chairs and coolers for our trips to the beach.
Overall I would have to give the villa an average rating. The location is good, the view is amazing, but the ants and dirt need to be addressed. Considering what we paid, it should have been in much better shape.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: The Ants.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen H
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing rental in St John's”
Reviewed 29 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We just got back from our vacation. The villa was very nice. It was spotless and extremely comfortable, the beds were all great. The view from the deck was wonderful. At night we got serenaded by the tiny frogs. It was so peaceful. The location was great, a ten minute ride to the heart of Cruz bay. I would go back to the villa for a future stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: the home feel of the property
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“View and More”
Reviewed 23 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013
5
people found this review helpful

Mar De Amores is a comfortable villa with a million dollar view of Chocolate Hole and neighboring bays. It sits privately at the top of a steep and winding road that was fun just getting up and down (jeep a must). The owner and her property manager couldn't have been any nicer and accommodating. My wife, 2 kids (17 & 21), our friend and I all unplugged, relaxed and loved St. John and our villa.
We highly recommend Mar de Amores and cannot wait to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location & view
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Reviewed 19 July 2013 for a stay in April 2013
4
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
brobbvac
Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fabulous View sunny and comfortable”
Reviewed 3 February 2012 for a stay in January 2012
7
people found this review helpful

Great place to stay. Deck has great view and sunny, pool was refreshing. Deck is a little worn but in great shape. Note that most villas have cisterns for water so you have to conserve water (showering) and drink bottled water. Bedrooms have AC very comfortable but the rest of the house has no ac but it wasn’t necessary just open the sliders and breeze was great. 5 min. to cruise bay and 2 minutes to Groceries very convenient.
Merttle was the property manager and was very responsive and informative.
Week of Jan 14th St John was quiet no problem with beach parking and no waits for restaurants. Wifi only worked for about 2 hours this was the biggest problem, Cable was in and out a few times.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great View nice open kitchen and living easy access to Cruise Bay
Liked least: Wifi only worked for about 2 hours the whole week
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing