We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect spot in Cruz Bay!”
Review of Grande Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grande Bay Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We just returned from our 5th visit to St. John. It is our favorite spot. We rented villas in prior years so this was our first stay at the Grande Bay Resort. We have already booked for next year. The location is great. We walked to dinner every night and could walk across the street to the beach bars to partake of happy hour in the afternoon. We had our adult children and grandchild with us, so the location worked out really well for everyone.We rented a 2 bedroom until which is actually a one bedroom unit connected to a studio. It was beautiful. There were sofabeds in both units, although not all units have them. The condo was quite well equipped and the staff were all very nice and helpful. The balcony was a bit narrow. They are not all the same size, so it is important to ask when booking. Despite being next to Wharfside Village, Grande Bay Resort is very quiet. I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask about the balcony size when you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NHSandman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMatGBR, General Manager at Grande Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2012

It is allways good to read constructive feedback from a seasoned "St. John" traveler and trust me we will take it to heart. I already have plans to retrofit the balcony seating during our off season so that next season the "balcony" experience is more enjoyable. Thank you for the positive review and I look forward to welcoming you back for your 6th, and hopefully many more, visits to Grande Bay Resort & Residence Club.
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (285)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

227 - 231 of 285 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2012

Great location right on the edge of town, fantastic view of the action in Cruz bay! We stayed here in February with our two girls (ages 4 & 7) for a week and loved it. The condo was nice and new and clean and very well equipped. We enjoyed breakfast and cocktail hour on the expansive balcony every day and enjoyed watching the boats , pelicans and people. The owner provided beach chairs, coolers and beach towels for guests to use. Joe and Paul were very helpful - Joe even gave us ice for our cooler on the way to the beach. Our girls enjoyed the pool a couple of evenings. I would recommend Grande Bay for anyone coming to St. John. The proximity to the towns nightlife and conveniences cannot be overstated. A very short walk to bars, restaurants and the mini mart made staying at the grande bay stress free. Although we did take the taxi bus to the beaches I would recommend renting a jeep and to book early for peak season as we were unable to rent one due to availability. There is even parking spaces below the buildings for your rental car. The ferry runs every hour and is a 5 minute walk to the grande bay which was nice too. I'd stay at the grande bay again for sure because of its location, cleanliness and amenities .

Room Tip: Request an upper level condo so the telephone wires aren't in your beautiful view of Cruz bay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank suiteleaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We booked a 2 bedroom condo through the owner via VRBO. Our dealings with the owner and the property manager were excellent. We paid $3300 for a week during peak season, which was the most reasonable rate I could find for any of the 2-bedroom Grande Bay condos.

I want to limit my review here to the property itself. The kitchens are outfitted with stainless steel appliances and granite; however, you can tell that some of the work was done cheaply. The bathrooms were small and included faux-tile, which I did not expect for a property that is supposed to be luxurious. Also, neither of our bathrooms had tubs (which I imagine would be quite an incovenience if traveling with small childres; other units may differ) or lighting in the small shower, which I thought was odd. We also thought the pool was small, and it gets very little directly sun, so it's not as useful as we'd hoped. We spent most of our time at the beach, but wanted to enjoy the pool at the end of the day. That didn't really work out for us.

With all of that said, though, based on extensive research when choosing where we'd stay, I still think Grande Bay was our best bet. It is far less expensive than other high end options like Gallows Point or Caneel. Yet, it is extemely convenient to the night-life of Cruz Bay, which was important to us. We did rent a car to explore the island and travel out to the beaches. We probably could have gotten along with just using a taxi, although I never priced the cost of a trip out to the beaches. I give this property a 4/5 based primarily on location and based on comparison of it to other accomodations in Cruz Bay.

However, it is not as nice as the accomodations we've had in Mexico or Maui for similar costs, which is probably why I was a bit disappointed.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Brungart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

We stayed in a one-bedroom penthouse condo at Grande Bay in early Feb 2012. We rented it directly from the owner. All paperwork and stay went perfectly. Very close to town so you can walk in a minute or two to shopping, restaurants, groceries, bars/entertainment, and a scuba shop just below! We were provided their garaged parking spot that had an elevator right to our front door. We brought a rental SUV over from St. Thomas at the airport. Budget will let you do that. We wanted the freedom to explore the island on our own and didn't want to hassle with taxis/ luggage transfers, etc. Grande Bay has a 24 hour on duty receptionist to answer questions, help with any issues, and even fill your cooler for the day on the beach. This came in very handy and is a service that should not go untold as we used it every day. The Grande Bay is a pretty new development and our condo was like new and furnished nicely with a full kitchen, decks overlooking Cruz Bay. Perfect.
After having explored the whole island, I can say that we really liked our choice of Cruz Bay and Grande Bay resort. I definitely would return here for our next trip to St. John.

Room Tip: The penthouses have high ceilings and great views, but I'm pretty sure you can't go wrong in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BradandSuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

From booking to check out, the people at Grande Bay took excellent care of us. Always with a smile, always with an extra piece of advice if we wanted it. Paul and his staff are very eager to help in any way possible. Even seeing these folks on the street after hours, they make a point of knowing your name and saying hello.

The unit was one of the smaller one bedrooms (so be sure to ask for the larger if you can get it), but it had everything you could need. Well stocked - including a bottle of rum and cokes and water. Bed was very comfortable! The kitchen is well laid out, tho with the smaller unit we didn't have a dining table. Our only complaint was that there was no coffee table so no place to put your feet up at the end of the day while watching the very nice flat screen TV, but Paul said they are getting coffee tables soon. Washer/dryer was also a big plus and they provide Tide - as much as you want.

New beach towels daily at the front desk and coffee and danish upstairs in the sales office. The location of Grande Bay is ideal - you can walk to everything in Cruz Bay - the "downtown" of St. John and it's the only place in Cruz Bay that has parking which is probably the biggest selling point I could mention. Parking is beyond a premium! The views are super here too. We did not have time to take advantage of the gym or the pool, but both look clean and other folks seem to enjoy them, tho it was NOT over crowded and we were there in high season. The buildings are very well insulated. We had a unit on the front street and though there is a beach bar across the street, you'd never know it when you shut the sliding glass door.

We'd go back in a skinny minute!

Room Tip: ask for the larger 1 bedroom - they have 2 options in a 1 bedroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank etakwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMatGBR, General Manager at Grande Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2012

We would have you back in a "skinny minute"! Thank you for the kind words and positive review. Beyond the fact that Cruz Bay is a small town greeting new friends and old acquaintances is the "right ting to do mon".
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cruz Bay
1.4 km away
The Westin St. John Resort Villas
0.5 km away
St. John Inn
St. John Inn
#1 of 4 in Cruz Bay
496 reviews
0.3 km away
Sea Shore Allure
Sea Shore Allure
#4 of 4 in Cruz Bay
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
#3 of 4 in Cruz Bay
473 reviews
0.2 km away
Gallows Point Resort
Gallows Point Resort
#2 of 4 in Cruz Bay
859 reviews
1.8 km away
Caneel Bay Resort
Caneel Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Caneel Bay
766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Bay Resort

Address: Bay Street | Cruz Bay Quarter, Cruz Bay 00831, St. John
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Cruz Bay
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Cruz Bay
Price Range: ₹ 19,342 - ₹ 37,642 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grande Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grande Bay Resort & Residence Club is situated hillside overlooking Cruz Bay on St. John in the US Virgin Islands. Set near Wharfside Village, this St. John condominium resort overlooks the emerald and blue waters of Cruz Bay and St. Thomas to the east and the British Virgin Islands to the west. Offering nightly rentals (min. 2 nights) and fractional ownership opportunities in the heart of "Love City". ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grande Bay Hotel Cruz Bay
Grande Bay Resort St. John/Cruz Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing