We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful condos within walking distance of town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gallows Point Resort
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Cruz Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful condos within walking distance of town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

We loved our stay here. The staff is so accommodating, our condo was beautiful (11C), and the grounds are gorgeous. We had a harbor view, which is lovely, but we did hear the music from the bars in town till about 11 PM, as well as the ferries. This honestly didn't bother us; the birds and crickets were just as noisy, so we just soaked it all in as part of our Caribbean experience. We liked looking at all of the boats coming into the harbor. However, I think the ocean side is probably a little quieter. We particularly enjoyed walking to town every evening, having a trip at one of the ocean side bars, going to dinner, and walking home. Can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Choose an upper level for views, and ocean side if you want things quieter. We chose harbor (11C), b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheSnowReport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

825 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    628
    137
    39
    13
    8
See reviews for
150
500
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

Great spot with private condo accommodations. Some units nicer than others. Management and staff are friendly and helpful. Location is walking distance to town. Fantastic snorkeling. Great views. You'll want to come back.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MJWMJWMJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
101 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012 via mobile

We just got back from our stay at Gallows and had a great stay. This was our second stay on St. John, first at Gallows. Can't wait to go back. We stayed in 2d. Great view. There is a palm tree in the view but it turned out nice to have a little shade in the afternoon. Easy walk to town as well.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank travelfan_111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ANTIOCH
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

The property was great. Water frontage, loads of landscaping and nice sunsets were big pluses. But the store, grill & patio views with humming birds made the stay even better. But the best part is the location. First of all the island of St. John is the best we have visited in the Caribbean. The hotel's loction to downtown Cruz Bay is fantastic. We went to sleep with the music in our ears and the memories of the beach or historic locale we visited that day in our minds. I want to go back now.

Room Tip: Choose in your price range. You can walk to see what you want. Nice water side facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank KATHY L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

Wow! Great Location. I almost do not want to write this review, to keep it a SECRET but others have raved about this resort and I will, too.

We loved our unit-5d on the second floor. 1 bed and 1.5 bath.

Pro: 5 minute walk to the ferry/taxi's, right on the water, intimate sized property, clean rooms, well equipped kitchen, pool/hot tub, air conditioned upper unit, comfort bed, great snorkeling on location, small provision shop on property, good restaurant on property, community laundry available for $2 for both wash and dry.

Cons: pull out sofa uncomfortable, rollaway uncomfortable, roosters wake you each morning, rooms very bright in the morning (during our stay day light woke us at 6:30) Thurs/Fri night noise level loud the rest of the week quite

We spent a week in the Virgin Islands. 5 days on St John and 2 on St Thomas. Our stay on St John was the superior to St Thomas. The Gallows Point property was intimate and low key. While our stay on St Thomas at the Marriott Vacation Club was like being on a cruise ship.

Please do not let the con's scare you away from the property unless you like to sleep in.

The location is unbeatable. There is no need to rent a car unless you want to explore Coral Bay. Taxi'a are readily available at the ferry dock. A ride to Caneel Bay is $5 pp one way and to Trunk Bay $6 pp one way.

This island is very hilly. Travel by car can be dangerous with travel on the other side of the road, narrow and not for those that get motion sick. Travel by car is slow and runs about $83 per day, if you rent a car.

Most activities run out of Cruz Bay or Coral Bay. We rented a half day dingy $135 and personal powerboat full day $800 from the visitor center in Cruz Bay.

The best beaches are all located on the north side of the island. Which is where the property is located.

Gallows Point Gift & Gourmet is located on property. Shannon can arrange your activities and your grocery needs. I sent her my grocery list before arrival and she had everything I needed stocked in my kitchen when I arrived. We stocked our fridge with breakfast, lunch, dinner and liquor/wine/beer. Which cost me around $560 for 5 days for my family of 4. Dinner out for 2 people cost about $150. I highly recommend utilizing Shannon's services.

The photo's online are representative of the property and might not really do it justice.

We would return in the future.

Room Tip: Stay on oceanside. Harbor view can be noisier. Sound travels over water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank mastercraft7122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cruz Bay
0.3 km away
Sea Shore Allure
Sea Shore Allure
#5 of 5 in Cruz Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
5.8 km away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
0.4 km away
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
#1 of 5 in Cruz Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
St. John Inn
St. John Inn
#3 of 5 in Cruz Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
2.0 km away
Caneel Bay Resort
Caneel Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Caneel Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
4.7 km away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
#3 of 22 in St. Thomas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gallows Point Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gallows Point Resort

Property: Gallows Point Resort
Address: 3 AAA Gallows Point Rd | P.O. Box 58, Cruz Bay 00831, St. John
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Cruz Bay
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Cruz Bay
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,910 - ₹ 39,673
Hotel Class:4 star — Gallows Point Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a 5 acre peninsula in Cruz Bay. Our spacious 1 & 2 story units have fully equipped kitchens with dining area, King size bed, Satellite TV, Central A/C. in room wireless internet, full living room and private balconies all with ocean views. The resort offers full maid service, pool with hot tub, concierge service and a small gourmet grocery. Eat at our fine dining restaurant or take a 5 minute stroll to town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gallows Point Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gallows Point Hotel Cruz Bay
Gallows Point Cruz Bay
Gallows Point Resort St. John/Cruz Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing