We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from TripAdvisor:
This place is temporarily closed.

“Still a work in progress”
Review of St. John Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
St. John Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Cruz Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 2 March 2012

We stayed here for one night at the beginning of our week long villa rental and for two nights at the end. The first night we shared a two room suite with another couple and for the last two nights we had a standard room.
The good points- The Inn is right in Cruz Bay-you can walk everywhere and you can park easily in front of the Inn- otherwise parking is impossible or expensive in Cruz Bay.
The owner and the staff are all very friendly and helpful and willing to help you out.
The outdoor areas are attractive - this includes a breakfast deck and a cute pool area.The deck area for the two room suite was large with table, chairs, a big hammock and private.
Breakfast was very nice- apples, baked goods, cereal, juice, coffee.

Not so good points- Both of our rooms were sparsely furnished and were a little gloomy. There was no dresser if you were staying for a while. Our room in the two room suite had an air conditioner that was blasting cold air but the on/off button and dial to adjust the cold air was broken so we just pulled the plug. We kept the windows open and used the ceiling fan which was fine that night.
The single standard room had a very low ceiling with a ceiling fan. If I sat up in bed I was very close to that ceiling fan. The air conditioner controls did work in that room and we used it. There was a large comfortable bed and a large armoire but they were massive in a fairly small room. There was no dresser or place to store luggage- it wouldn't have been a comfortable room for a longer stay. The bathroom was large but only had a small sink and a shower and the sink didn't drain. The outdoor area was very narrow - pain was peeling from the wall outside.
The current owner has only owned the Inn for about four years and according to what we have been told and read about it, he has made a lot of improvements so he may need more time to fix it up. There aren't many places to stay for a few nights during the busy season on St. John so your choices are limited. St John is an expensive island- we paid almost $200 for the standard room and in the high $200 range for the suite.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PatrickMcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (496)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

389 - 393 of 496 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2012

My husband, 4-year old daughter and I stayed at the St. John Inn for one night after my husband ran the 8 Tuff Miles Road Race. We booked the room about 2 months ahead and it was the only "affordable" hotel ($305 for one night) that had vacancies. During the 8 Tuff Miles weekend, all of the big hotels in St. John were $500-600 per night and the smaller ones (including campsites) were booked.
We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived at the St. John Inn. It was a short ride from the car ferry and the front desk person, Lisa, was very welcoming. Our room was very clean and spacious. The TV had Direct TV with lots of channels (not the typical 10-20 hotel channels). We could not get the air conditioning to a comfortable level (either too cold or too warm). We missed the Rum Punch Happy Hour, but that seems like a nice touch. The kitchen had supplies, so we went to the Starfish Market and bought a few groceries for dinner. In the morning, the continental breakfast was nice. Overall, I would go back to the St. John Inn. It was a nice stay for a short weekend trip.

Room Tip: The Cinnamon room was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vinewbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We stayed here on an overnight trip from St. Croix. LOVED IT. Our room was huge and really clean. Bed was so comfy and the bedding was really nice stuff. The location was great. @ minute walk to the pubs and restaurants of Cruz Bay. Also just a short drive to Trunk Bay. We were very happy with this place. The pool was refreshing which was what we needed on a really hot afternoon. The whole place is really quaint and the people were all friendly.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlbertaShell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

What a great place!! My husband and I needed to find some place to stay for one evening and due to the great reviews we found on TripAdvisor, we decided to stay at the St. John Inn. It is an older property, but the room (standard) we stayed in was spotless and well maintained. The bed was comfortable, the sheets were top of the line and the air conditioning worked great! As if that wasn't enough of a reason to stay here, the pool area, although small, was beautifully kept and landscaped. Happy hour every evening with free rum punch (more rum than punch!) and the chance to meet the owner and your neighbors and Killer the dog (what a sweetheart!). In the morning? Free breakfast: NY bagels, cereal, coffee, tea, juice, muffins, etc. More?? Chairs for the beach, coolers, chairs and towels laid out for your day at the beach. What a fun, hospital, warm place to stay on St. John. They have truly thought of your every need. We have rented many homes there over the years, but I cannot tell you how much we enjoyed our one night stay at the St. John Inn. I was sorry to leave, but we will be back!

Room Tip: Rooms are available with a small kitchen area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DEM1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Stayed here on last minute notice when we decided to stay on Island a few day longer back in october. The location is great, easy walking distance from the ferry, stores, restaurants and everything you would need in Cruz Bay. The rooms were quaint and comfortable, clean, and the A/C was ice cold. The only slight down would be that the water pressure was a little low, I believe they might have been having pump problems that have since been fixed,but am not sure.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. Beach towels and coolers are available. They also have a complementary continental breakfast. We will re-visit often!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dustin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cruz Bay
0.9 km away
The Westin St. John Resort Villas
0.3 km away
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
#1 of 4 in Cruz Bay
472 reviews
6.5 km away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Sea Shore Allure
Sea Shore Allure
#4 of 4 in Cruz Bay
129 reviews
0.7 km away
Gallows Point Resort
Gallows Point Resort
#3 of 4 in Cruz Bay
859 reviews
1.7 km away
Caneel Bay Resort
Caneel Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Caneel Bay
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. John Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. John Inn

Address: 277 Enighed | St. John US Virgin Islands, Cruz Bay 00830, St. John
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Cruz Bay
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Cruz Bay
Price Range: ₹ 7,460 - ₹ 15,245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — St. John Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. John Inn is an affordable, small hotel. It is conveniently located in Cruz Bay in a charming historic building. We are close to shopping, restaurants and all St. John has to offer. We offer modest, budget accommodations with spectacular views of the sunset!Our rooms range from single rooms to two room suites, some with kitchenettes. We also offer 2 - 2 bedroom Villas. All rooms have a/c, private bath, refrigerators, microwaves, and coffee machines. We offer Wireless Internet (Wi-Fi) and provide beach towels, beach chairs, coolers and snorkel equipment at no additional charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your St. John Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. John Hotel Cruz Bay
St. John Inn Cruz Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing