We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful home, perfect location for the beaches”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
11 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Cruz Bay, St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
slyles1
Wisconsin
1 review
“Beautiful home, perfect location for the beaches”
Reviewed 24 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We have traveled to St. John a handful of times and found Francis Bay to be one of our best picks for accommodations. Two families including six kids 6-14 in age made this our home for 8 days. The kitchen and great room fit us perfectly and the a/c bedrooms were welcome. Between the beaches, which were merely minutes away and the pool... we don't think the kids ever left the water. We enjoyed watching the iguanas in the fruit tree right off the deck and had plenty of deer in the neighborhood as guests as well. And who could complain about sunset views every night? If your group's trip to St. John is focused on the beaches and snorkeling - this is the place to stay. Waterlemon Cay just a couple minutes away (great snorkeling). Traveling with a large group we also took advantage of Starfish Market's online food ordering and delivery for the first night. Awesome to arrive and not have to worry about a grocery trip right away. We'd come back and would definitely recommend to friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Layout of the grounds, the view, proximity to beaches
Liked least: No a/c in the great room/kitchen. Super humid so it was toasty in there.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LMBushman
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hide your valuables!!!”
Reviewed 30 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here in June with family to celebrate a 30 year wedding anniversary. The house is beautiful, there is no doubt about that. However you should be aware that only the main gate locks, none of the actual rooms have locks. As a matter of fact, all bedroom locks appear to have been broken off. So low and behold on the last day of the trip we come home from the beach to find out that our house had been robbed! The three lower bedrooms had all been violated. Almost $1000 was stolen total, as well as an ipod. It was blatantly obvious that whomever did this had been watching our routine every single day of our trip (creepy) and waited for the opportune time to make their move. Sureeee wish we had some locks to prevent this! Don't be fooled by the sign out front that says "property under video surveillance" because coincidentally IT DOES NOT. When we asked property management to view the video surveillance we were told it was broken and then we were told there really isn't any. Perfect!! We contacted the police who sent an officer who flat out said "this house isn't safe. I carry a gun and I wouldn't feel safe staying here. AWESOME!! So naturally the response of management after many many conversations is that they present the lease and say "we are not responsible for stolen items because there is a safe provided". Well isn't that special! We were stalked and preyed upon for 8 days by a criminal who waited for the opportune time to burglarize us and it is OUR fault for not using the safe?! Sooo if we had all been murdered because there are no locks on the doors would that have been our fault, too?! So needless to say we were incredibly disappointed with managements lack of concern for our safety. They offered to give us a discount the next time we return to the island..um we are not millionaires. this was a once and a lifetime trip for us. It is so unfortunate that it ended this way!

On top of that, we rented this home for 10 days. There is no A/C in the main room so if you are hanging out or trying to eat family dinner together you just sit and sweat. On top of that, we had no maid service. Our sheets were never changed and we never got clean towels. When you spend $10,000+ to stay somewhere, you kind of expect a little better customer service than this.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2015
Thank you very much for your review of Francis Bay Estate.

We appreciate your kind words regarding the physical beauty of the villa and hope that your group had an enjoyable vacation despite the difficulty you experience on your last day in the villa.

We are sorry that you may not have understood that this villa is not fully air conditioned. Francis Bay Estate is clearly noted as having AC in the bedrooms only while the Great Room is fully open air that is naturally cooled. We would also like to note that the maid the mid-week housekeeping service is a refresh of linens and towels, and not a complete home cleaning. During your stay, our records indicate that two of these visits were documented as completed.

Most importantly we want to express how terribly sorry we all are to know that items may have been taken from your villa during your stay. Although St. John is a very safe destination, the rare crime of opportunity can happen if guests are not vigilant. The safety and security of our guests is our highest priority. Over 25 years of managing homes on St. John we have never encountered any theft in a villa when the safes provided were in use. To that end, we kindly remind our guests to use the provided in-room safes for valuables, especially when departing their villa. We believe that these measures would have helped to prevent the loss of you property as well. Again, we are very sorry.

There is much in your review that we could address however we have since been provided with a copy of the police report that was filed and unfortunately this report does not comport with many of the details of your review. Therefore we will refrain from addressing each point directly.

We would again like to express our deep regret for the unfortunate incident that occurred during your stay and we would hope that you might consider St. John as a vacation destination in the future. The villa owner has also asked us continue to extend his offer to you.

We must also note that it was made clear to the management company and the owner of the villa that if this group was not compensated in excess of the amount of apparently taken that a negative campaign against the villa and the management company would begin, so this review was not unexpected.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
61Susan
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent St. John location, beautiful villa”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

This lovely five bedroom villa is ideal for a group of adult friends. The bedrooms have enormous doors and enough breeze that even in August we were able to sleep with the doors open, screens closed, and an amazing frog chorus outside. Just as important for visitors, this house is located where very few houses can be found for rent. A five minute walk from Francis Bay, a terrific place for swimming and snorkeling, the house is also an easy drive to any other national park beach, from Hawksnest near town (20 minute drive west) to Salt Pond and Leinster Bay (30-40 minute drives to the east and south). Quiet Coral Bay is the nearby town with plenty of places to eat. The staff at Catered To did a great job of maintaining the villa and responding to our questions.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CO
Reviewed 19 April 2013 for a stay in March 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NC
Reviewed 9 May 2011 for a stay in April 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family (extended)
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
No pets
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing