We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and Remote”
Review of Hurricane Hole

Ranked #36 of 67 things to do in St. John
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A storm-protected bay in the arms of mangrove trees with a lively and colorful nursery of fish.
Reviewed 2 April 2017 via mobile

This area of St John is well off the beaten path and is east of Coral Bay. It got its name because the collection of bays here are the most protected and when there are hurricanes this is where the boats anchor to stay protected. It is a lovely Bay and is not too busy.

Date of experience: April 2017
Thank jehenson81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Filter

3 - 7 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2017 via mobile

It's a very different experince snorkelling in the mangroves. And a bit more scary when you're suddenly eye-to-eye with a great barracuda, less then 3 feet away.

Date of experience: February 2017
1  Thank frankolsendk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2016 via mobile

This was my favorite day out of my week stay in the Virgin islands. We chartered a sail boat "Long Distance" with captain Gary and wife Deedra
Excellent price and better experience. We sailed to a few choice spots only accessible by boat, but the advantage to this boat is they own the only permeant given to a sail boat to anchor in hurricane hole with paying customers given by USVI government. Snorkeling the mangroves was the best snorkeling, so many fish and coral species in protected glass clear waters.

Date of experience: December 2016
1  Thank Jon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2016

Great snorkeling (best on St. John, in my opinion) when conditions are good, on outer Hurricane Hole; short walk to pebble beach with somewhat difficult access, no shade. Fine snorkeling on inner Hurricane Hole, with somewhat easier access, no walk, and some shade.

Date of experience: November 2016
Thank sallydets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 19 November 2016 via mobile

Visited Hurricane Hole, specifically Otter Creek section in mid Nov. Took Serena Sea charter from Coral Bay. The water was so calm and clear. Definitely a little eerie at first with how close you need to get to the mangroves, but you quickly adjust when you see the beauty in the water. The colors of the sponges, corals, anemones are beautiful and they all make a great background for all the baby fish! It's apparent why they call this the nursery for the fish. Also saw a barracuda, tons of queen conch, tons of cushion starfish, and a sea cucumber. My friend and I had the entire place to ourselves. One must take care to swim mostly with your arms while you are up close to the trees so you don't disturb the shallow bottom as it will quickly cloud the water. Just little small movements is all you need and totally take your time as there is much to see. We looked at a book on the mangroves before we went so we knew all the different things we would be looking at. Hurricane Hole is actually a National Monument. There are moorings there, but only for day use.

Date of experience: November 2016
Thank LadyTxAggie_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hurricane Hole also viewed

St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands
Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
 
Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Hurricane Hole? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing