We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Remote kayaking day trip

My husband and I visited St. John in May and we already can't wait to go back. We actually stayed... read more

Reviewed 27 June 2017
keeselily
,
Springfield, Missouri
Hurricane Hole kayak and snorkel

amazing kayak and snorkel with Liz and Arawak tours - most beautiful fish and coral in the... read more

Reviewed 11 April 2017
Katrina123456
Read all 22 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around St. John
from US$ 89.00
More Info
from US$ 49.00
More Info
from US$ 24.00
More Info
from US$ 89.00
More Info
Reviews (22)
Filter reviews
22 results
Traveller rating
20
1
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
20
1
1
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 22 reviews
Reviewed 27 November 2016

Great snorkeling (best on St. John, in my opinion) when conditions are good, on outer Hurricane Hole; short walk to pebble beach with somewhat difficult access, no shade. Fine snorkeling on inner Hurricane Hole, with somewhat easier access, no walk, and some shade.

Date of experience: November 2016
Thank sallydets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2016 via mobile

Visited Hurricane Hole, specifically Otter Creek section in mid Nov. Took Serena Sea charter from Coral Bay. The water was so calm and clear. Definitely a little eerie at first with how close you need to get to the mangroves, but you quickly adjust when you see the beauty in the water. The colors of the sponges, corals, anemones are beautiful and they all make a great background for all the baby fish! It's apparent why they call this the nursery for the fish. Also saw a barracuda, tons of queen conch, tons of cushion starfish, and a sea cucumber. My friend and I had the entire place to ourselves. One must take care to swim mostly with your arms while you are up close to the trees so you don't disturb the shallow bottom as it will quickly cloud the water. Just little small movements is all you need and totally take your time as there is much to see. We looked at a book on the mangroves before we went so we knew all the different things we would be looking at. Hurricane Hole is actually a National Monument. There are moorings there, but only for day use.

Date of experience: November 2016
Thank LadyTxAggie_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2016

My very favorite... breathtaking... I could not stop looking at the beauty of this area of St.John... Away from the tourists and cruise patrons (visiting from St. Thomas), this is the place where the locals, or those wanting to get away from the crowds will go. The colors of the water range from turquoise to royal blue... and the snorkeling is out of this world. Find your way to this more remote part of the island, and you will be treated to... paradise on earth.

Date of experience: June 2016
3  Thank ViajamosAMenudo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2016

We were somewhat disappointed in this snorkel spot after reading the reviews. In order to see anything you had to get right up next to the roots of the mangroves in barely two feet of water with long sea grass below. There were not many fish to see when we were there and it was not really worth the effort.

Date of experience: June 2016
2  Thank SoonerGirl93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2016

I got here by a chartered boat and really enjoyed it. The mangroves make for great snorkeling. If you get a boat try to get to some of the smaller nearby bays that are harder to get to by land.

Date of experience: March 2016
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews