We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly fantastic BBQ”

Uncle Joe's Barbecue
Ranked #23 of 71 Restaurants in St. John
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Takeout
Reviewed 10 March 2021 via mobile

Great BBQ and that’s coming from someone who is not a huge BBQ eater. Our second visit. Chicken is fantastic as is the rice and slaw. The food was more than sauce on meat. Also had the ribs. The BBQ sauce has a rich, deep flavor. Nice folks cooking and helping in kitchen. This may be our “every time we’re in SJ” must have. Carry out only, although they let us carry it over to their picnic tables and eat.

Date of visit: March 2021
Thank hoosiergirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (527)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 527 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2021

We love stopping in for their great BBQ when we visit St. John, and talk about Joe's BBQ fondly when we reminisce about our vacations, wishing we could go eat there "right now."

Date of visit: January 2021
Thank Too_Gemini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2020

Visited Uncle Joe's for some excellent local BBQ ribs and chicken after a daily excursion. Truly delicious. We had to wait several minutes to get our food, however it was worth the wait. Moist with great flavor and sauce and two sides. Make sure you try to catch them during the day as many times they may run out of food and close early but definitely worth a stop when you are in town and it is great to support the local businesses. Enjoy!!

Date of visit: November 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Roxanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2020

This is a must every time we go thru Cruz Bay. Large portions of good food. We reserved our order for pickup near their closing time. Everything was perfect.

Date of visit: October 2020
Thank markmK9764UA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2020

We get off the ferry and we’re starving. We walk towards the Jeep rental and some wonderful aroma grabs us. Yes it’s Uncle Joe’s! Eat here. It’s the real deal. Super convenient and did I mention good!

Date of visit: July 2020
Thank 722toddw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Uncle Joe's Barbecue also viewed

Cruz Bay, St. John
Cruz Bay, St. John
 

Been to Uncle Joe's Barbecue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in India. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.