We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (132)
Filter reviews
132 results
Traveller rating
25
33
27
17
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
25
33
27
17
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviews car park an update late check basic hotel quiet location comfy bed festival
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 132 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2018

This hotel building is looking a bit dated now, but the rooms are nice, clean and comfortable. I received a friendly welcome and the staff were very helpful. The hotel has a nice bar and and restaurant serving good food at reasonable prices.

Room tip: We had two rooms and both were very nice.
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018 via mobile

We stayed over for one night, we had a chalet type room at the back. The room and on suite were of a decent standard for what you pay. Comfy bed and clean room, however there was some miscommunication when we were checking in but that was quickly sorted out. We had dinner and the food was really good I had the Tregenna Chicken and my partner had the Lamb Shank, really well cooked, reasonably priced and good sized portions. Could do with a bit of an update and we couldn’t park on the car park as there was no space so we needed up on the road in front of the hotel, this wasn’t ideal with a car full of equipment which is why we chose a hotel with a car park. All in all though I would recommend it.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank alexsS1584AT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2018 via mobile

Visit here regularly as we teach at the local hospital. Accepting this is a two star hotel I really can't fault it. We always get a warm welcome, rooms are clean and comfortable and the food is very good.
I like the dated feel of the place, it feels cosy and relaxing. Despite being old, the furniture is clean and cared for.
Always very happy to come here.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank Amelie265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018 via mobile

Arrived at hotel to find the 2 separate bookings we did via booking. Com were not booked... Hotels fault.. Not booking. Com.... Reception guy was not helpful, rang booking. Com and they were fantastic, offered to find us another hotel with the 2 rooms we had booked but we had no time to move as we're due somewhere within the hour, the hotel had 1 room which was not in the hotel it was in a chalet around the back.. Not the best and wasn't ideal having to share 1 room... Booking. Com tried to get a cheaper price for us too... Once we arrive back at hotel later a lady think she was the manager offered us another room that had become available in the hotel.. Obviously we took it as we had booked 2 rooms anyway.... The lady was very helpful and friendly, the room was perfect plenty of tea, coffee, milk, toiletries etc, very large room 2 comfy leather chairs, comfy bed, plenty of spare pillows, towels etc..
Breakfast was also very nice, full English, cereal, toast tea, coffee, juice etc.. The initial nightmare got sorted eventually and it ended up being a very nice stay in the hotel.. Chalets could do with a make over, carpets need a clean and hotel needs a spruce up but overall very nice for basic hotel.. My friends were not happy with chalet or the fact the receptionist said hotel was booked n there was nothing he could do even though we had booking reference numbers for each room booked

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Gill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018 via mobile

This is our second stay - both times attending the FAB Merthyr Rising Festival.

Rooms are clean, good stock of tea & coffee, plenty of extra pillows & towels.

Very handy for High Street & has own car park.

Really good value.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank 66gayler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews