We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than I thought it would be...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Elysian Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in East End
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 20 June 2012

After booking the Elysian Beach Resort (June 9-13) and then reading all the negative reviews, I was sure it would be a bomb! But I was pleasantly surprised that the studio with King bed was rather large and clean. Floors were not sticky or dirty as some people suggested. It was nice to have the refrigerator, microwave and sink for those leftovers from the restaurants. The beach was clean, quiet and the water was exceptionally clear in spite of being near so many boats in Cowpet Bay. My only real complaint was the extremely loud air conditioner, like a plane taking off, so listening to the TV was a challenge.
We never had to scrounge for lounge chairs on the beach or clean beach towels at the front desk. The Caribbean Fish Market was a gem for the fresh fish and tasty meals. A bit expensive but well worth it. The Sangria Bar had good pizza, wings and breakfast. We snorkeled on the left side of the beach near the reef and rocks and it was amazing. There were many different kinds of fish, coral, starfish and spiny urchins. The only other beach that beat the snorkeling at Cowpet Bay was at Coki Beach. We rented a car for the four days we were there and we drove around to the different beaches and sites. We did the Sea Trek Adventure at Coral World Marine Park and that was a lot of fun. It isn't scuba diving, but then again we're not interested in scuba. Sapphire Beach was not good for snorkeling at all. We loved the peace and quiet of the resort so that made this place wonderful for us. It is not luxury just peaceful with white sand and clear turquoise waters.

Room Tip: No elevators at this resort, so if you're on a high floor there are many steps. Not ADA complia...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jeaniebeanie70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (608)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

314 - 318 of 608 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2012 via mobile

This hotel was a disappointment , the best thing about the hotel was the bar/restaurant named Roberts . The beach area was small and very rocky , my family and I got cut multiple times in the ocean of you don't wear pool shoes or snorkel gear. The shower was terrible, the beds were ok. We had very bad bug issues. The Island is gorgeous however!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chiotilidieo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

If there was a rating on Trip Advisor between "Average" and "Very Good," the Elysian would fall in there. We staid at this resort for a week in mid-June 2012 and we were pleased with the choice. Our experience was different than some as we rented directly from the condo owner. As such, we were not subject to some of the fees other travelers had to pay. Still, we had a full run of the property and we found the staff very helpful.
The trip started off a little shaky. The room was located down some stairs on the bottom level of the building and for some reason, all the lights were out down there. You could still see, but it was dim. We were exhausted after a full day of traveling and a late arrival and unfortunately, the lock and key to the main entrance did not work very well - it took us several minutes the jiggle the key and get the door open. This problem continued through the stay, though it got better after I shot some WD-40 into the lock.
Otherwise, I had no complaints about the room. There was a king sized bed in one wing, a living space and kitchen in the center, and two queens in the second wing. The unit had three full baths and we (two couples) never felt as if we were tripping over each other.
The grounds were nice and well cared for and the pool was great. The hot tub was extremely hot, to the point that you couldn't stand to so much as put your foot in, but it was a bit too hot for a hot tub anyway. The beach was small but nice with a good swimming area and decent snorkeling by the rocks on the left side. The activity hut set us up with a BVI trip and the staff was friendly. The food at the casual restaurant/bar was ok - food was decent but the service was hit or miss.
We rented a car during the last few days of the trip, but before that we cabbed it to and from Red Hook. Rarely do I ever remember anyone's name from a trip, but Joseph the onsite cab driver was a great guy and was always happy to shuttle us around. Cab fares add up quickly and even though driving on the left side is a little stressful, you will save money in the long run if you rent.
I would point out that it was possible to walk from the Elysian to a neat bar, Latitude 18, and to Red Hook. The walk goes through the Ritz beach, a few public beaches and a rocky trail through a forest, and it took me less than 20 minutes to Latitude 18. Red Hook was another 20 minutes and was a little too far to do if you want to stay sweat free. I also would not make that trip at night, due to low light and a few shady characters I saw along the way.
Overall it was a great trip and while the Elysian wasn't the most luxurious resort, it was a solid choice and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Redyed21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Had an awesome time staying at the Elysian especially hanging out at the beach bar (Sangrias) with probably my favorite bartender of all time. Stacey Johnson, YOU ROCK!! she makes the best painkillers and mojitos so have her whip one or two up for you...or 10 for that matter. Regardless of what you order as long as she's behind the bar your gonna have an awesome time!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ub40fx1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

The beach bar service was excellent! Stacey Johnson, the bartender, was extremely friendly and made some of the best drinks around! Loved her!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ashley889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East End
2.1 km away
Crystal Cove Beach Resort on Sapphire Bay
0.9 km away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
13.4 km away
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
#6 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#4 of 5 in East End
712 reviews
3.7 km away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
733 reviews
12.8 km away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
1,815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elysian Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elysian Beach Resort

Address: 6800 Estate Nazareth | one mile from intersection of Route 32 & 322, 00802-1105, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > East End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in East End
Price Range: ₹ 17,549 - ₹ 18,826 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Elysian Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Elysian Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysian Beach Hotel East End
Hotel Elysian Beach
Elysian Beach Resort St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
Elysian Beach St Thomas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing