We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Honeymoon Week!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We just got back from a week at the Frenchman's Cove, St. Thomas and had a great overall experience.

I'll break it down in sections for easier reading.

Room: So perfect, great view and plenty of room. **I've seen complaints about the elevator rides and walks but the resort is located on the side of an island, not flat land, so this should be expected. In order to keep the villa views consistent, not everyone (or anyone for that matter) can walk right out to the pool from their front door!** I've walked much further, higher and with no elevators at other resorts. The pillows are a little soft, so if you have room in your cases, bring your own. After 6 nights your neck will thank you. The kitchen is well stocked with the exception of zip-lock bags and Tupperware. We made a lot of meals and grocery shopped so we needed those items more than others might. The washer and dryer was very helpful and so were the in room pool towels. We got a mid week maid service which was very nice. There are no fans on the patios so it can get warm out there! Their shampoo/conditioners are not very good so I recommend to bring your own from home.

Ice: There are no ice machines except in your freezer - again this is not a hotel. The bartenders always were fine with giving us bags of ice for our cooler if we needed them, so this was not an issue for us.

Service: Their staff is all around great. Bartenders, maids, front-desk, etc - we had no complaints and anything that might have turned into one was immediately addressed. People that complain on TripAdvisor but make no effort to fix their issues while on their vacation really don't give vendors a fair deal.

On-site Food/Beverage: The food at the resort is average, but you certainly do not go to St. Thomas for fine dining. The prices are high and I recommend going to the grocery to minimize your food/beverage costs. The drinks are also average and overpriced but you are sitting right off the beach on private property so that should be kept in mind. Take advantage of their daily happy hour! It is worth it!

Grocery: We went to the local Pueblo near the port for our groceries. It is the closest and has a decent selection of basics. I do not recommend buying meats. We packed our own (frozen in a soft cooler) and had no problem. You can check them or carry on, it doesn't matter. Don't bother bringing liquor, it is priced better on the island HOWEVER, BEER IS NOT. It is about double the price as here in the states.

Car rental: I recommend this to everyone. We used "Dependable Car rental" and got a soft top jeep for around $55/day. Cab rides can cost minimum $12EA person round trip and unless you're staying on property most of the time, its worth being able to hop into a jeep and explore! Parking on the island is not a problem and as long as you are a fast learner (DRIVE ON THE LEFT) then you'll do fine. Speed limits never go over 30 so it's not too intimidating. We even took our car over to St. John, trunk bay for the day with no problems. The car barge fee is only $50.00 no matter how many passengers. We also drove to Red Hook a few times as well as Megens Bay and around to the local bars (Shipwreck Tavern, Epernay, Room with a View, etc). Just get your maps at the front desk and youre set!

Excursions: We didn't book any excursions through the hotel besides the Paddle Boarding. We do this locally so weren't impressed with this activity - but if you are a first timer then this may be a fun time for a family.

Pool: (Open 24/7!!) The pool was the perfect temperature and size. We never were short chairs and it was fun to watch the iguana's move around on the pool deck.

Beach: So beautiful, quiet and clear. Also never had a problem getting chairs/umbrella and they had corn hole out all the time. They rent snorkel gear in the marketplace and there is a little to see along the rocks.

We booked a day trip with Captain John which was WORTH EVERY PENNY. I'll be posting a separate full review of our trip with him when I get the photos uploaded. http://stthomasboatrental.com/ This was the hi-light of our week - it beat out St. John by a mile.

The Spa was closed due to us going in off-season and there is no room service. So those are N/A.

This was the perfect place for us and would recommend over and over. Happy Travels!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Christinni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,458)
There are newer reviews for Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,026 - 1,030 of 1,458 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2012

We had a two bedroom villa that was superbly equipped, had a fantastic view of the harbor and beach with two balconies. Beach is small but well maintained with ample chairs and umbrellas. Staff is very friendly and helpful with suggestions for activities and sightseeing. Sister property Marriott Frenchman's Reef has larger beach area and more restaurants. Shuttle runs frequently, but walking is faster so be sure to ask for directions to the path.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Coralone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Just returned from a 1 week stay (9/1 - 9/8) at Frenchman's Cove. From the moment we checked in until the moment we checked out, this place was wonderful. Cannot say enough good things about the entire staff and some particular standouts (Rita @ front desk & Keith @ Sunset Grill) . The place is very well maintained and has fantastic facilities. The location is perfect with the pool right at the beach and ocean level. Fitness facility, pool with plenty of chairs & volleyball net, restaurant & bar (at pool), beach w/water sports - (some with a charge), snorkeling and even "bags" kept us busy when we were on the property. We own a Marriott Resort timeshare in Orlando and have stayed at several others. We consider this one to be at the top. The weather even cooperated, perfect. Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Any building (all face the ocean) upper floors for best view. Tortola and Virgin Gorda buildings clo...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Banff22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

My wife and I stayed here with some friends the first week of September. Of course, during hurricane season there were fewer tourists staying at the resort, so we were always able to get great service in a timely fashion. The property is very nice and the rooms are spacious and will easily accommodate up to 8 people. The full sized kitchen was fantastic as we prepared most of our breakfasts, lunches and even a few dinners there. This helped us to save quite a bit of money over going out for every meal. Because of the properties location, you will definitely need to plan to either rent a car or pay for taxis. We spent a lot of time at the two other Marriott owned properties nearby where we took the free shuttle most times, and walked a few times as well. The pool at the Cove is great, and the beach is nice as well although it is smaller and bit rockier near the beach than at the Morningstar resort nearby. We definitely still enjoyed the beach at the Cove.

The service we received from the resort employees was nothing short of fantastic. Everyone was very friendly day after day and I did not encounter a rude or unfriendly employee the entire time. We will definitely be going back to this property and would recommend it to others as well.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TroyF337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

Nice location- small shore for guests. Take free marriott shuttle to Morningstar for a real beach. Pool is very nice. Happy hour makes the drinks worth price. Nothing is walkable so plan ahead for sundries and food. Gift shop is expensive but has basically snacks / drinks
The beach and pool get littered with cups and bottles. The general hotel is clean . Rooms are cleaned once per week unless you pay more.
Overall, I would stay again knowing I would take shuttle to other beach. Taxis are easy to use once you get one. When we arrived we weren't given good direction to the pool bar to wait for our room. And we killed two hours waiting for a call, but didn't get one. So we checked back and it had been ready.
Bartenders are nice, and bellman are great.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank stellamystar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte Amalie
7.3 km away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
14.2 km away
The Westin St. John Resort Villas
0.3 km away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 km away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
6.4 km away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
727 reviews
6.6 km away
Sugar Bay Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Frenchman's Cove? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Frenchman's Cove

Address: 7338 Estate Bakkeroe, Charlotte Amalie 00802-3011, St. Thomas
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range: ₹ 20,089 - ₹ 86,923 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's Frenchman's Cove 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Marriott's Frenchman's Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Frenchman`s Cove Hotel Charlotte Amalie
Marriotts Charlotte Amalie
Marriotts Hotel Frenchmans Cove
Marriott Charlotte Amalie
Marriotts Frenchmans Cove
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove St. Thomas/Charlotte Amalie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing