We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
  
Ways to Experience St. Thomas Synagogue
from US$ 15.29
More Info
from US$ 595.00
More Info
Reviews (357)
Filter reviews
357 results
Traveller rating
276
60
15
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
276
60
15
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sand floor gift shop from spain two blocks st thomas congregation jewish docent jews hebrew agi ark worship torah pray island artifacts
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 357 reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2020 via mobile

This was a very informational tour. Only 6 allowed at a time due to our pandemic enemy and the hours are Mon Tues Thurs 9-3:30. Very nice gift shop. Also maps app had us walk to the top of the hill, but it was actually midway up with gates. Hopefully this review saves some disappointment, but it was worth the walk up the hill!

Date of experience: December 2020
Thank mcmary59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2020

We went there only to find out they're closed. No one would let us in to look around. Whoever usually is there had a medical emergency and I guess the Rabbi couldn't be bothered and the person who was there wasn't authorized to let anyone in.

Date of experience: December 2020
Thank InsightfulTourists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2020 via mobile

We visited this incredible Synagogue just before the hurricane hit and have been worried ever since but were thrilled to see this magnificent gem looking as beautiful as ever! There is a reason why this is the #1 “thing to do” on St Thomas: beauty, serenity, and a fabulous discussion on many diverse topics. There is also no charge since they feel this is inappropriate, but leave an offering if you can.
You enter into another world, leaving the hustle and bustle of the shops behind you, sand under your feet to dampen the sound and a soft breeze kisses your face as if those who have passed are there with you. The building is uniquely “air conditioned” using the trade winds and offers comfortable, cushioned benches to contemplate, pray and be grateful. (Catholic Church: take note!) Agi, who is a member of the synagogue and serves as your hostess/guide, has a depth of knowledge equal to any historian PhD not only of the synagogue but also of the Caribbean. As a member of the Daughters of the American Revolution I was astounded to learn of the contribution the Jewish people from the Caribbean made in helping us defeat the British. Time to teach that in the history books! A MUST for all visitors to St Thomas in search of more that just sun and rum! We were so taken we joined as lifetime members! A modest offering to preserve such beauty and history but not required of course.
Ps...Please don’t take off your sandals to feel the sand on the floor (as much as you will want to!) since it is a tradition at Jewish weddings to break glass as part of the ceremony!

Date of experience: March 2020
2  Thank cttravelgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2020

What a lovely experience this was. Docent Agi Rampino shared so much of the history of this place. It felt like a giant step into another era, and yet this is still a working congregation. The sand floor was unique and the Torah from the Holocaust still with the numbers the Nazis wrote on it to catalog artifacts from a deceased race sent shivers down my spine. Agi Rampino spent a lot of time sharing her stories. We visited a lot of places on our cruise, but seeing this was the most meaningful.

Date of experience: March 2020
Thank gec345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2020

Dirt floored Synagogue in the middle of Charlotte Amalie. Nice uphill stroll from the coast. Very friendly people and absolutely beautiful!

Date of experience: February 2020
Thank tonypI1658UW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews