We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice view; bring coffee”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bluebeard's Castle Resort
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Stayed in Villas III (known as East Wing on some maps) in mid-January 2012. Our group of 6 stayed in 102 & 210 (1 night) & 126 & 127 (several nights). The main positives were the view, the restaurants, and fairly central location. The main negatives were the extreme mustiness and difficult walkability to beaches or shopping.

I had a hard time researching details for this property because the property's websites are not very complete, so I'm writing more detail than I'd normally include. (If management reads this, I'd suggest putting much of the contents of your in-room guidebook online and updating the online room maps to indicate current names for buildings.)

Bluebeard's is on a steep hill near a cruise ship dock and downtown Charlotte Amalie. Due to steepness and lack of sidewalks in many areas, it is dificult to walk anywhere that is not on the property. Luckily, there are 2 excellent restaurants on the property: Banana Tree Grille and Room with a View. There's also a pool bar open for breakfast & lunch and the Cabana Bar is open most nights for drinks and bar food. The burgers are pretty good at the Cabana Bar.

Bluebeard's has many different sections and it's kind of confusing navigating within the property. Driving to and within the property can be nervewracking due to narrow, steep, curvy roads. The property entrance is on a very steep hill. We turned in once after a rain shower and were nervous about getting up, but we did it. Just before the lobby, there is a pretty tight curve at the top of a hill, too. If other cars/taxis are there, it can be a challenge. The road to the Villas III lot is really steep, too.

At least in Villas III, the room # does not give you a clue as to which floor you're on. 210 is on the 4th floor. There is no elevator, so it's a hike when you come and go. There's a walkway from 3rd floor (where 126 & 127 are) that you can use to get to the lobby, pool, restaurants. Some rooms adjoin (126 & 127 do) which is nice when you're with a big family.

In Villas III, rooms are cleaned once a week (Thurs. in our case). You can request new towels & beach towels daily, though. Also, for $30 you can get additional cleanings. There was one approx. 4-person sized cofee ground pack per room when we arrived. We asked for more several times before finally someone in housekeeping told us that they were "waiting for a new shipment" so everyone got only the 1 packet on arrival. Judging from other reviewers' comments on coffee, maybe they're always tight on the coffee.

Amenities: beach towels, towels, hair dryer, soap, shampoo, lotion, alarm clock, toaster, mini fridge, mini microwave, 2 burner stove, coffee maker, basic kitchen supplies, flat TV, iron, ceiling fan, wall AC, wall safe, decent sized closet, 3-drawer dresser, foldout sofa bed, table/chairs, phone, retractable clothes line in shower/tub.

Positives: nice views from floor to ceiling windows/sliding doors, balconies, replacement beach towels usually brought quickly after request, AC cooled (but did not dehumidify), ceiling fan, pretty clean, lots of hot water water, fairly roomy, free printing of boarding passes in lobby.

Negatives: musty smell that could not be defeated by AC, no dishwasher, no in-room washer & dryer, laundry was at end of hall & cost $2.50 each for washer & dryer so 1 load of laundry would be $5 (Pirate's Pension section apparently has in-room washer/dryer), allotted one 4-person serving of coffee, AC sometimes seemed to get accidentally programmed to turn off and there were no instructions about how to work the unit, almost no counter space, light switch turned off clock (suggest bringing tape or something to remind yourself which switch turns off fan vs. clock), tile floor got sandy pretty quickly (maybe add some foot washes like beaches have at the edge of the parking lot and/or entry mats), noise in adjoining rooms pretty loud even with both doors in between closed, more pillows per room needed, no free wi-fi (not even in lobby).

The rooms were a mix of updated and not. The furniture was pretty modern. Some bathroom/kitchen fixtures were updated and some not. Kitchen area has kind of ugly (but clean) laminate on counter & cabinets.

Pool area was fine. Kids liked the waterfall at the pool, but the water was cold while we were there. The hot tub was fine. The pool restaurant needs more shade at breakfast time. We baked the one time we ate breakfast there.

The rooster noise was not a problem for us, maybe because we were pretty high up. We could hear them some, but it wasn't super loud or super early. We also did not have any problems with check-in, but we booked as owners, not through a travel site, and we brought confirmation numbers, which we requested after reading reviews about check-in problems. The staff was nice.

102 (on 1st floor) was VERY musty. 210 (4th floor) was least musty of all. 126 & 127 (3rd floor) were in the middle. Nitpicky point: bed in 210 was super mushy.

Advice on other options: We went to beaches at several hotels (all beaches in STT are public), and it looked like Secret Harbor would be a cool place to stay and that beach is reputed to be one of the warmer ones, so in winter esp. that might be good. If you want a big property, might look into Marriott Frenchman's Reef, but that beach was the least calm of the ones we visited, Sapphire Beach Resort looked good and that was a great beach.

Room Tip: higher up seems less musty
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank theswintster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (768)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

704 - 708 of 768 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2012

We knew what to expect as we researched before we booked so yeah there are chickens and they do what chickens do in the morning, yes house keeping only cleans every so often but the place was clean, beds were comfortable and the staff was responsive and friendly. If you need to be pampered its not the place for you but if you are looking for a great deal with a great view this place is spot on. The pool bar has great food at a reasonable price as well so check that out. we spent the whole time looking for good food on the island and it was right under our noses the whole time! Book 2 months out for the better deal as prices shoot up the closer you get.

Room Tip: Book the villas and book 2 months out for a good deal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jekell101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

The only reason I give this property a less than excellent rating is because the woman who runs the customer service at the front desk is horrible. I stayed at Bluebeard's for a week and had no less than 5 run-ins with this woman and she had an awful attitude every single time. Why establishments hire and keep people like this as the voice of their company is beyond me. I never caught her name or I would blast it all over this review. Other than the WORST customer service from a front-desk worker that I've ever had, the rest of the workers were great, the room was clean, comfortable and well layed out, everything was in working order. Housekeeping provided exceptional service. Richard - we loved you! The view out over the harbor was a joy and provided a clear vision of St. Thomas's gorgeous sunsets. You will probably want a car if you stay here, as it is not on the beach, rather on a very steep incline up the hill just out of town. Taxi service is readily available but will over charge you whenever they can get away with it. There is a Pueblo grocery store very close to the hotel and also restaurants close by. Their pool and hot tub are well kept. There is also a restaurant connected to the pool area. I did not eat at it so I have no opinion to report on it.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank aimster9870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

We rented from hotels.com and was given cottage number 163, it was beyond magnificent! The view from the balcony was amazing! The cottage had a large bedroom with a dresser and a closet, a closet in the hallway and a closet in the living room, one and a half bathrooms and a kitchen area with stove top, full fridge, dishwasher, microwave, sofa, table and chairs, and a flat screen TV. Our cottage was not next to any other rooms, so I am not sure if they are all the same, but I did ask another guest and was told that their room was just as wonderful and they had no complaints. I think the only difference with our cottage and the other rooms, is that we had one and a half bathrooms.
The castle sits on top of a mountain and the views of the cruise port and the boats are amazing!
The hotels pool was another amazing spot, as where the restaurants on site, amazing food, amazing service and the atmosphere was so relaxing! It was literally a perfect vacation and we are very happy we stayed at this hotel, we will definitely stay here again and rent the cottage again!
There are a lot of stairs to climb and because it is on a hill it has a lot of inclines to walk up.
The lobby is located on the top of the hill (we couldn't find it, just keep driving up to the top and you will see it).
You really should rent a car if you stay here, the inclines are steep and there were a lot of people who walked around town (its close) and went shopping and came back with bags and couldn't make it up the steep hill to the hotel. To really get a feel for the island spend the money on a car rental, even if it is just for a couple days! Taxi fares add up quick!
They did a grand re-opening in April 2011, so any review prior to that is null and void in my book! The only "problem" we had was that we had to hold the handle to the toilet down to flush it, but it really wasn't a problem!
Yes, there are still a couple roosters and chickens, but this is part of the island way, they did not wake us up, maybe if we kept the windows open they would have, but we used the modern day A/C and heard no noise. I don't understand how people could rate this hotel lower because of a few chickens, there are chickens on every island in the Caribbean, it is the norm for island life!

We hated to leave this hotel and we are currently planning our next trip to St. Thomas and will stay at Bluebeard's Castle again!

Room Tip: Rent a car!!! Lots of stairs to walk up to go to restaurants and rooms, so if you are disabled this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tristalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

We stayed at Bluebeards the week before Christmas. After reading some of the reviews I was not sure what to expect. The room was big and very clean. The Unit we stayed in had been painted and updated. The views are postcard perfect and the staff very nice and helpful. The food was a little high but after shopping at the near by grocery I know why. I would stay there on our next trip. The only issue we had on our trip was the driving it is crazy so if you rent a car just keep reminding your self stay LEFT! Also if you cant climb stairs this is not your place.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Barbara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte Amalie
1.3 km away
Mafolie Hotel
Mafolie Hotel
#3 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
577 reviews
4.8 km away
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
#6 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
641 reviews
4.2 km away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
1,824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 km away
Gallows Point Resort
Gallows Point Resort
#2 of 4 in Cruz Bay
862 reviews
8 km away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#4 of 5 in East End
717 reviews
4.2 km away
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in South Coast
1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluebeard's Castle Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluebeard's Castle Resort

Address: Bluebeard's Hill | **closed thru 2018 because of hurricanes Irma and Maria**, Charlotte Amalie 00801, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range: ₹ 3,435 - ₹ 8,231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bluebeard's Castle Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bluebeard's Castle is an historic property dating back to the 1600's. The resort occupies an entire hilltop with spectacular views overlooking the harbor and town of Charlotte Amalie. Its signature red rooftops are among the first sights for arriving cruise passengers.The resort includes a centuries-old fortress bearing the name "Bluebeard," after the infamous pirate, and check-in takes place in the former residence of the Danish governor of the island. This tropical paradise is the perfect place for a private getaway as it is set on a secluded hilltop and overlooks the harbor of St. Thomas. Bluebeard's Castle is centrally located in the most desirable part of the island with world class shopping minutes away. With only a short drive from some of the most popular beaches in the Caribbean where you can enjoy boating, scuba diving, snorkeling and windsurfing. The island itself offers a wonderful assortment of duty-free shopping, world-class restaurants (including the top-rated ROOM WITH A VIEW on location!), hot night spots, and a variety of local flavor to satisfy every taste. This resort features history, breathtaking views, and easy access to town. Beaches are literally minutes away so you can visit them all including easy ferry rides to St. John and the British Virgin Islands (Tortola and Virgin Gorda). You will see why owners at the resort are passionate about their units. It is this passion that will once again be the reason that Bluebeard's Castle will become a sought after destination resort. Many lucky RCI members will take advantage of this now! The resort is in the midst of a historic multi-million dollar remodel that will change all that you have heard. The proof is found in our regular maintenance reports as well as our news and picture sections. Also, schedules of on-resort dining are now posted in these reports. Owners are excited about what the future holds and you should be as well. Spread the word. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bluebeard's Castle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluebeards Castle Charlotte Amalie
Hotel Bluebeards Castle
Bluebeards Castle St Thomas
Bluebeard's Castle Resort St. Thomas/Charlotte Amalie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing