We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what was promised.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bluebeard's Castle Resort
Reviewed 12 May 2011

Through Diamond Resorts I booked a two bedroom unit using my points with Diamond. When I arrived our unit was not yet ready, and I had to wait until 4:00 PM before I could get into the unit, even though the room is supposed to be ready by 3:00 PM. The two bedroom unit turned out to be two studios with a connecting door that wouldn't even stay open, so to go from one unit to the other, you had to prop the door open, otherwise it would lock you out of your room. When I complained that I had reserved a two bedroom I was informed that the resort only had two two bedroom units and both were occupied.
We had a 4 yr. old child with us and wanted to cook meals in the unit. There was no dishwasher and the sink was so small you couldn't even fit a dinner dish into it. Needless to say, clean up after meals was a chore.
We had brought DVD's to keep the 4 yr. old occupied in the evening, but there was no DVD player in either studio. It took us three days to get a DVD player delivered and installed, and that was only because we were able to get the assistant manager to assist us; the front desk kept passing us off to houskeeping, who told us there was no DVD player available.
The resort is on a very steep hill, which makes walking into and retuning to and from town difficult, unless you are young or middle aged. There is no beach available, so you must rent a car or pay step taxi fares to get to a beach. For the week it cost us $312.00 to rent a car, but had we used taxis it would have been much more.
When it came time to checkout, the woman at the desk told me she couldn't print out our bill because the printer was jammed. After I fixed it (which consisted of turning the printer off and then back on) I then had to wait 15 minutes while all the other items in the que had printed out. When it came time to print out my boarding pass, it turned out that the computer was hooked up to the wrong printer, and no one was available to fix it. I felt that the people manning the front desk were untrained, not very bright, and not interested in helping the guests (which tends to be typical in the Carribean when you have to hire local uneducated people).
At the pool area (which is also where you must buy breakfast and lunch) a multitude of yelling children (totally unsupervised by their parent) made it difficult to eat or read in peace.
So, if you are traveling with just one other person, and don't plan to cook in, and don't plan to go to the beach every day, and don't mind incompetent help, and don't mind screaming children, you may enjoy what the resort does have to offer; a beautiful view of the city, the sight of cruise ships arriving and departing, the sight of sea planes taking off and landing in the harbor, then this resort might be for you.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank paltinpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (768)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

738 - 742 of 768 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2011

This place has such wonderful history. The original Castle of the Pirate Bluebeard still stands. Recently renovated and just beautiful. Excellent five star resturants right on site. The Room with the view is a MUST visit. Prices in line with any other great resturant. Banana Tree is also wonderful. The grounds are warming, the old structures are beautiful, the staff was great, and just plain romantic. Pool and hottub were superb. Will be going back again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JJE1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
Thank Made1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank Eduardo051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Forlang et værelse med udsigt, evt delvis udsigt.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank InaMariaBarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte Amalie
1.3 km away
Mafolie Hotel
Mafolie Hotel
#3 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
576 reviews
4.8 km away
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
#6 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
640 reviews
26.4 km away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#2 of 13 in Road Town
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
1,820 reviews
13.3 km away
Gallows Point Resort
Gallows Point Resort
#1 of 4 in Cruz Bay
862 reviews
8 km away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#4 of 5 in East End
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluebeard's Castle Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluebeard's Castle Resort

Address: Bluebeard's Hill | **closed thru 2018 because of hurricanes Irma and Maria**, Charlotte Amalie 00801, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range: ₹ 3,406 - ₹ 8,162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bluebeard's Castle Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bluebeard's Castle is an historic property dating back to the 1600's. The resort occupies an entire hilltop with spectacular views overlooking the harbor and town of Charlotte Amalie. Its signature red rooftops are among the first sights for arriving cruise passengers.The resort includes a centuries-old fortress bearing the name "Bluebeard," after the infamous pirate, and check-in takes place in the former residence of the Danish governor of the island. This tropical paradise is the perfect place for a private getaway as it is set on a secluded hilltop and overlooks the harbor of St. Thomas. Bluebeard's Castle is centrally located in the most desirable part of the island with world class shopping minutes away. With only a short drive from some of the most popular beaches in the Caribbean where you can enjoy boating, scuba diving, snorkeling and windsurfing. The island itself offers a wonderful assortment of duty-free shopping, world-class restaurants (including the top-rated ROOM WITH A VIEW on location!), hot night spots, and a variety of local flavor to satisfy every taste. This resort features history, breathtaking views, and easy access to town. Beaches are literally minutes away so you can visit them all including easy ferry rides to St. John and the British Virgin Islands (Tortola and Virgin Gorda). You will see why owners at the resort are passionate about their units. It is this passion that will once again be the reason that Bluebeard's Castle will become a sought after destination resort. Many lucky RCI members will take advantage of this now! The resort is in the midst of a historic multi-million dollar remodel that will change all that you have heard. The proof is found in our regular maintenance reports as well as our news and picture sections. Also, schedules of on-resort dining are now posted in these reports. Owners are excited about what the future holds and you should be as well. Spread the word. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bluebeard's Castle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluebeards Castle Charlotte Amalie
Hotel Bluebeards Castle
Bluebeards Castle St Thomas
Bluebeard's Castle Resort St. Thomas/Charlotte Amalie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing