We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,430)
Filter reviews
4,430 results
Traveller rating
1,693
1,416
758
359
204
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,693
1,416
758
359
204
Show reviews that mention
All reviews morning star frenchman's reef aqua terra coco joes the main hotel harbor wing sunset grill rum bar swim up bar adventure center sea cliff main pool infinity pool garden view night kayaking st thomas tennis courts
Filter
Updating list...
439 - 444 of 4,430 reviews
Reviewed 4 February 2017

We didn't choose this hotel but stayed for a week for a conference. Apparently this is the 'best' hotel on the island - which is sad, because it is awful, and they charge a fortune (even before the daily 'resort fee'). I am NOT one of those hotel snobs who thinks everything should be perfect, and I understand occasional hotel issues, but this was ridiculous. I don't even know where to begin.

The good stuff: the view, two infinity pools, and a beach. Beds are comfortable - but don't request a rollaway, like we did. Extra blankets show the hotel's true colors - they are ripped, frayed, stained, with huge holes in them (see pix). I wouldn't expect blankets this bad at a Motel 6 - but here they are at $300+ per night.

NO hot water. Lukewarm on good days, cold on bad days. Doesn't matter if you take your shower in the morning, afternoon or evening - water temperature and pressure is terrible. Towels are old, stained, and falling apart. Big ugly marks on almost every one. One bar of soap for a WEEK with two people. ONE BAR. We ran out of toilet paper, too. Sometimes the cleaning people refolded and put the same towels back, instead of giving us new towels. (We recognized the stains.) Beds are made - some days - but sheets not washed unless you request it.

The restaurants are mostly atrocious - slow and poor service, disgustingly dirty, and terrible food. But you can't go anywhere else without paying absurd taxi fees, so you're stuck eating there. We had 'dinner' at least three times from the 'market' downstairs - food like that you'd find at a convenience store, only at 10 times the price. I did separate reviews for the restaurants because some are substantially worse than others.

Pools are nice, but don't let the 'resort fee extras' excite you. We saw no one (anywhere ever) offering snorkel gear or kayaks for daily use, or anyone using them, and we really searched. This hotel is obviously still in business because it's got a stupendous location. Two new hotels have opened up across the island in the past year - Margaritaville and a Wyndham - and I sincerely hope they give this place a reason to improve. Right now, they can get away with whatever they want simply because of location. They should be ashamed of themselves.

Room Tip: Plan to have a bad view, or pay a whole lot for a good one - upper floor essential to see anything at all
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank keerstn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrChrisDonohue, General Manager at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2017

Dear keerstn,

We area happy we had the opportunity to host you and your group for a week's conference here, and to hear that you enjoyed your views, the infinity pools, close proximity the beach, and your comfortable accommodations.

We also appreciate that you took the time to share areas that we need to focus on to enhance future guest's stay. We consider your feedback invaluable, and would appreciate the opportunity to welcome you back. We’re investing heavily in both interior and exterior updates, and improvements. We thoroughly appreciate, and consider all suggestions from our guests, and are strongly committed to continuously improving, to anticipate our guest’s needs to make their stay a great one!

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, and offer your feedback. We do hope one day, we will welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2017

The land that this Marriott is on absolutely gorgeous. Amazing views from both sides of the hotel. A great beach with a couple beach bars steps from the ocean. Nice pools looking over the ocean with bars near. The staff was all courteous. The on-site restaurants I would call, ok. The room and bathroom felt a bit dated but you're in St. Tomas, so how much time are you staying in the room. Convenient water taxi and taxis to explore more of the island if you don't have a car.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Randall S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrChrisDonohue, General Manager at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2017

Dear Randall S,

We love hearing words like gorgeous, amazing, and great when a guest is reviewing their stay with us!

We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you loved taking in the beautiful views, time spent at the beach, our nice pools, and even the beach bars. We are glad the water taxis were a convenient way for you to enjoy the island. Most of all, we are happy to hear that you were well taken care of by our courteous staff.

Thank you for letting us know how much you enjoyed our resort, and St. Thomas, and we look forward to welcoming you back again one day soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2017 via mobile

Wonderful resort, attentive staff, beautiful views of ocean, great snorkeling and shopping nesrby, good food, beautiful pool area. The glass bottom boat trip was also awesome. Big bathrooms, very clean rooms, high end linens, towels, toiletries. Oh and very quiet! Only stayed two nights during our trip but it was a great stay. Sooo relaxing.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Deb R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrChrisDonohue, General Manager at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2017

Dear Deb R,

We are happy to hear that you had an enjoyable two day stay here with us, and that you were very pleased with our wonderful resort!

Thank you for sharing that you were very pleased with your comfortable, very clean room accommodations, especially liking the high end linens,toiletries, and beautiful views, and that you felt very well taken care of by our staff throughout your stay! We are also glad to hear that you enjoyed so much of what the area has to offer including snorkeling, shopping, and the glass bottom boat ride.

We appreciate that you took the time to write a review, and we hope next time, we can host you for a longer stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2017 via mobile

Mold everywhere. Do not stay here if you have respiratory issues. Our room ceiling was crumbling. Our bathtub didn't drain. Curtains old and stained. There was 1 elevator for 6 floors. Always a 10 minute wait. We heard everything being said in the room next to us. Every server we had was new and not knowledgeable re menu or drink items. After one dinner the mgr came by to apologize but offered nothing in the way of compensation. This was after our main course came with our salad and was cold. And then we couldn't get a second drink! Do not stay here until the hotel is refurbished but I don't know when that will be. There is a nice beach but that is all I can say for the good! Avoid all hotel restaurants. Do not stay here!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
5  Thank Mep31382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrChrisDonohue, General Manager at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2017

Dear Mep31382

As it is never our intent to have a guest leave disappointed after a stay at our resort, we appreciate that you took the time to offer feedback after you recent stay with us. Comments like yours help us to pinpoint areas that need our attention, and we are pleased to let you know that we have many renovation projects planned for the upcoming months.

We also apologize that you felt our hospitality missed the mark, and that our staff did not shine when it came to our customer service. You feedback will help us in future training sessions so that we can host our guests brilliantly going forward.

Thank you for your review, and we hope your experiences this time around won’t deter you from visiting our hotel again, and enjoying the new enhancements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2017

Overcharged $2,600, luckily caught it and was able to fix the charge. First room was disgusting and had to upgrade to get a livable room. Charged me full for the upgrade just show the lack of accommodation and customer service. Lost our laundry and had to pick it up ourselves at the laundromat. Pretty poor treatment of a Marriott member.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrChrisDonohue, General Manager at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2017

Dear michaeljbaraldi,

We appreciate your loyalty to Marriott properties, and apologize if our hotel did not live up to your expectations you have come to expect when staying at a Marriott propriety.

We are sorry you encountered some mis-steps with your bill, and to hear that you were not pleased with your accommodations, or the service you received from our staff. We strive to provide a clean, comfortable stay, while experiencing friendly, helpful service, and apologize that you felt you experienced none of this while here with us.

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, and experiences here with us, and we hope as we go forward to improve and enhance our hotel and the service, that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews