We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing property with several well appointed...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Cariso Suite

view the sea here
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
view the sea here
Relax after seeing the town Relax late night
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
view the sea here
Relax after seeing the town
Relax late night
relax after touring the town
serenity minutes away off property
in the garden
Dining in
Prepare your feast
A short walk away off property
This queen bed offers sweet dreams
Calm and serene
Master of sweet dreams
Try a midnight swim
2 full sized beds
A garden view
2 full sized beds
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Frederiksted, St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
USN_Seabe...
Washington
Level 6 Contributor
457 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
“Good size rental but we found house to be too hot to be comfortable”
Reviewed 15 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
8
people found this review helpful

First off, I would like to say that my husband and I have rented homes on many occasions with rental companies and this is the first time that I have ever given an "average" review.

This home is of a good size for 1 to 2 couples to share (as long as you don't mind sharing a small bathroom).

My husband and I rented this 2 bedroom home but we were disappointed with our accommodations here. When I rented the unit it stated that it had air conditioning. When we arrived we were told that the air conditioning was only for the bedroom and that the bedroom door must be shut when the air was in use. This was not stated specifically in the description of the property. It was unbearably hot in the unit when it was closed during the day so on several occasions we left the fan on in the living room so that it would be cooler when we got home. However, every time we did, we would find that the fan was turned off when we would arrive back home from our excursions. We couldn't have turned the air conditioning unit on in the living room because the remote to the unit was mysteriously missing.

On the day before we were to leave, we turned the air conditioner on in the spare room when we were packing our suitcases since it was so hot in that 2nd bedroom. One of the owners went and turned the breaker off outside and then proceeded to look in the window and give my husband a dirty look. You can imagine our surprise by this. We felt that this was not being a kind host.

Another suggestion to make guests feel more comfortable would be to replace the mattress. It sags terribly in the middle, to the point that my husband and I both ended up with bad backs by the time we left.

The unit is located several blocks off the beach and we were glad that we had a rental car in order to get around. When we arrived, Betty was nice enough to guide us to the local grocery store since it was a few miles away. It does sit close to town, which is a plus if one wants to be close to Fredrikstead. There is a pool but we didn't have time to enjoy it.

Helpful Tips: Many of the stores/restaurants are closed in Fredrikstead when there isn't a cruise ship in port. We were awoken by the doves cooing every morning. There is a washer and dryer on the grounds which is a nice feature.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Good size for 2 people
Liked least: The house was extremely hot and owners entered property every day turning off the fan we left on to attempt to cool the residence
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Mar 2016
Hi Krista,
As I said before, we are sorry that you did not feel comfortable in the unit. All you had to do was tell us that you wanted the air conditioning on at all times. We would not have minded it as we have solar panels with batteries and a back up generator, and receive credits each month from our electric company, known as WAPA.
As far as being hot. The new guests that have been here for a week are well pleased and asked us to take the plastic screens out of the windows. They raved about how they loved the natural and the powerful breeze through the tradewinds traveling through our house east to west.
As far as my husband's look at you. I find it difficult to believe. He is a very religious person who heads the St. Croix Interfaith Society, Treasurer of the National Spiritual Assembly of the Baha is and has for many years volunteered with the American Red Cross as the "Master of Disaster," administering programs like Mass Care, etc. If anything, he thinks the look that you saw on his face was one of hunger and fatigue, as he was on the second day of a religious 19 day fast.
In future, please let your hosts know if you are terribly uncomfortable about anything. In our house we have a wonderful cross breeze from the trade winds. Each night we have to sleep with a comforter on the bed to keep ourselves warm enough.
God bless you and your husband. My husband and I wish you and yours, all the best.
Sincerely,
Betty
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lindaen20...
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing property with several well appointed bungalows, pool, quick walk to beach”
Reviewed 1 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016
2
people found this review helpful

This is an amazing place! It was comfortable and was the best equipped place in which we have ever stayed--hair dryers, wifi, access to HBO, etc.; and even snorkeling gear we could borrow. The bungalows/apartments have access to a gorgeous pool. There are outdoor tables near the bungalows where one can have breakfast and tables by the pool for meals. It is a short walk to the most beautiful beach and to downtown. Betty met us several blocks away so we could follow her up the hill by car to find it as it is tucked away. She found a dentist for me when a crown chipped when she realized I was having a dental issue, and even called and made the appointment. She demonstrated how to work the TV, Wifi, air conditioning as soon as we arrived. She and Jerry were incredibly helpful when needed, which we did a few times.
This is a perfect place and hosts for people that want to get away, be on a beach, swim in the ocean and pool, and explore a small Caribbean town. Driving on the left was an easy transition and other drivers were calm. Christiansted, which has more shops and restaurants is only a 30 minute drive away, but Fredericksted has some very nice dining options too. We loved Blue Moon and Paradise (just opened) and Polly's for breakfast. Betty provided all the menus so we could see our options. Figure out when the cruise ships come in and plan to go to town that day, and especially if they are there in the evening when local bands play on a bandstand. I can't say enough wonderful things about our experience here!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Feb 2016
Dear Linda,
Thank you so much for the wonderful review. You and Chris were the sweetest guests!
Best regards,
Betty
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dlt2010
vb
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The Cariso Suite is an island beauty with the comforts of home.”
Reviewed 13 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The property sits on a hill embedded in a stunning tropical forest. There is a glorious view of the Caribbean Sea and sunsets. We even saw the green flash! Breezes flow through the windows. Although the rooms are equipped with AC, there was no need to use it. We enjoyed the sounds of nature at night. Sugar Hill by the Sea is a peaceful place to relax and enjoy the warm days. The property has a pool and a bathroom for pool users, a nice feature. The pool area has sun areas and shade areas; we like having options. One can see dragonflies dancing around the water, and geckos scrambling around the fence. The facility also has a large washer and dryer for the guests. We counted at least three hammocks, and made good use of them! The Cariso Suite felt like our very own home with two large bedrooms, a dining room, kitchen, bathroom, and living room. The owners do a fabulous job of maintaining the property and the suites. The rooms are meticulously decorated and are quite beautiful. We felt like royalty here. The owners are the most gracious and kind people we've met. They truly love this place (they live on the property), and the that made us feel so special. We are moving to St. Croix soon, and we plan to recommend Sugar Hill by the Sea to our friends and family who travel as a group.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location in a mini tropical forest
Liked least: The road into the property is a little rough, but that is typical on the island.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jan 2016
Thank you so much for that wonderful review. Hope it is warming up back home!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Like a private paradise”
Reviewed 28 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed in this suite for two weeks and it was perfect! It was private, quiet, relaxing. Betty and Jerry were fantastic hosts! We would go again and again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewed 12 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing