We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (97)
Filter reviews
97 results
Traveller rating
37
36
9
4
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
37
36
9
4
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsterrible conditionindividual unitsair conditioningscreen doorcondo complexvrboseaweed
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 97 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2017

We stayed at Colony Cove for two weeks. Another couple stayed with us the first week. We rented #305C, two bedrooms, two baths, a great balcony with a nice view of the ocean with exactly what we needed. The property is well maintained, the pool is kept clean, and the beach was awesome. Our property owner, Pam, is an absolute gem. She made sure that our stay was perfect. While we were there, our washer broke down, and within 48 hours, Pam had new one installed. The 4 of us made several meals in the well-furnished kitchen, but also took advantage of the two restaurants within walking distance - Breezez and The Golden Rail. The location of this property was great. A 10 minute drive east places you right downtown Christiansted; and 20 minutes west you're in Cane Bay ... just a bit further is Fredericksted. We travelled the entire island easily and it was great to return to our condo!! If you go to St. Croix, check this property out (VRBO #751029). It was TERRIFIC!!

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
2  Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2017

My husband & I and another couple rented the mentioned condo, Colony Cover, from Jan 11 through Feb 1. We found, 2 our dismay, several issues with this condo.
Upon our arrival, we discovered that in the 2nd bedroom, under a throw-rug, immediately as you entered the room and also in front of the closet door, 5-6 broken floor tiles with extremely sharp edges. Each time we entered the room we did so with fear & trepidation that the tile pieces would come through the rug and pierce our feet.
We voiced our concerns 2 the management here. Maintenance people worked hard 2 remove & put in new tile. Needless 2 say, the dust from the grinder & then cutting the tile went throughout the condo - on the furniture, our clothes, & our bedding. The initial tile work was done late Saturday evening. The 4 of us renters worked late throughout the night cleaning floors & furniture (purchased costly cleaning supplies), washing bedding as well as most clothing. Ugh! This continued through part of Sunday & also Monday. The dust made breathing difficult.

Another huge concern is the cost of this unit! As we have visited with owners & renters here @ Colony Cove, we have learned the rent per night ranges from $175-$225. Our daily rent is $350 - quite a difference!!!!

When we rented our unit, we asked for & were told we would have an ocean view. That certainly is not the case. The view from our screened-in porch is overgrown shrubs.
Once we discovered problems( were more), repeated calls 2 the person in charge of renting our unit were not responded 2. We never heard from Jenna following voicing concerns. She refused all communication at this point. We can only assume that either Jenna OR the owners, or both, were not concerned at all for our comfort. Plus, we found them not to be honest about information they gave us before we arrived.

To pay $350 per day; then spend two full days cleaning is very unfair.

One nice thing about Colony Cove is that it is close to the water and we felt safe.

Unit 103C definitely needs updated in major ways, kitchen needs 2 b better equipped, and a thorough MAJOR cleaning throughout. At the present time, avoid Unit 103C @ Colony Cove @ all costs!
Sent from my iPhone

Room Tip: Unit 103C had not been updated in any way- not the stove, refrigerator, microwave, countertops.
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ruthlovesteaching
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

Don't really know that much about the area. The outside property is beautiful. Our unit needed some work. The shower faucet was quiet loose and the commode was a slow flush. During the day there were loud workers downstairs but what the heck we were in St Croix. It was beautiful

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank alexanderra1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2016

While the resort is a bit dated, and your personal experience will vary based on the owner, I can recommend Colony Cove.

The good:
Pool on site. Clean, decent size (small, but never crowded).
Beach. While a bit murky right when you get in, the tire reef allowed us to see many more species than even when we snorkeled at Cane Bay. Not too busy, and certainly a good view. (Note: I was surprised how difficult it was to find a condo with immediate beach access - many hotels, rentals have a great view, but require a drive.)
Friendly staff.
Location - central to much you may want to do. While Christensted is only about a 5-10 minute drive, you can get everywhere else in about 30 minutes. We were able to explore both east and west from our northshore home base at Colony Cove. PLUS -- a walk next door to Mill Harbor means a restaurant is essentially onsite - or walk just a bit down the beach to Breezes at Club St. Croix.
Washer/Dryer -- A great thing to have to allow you to back light.
The view (also depending on the unit) - the balcony was wonderful for morning coffee or evening drinks. The water is so blue and it's so peaceful.

The not-so-great:
It's just a bit dated. The bathrooms were small (master bath didn't even have a door) and a bit beat-up/grungy. The balcony doors stuck and were tough to open. Our particular unit had some leaks/maintenance issues. While the Christmas winds made it generally nice in the common area, the A/C didn't really kick in strongly enough to make bedroom sleeping as cool, comfortable as we really like.

So -- I'm nitpicking a lot, just to give the full picture, but I still rate it very good and would likely recommend it. While it's not a luxury resort, you're not paying a luxury price -- plus you get a lot of great things that aren't easily available otherwise.

Room Tip: If you don't book direct, VRBO also has a lot of units at Colony Cove. Find one with a great view that looks updated and well maintained.
Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank MC M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2016

Stayed at 101D...updated, island theme decor, a putt away from the beach with a comfortably furnished lanai to sit in and enjoy the view and a chip away from a recently updated pool with plenty of chairs and steps from the beach. very friendly atmosphere and very close to 2 restaurants. perfect place for our first time not staying in a resort setting

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank kmb201661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews