We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (534)
Filter reviews
534 results
Traveller rating
149
231
90
41
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
149
231
90
41
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private island ferry ride main island free for hotel guests ferry service st croix water ferry small store small island christiansted boardwalk beach barbecue small kitchenette bar restaurant restaurants and shops sea turtles hotel room angry nates
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 534 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2018 via mobile

My family and I were excited for our stay on St. Croix! When we pulled up to the ferry and saw the hotel on the little island, we thought we had made a good choice. However, when we arrived we soon realized we were wrong. The hotel staff was so rude. We asked the front desk for an extra towel after we checked in. The two girls working the desk barely responded and the one finally rolled her eyes and got up. She got the towel but curtly told us to next time get one off of the housekeepers cart. Ok...not a big deal but she could have been nicer about it. Each time we came in the front office, the girls barely spoke to us or gave us the time of day.

We knew it was a smaller hotel, and not luxury by any means. We were fine with that. But the lack of amenities was just ridiculous. We tried to rent a paddle board on property. The woman who answered the phone on Friday told my husband she “wasn’t coming to work today because she was hanging out.” Ok...nice. We weren’t able to rent paddle board or kayaks the entire time because she was never at work! We also were handed umbrellas the first two days without being charged. The one nice guy who actually worked there offered to put them up for us with no questions. My husband went out the third day and a different guy told him it was $10. You can’t go changing your policy midway through someone’s stay?!

NO WHERE on the website when we booked did it say that the restaurant was closed due to the hurricane. If I had dug deep and read reviews I probably could have figured that out. But websites need to reflect the status of your business. The pictures with the flowers and terrace you see on main page- not open. Parts of hotel were a mess.

The location is beautiful. We did enjoy the beach. But the customer service here was just really awful. I will never go back.

The ferry guys were nice. Most of them. If this place had a different owners and staff, it could be really nice. Even without updates. None of our group was expecting fancy...just nice and clean and friendly.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
5  Thank travlgirl802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelOnTheCay, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel on the Cay, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2018

Hello Travlgirl802,
Thank you for your review. We are sorry to read that your experience did not meet your expectations. We are investigating your interaction with our hotel staff and apologize in advance for any miscommunication. We do wish to address your other concerns:
1. The water sport equipment rental is independent of the hotel. You may wish to post a separate review to their page.
2. On our official website, there is a bright orange box that was placed right next to the reservations function since November 2017 that explains hotel updates including the fact that the restaurant has been closed due to the hurricanes.
Nonetheless we appreciate your feedback so that we can continue to make improvements. We wish you the best in your local travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2018 via mobile

Spent 3 nights here while on St Croix on some business. The hotel was badly damaged during the last hurricane and is in dire need of repair. The facilities are ok in terms of the view and location but my god the iguanas are giant size and all over the property.
There is no functioning restaurant on the premises and one has to take a boat to get to the mainland (3 ) minute ride. There are few choices for food once you get there.
The WiFi is inaccessible from the room I stayed in on the third floor facing the water. Nice view but could not work. Had to come down and sit on a chair infront of the main office.
The front desk staff was unfriendly and when asked to speak with the manager to file a complaint, I was told that I should be considerate as they were hit by the hurricane and still recovering.
Next time will use other options for the same cost or lower. Never again The Cay.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled on business
Thank 917devp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelOnTheCay, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel on the Cay, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2018

Hello 917devp,
Thank you for your review. We are sorry to read that you may choose another hotel the next time you visit our beautiful island. However I do believe it is important to make a few key points. In fact, the hotel was not badly damaged as you described. The hotel has been open since late November 2017 welcoming large numbers of guests each day, many of whom write spectacular reviews to support our amazing hotel. In addition, guests are made notice clearly in advance that our on-site restaurant has been temporarily closed due to damage sustained in both hurricanes. However there are many options available along the boardwalk area and the support of these small businesses are much appreciated. Finally Protestant Cay, which the hotel sits on, is a protected area and yes we have resident iguanas. These amazing creatures are a fixture in much of the Caribbean and add to the experience as you take in the sweeping views from our island.
We appreciate your time in this review and wish you all the best in your local travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018

The perfect place to relax on the beach with calm water and beautiful sunsets. We have been going to Hotel on the Cay for years and love it. It is not a luxury hotel but it is clean and the staff is wonderful. The hotel is on a small island in the harbor so you take a 2 minute ferry ride from main island to hotel. Since the hotel is the only property on the island, it feels like a private retreat. While you can get breakfast, lunch, and drinks during the day, they don't serve dinner. You have to go the mainland for a nice selection of local restaurants. Our hardest decision every day is where to eat. True paradise!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Diana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2018

I chose Hotel on the Cay based on reviews I read, and must say they did not dissapoint. Staff was super friendly, rooms were very clean, roomy, and the scenery from the island was very relaxing. They are still rehabbing from Maria and, with the exception of the restaurant not being open yet, you would never know they were hit by such a terrible act of nature. The hotel gives you a sense of living on your own Island, great beach, crystal clear waters, and a great beach bar. Shout out to the bar Staff Jupiter, Joelle, Mitch, and Hailey. They had some great recommendations for dining options and places to check out, and help make my stay that much more enjoyable. The ferry captains, (Joe, Randy, Tammy, Dennis) were also helpful, friendly, and prompt. I never waited more that just a couple of minutes to get either off or back onto the island. If you go say Hi to Levi the iguana but keep your distance he can be temperamental.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2018

helpful staff and boat captains. beautiful views and rooms. great beach to hangout and play on. snorkeling was fantastic. the pool was relaxing and beautiful at sunset. family friendly and very welcoming. Lots of iguanas, birds, hermit crabs and conch shells. Also seen a stingray.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tyler L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews