We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Amazing Family Vacation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Somerset on Grace Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Somerset on Grace Bay
Ranked #6 of 47 Hotels in Providenciales
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Mountain Home, Arkansas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing Family Vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

We visited TCI with our 10 and 7 year old daughters. Our expectations were surpassed at the Somerset! The condo was huge and comfortable with 1.5 bathrooms, washer and dryer and viking kitchen appliances. Great ocean view from the 2nd floor of the Sterling building.

Room Tip: Ocean View is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly1417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

571 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    422
    90
    36
    15
    8
See reviews for
241
200
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

We decided on Turks and Cacaos somewhat haphazardly as I had been reluctant to visit the Caribbean with family. The unfortunate characterization of bad service, high crime and a general "island" attitude gave us a pause. OUr experience was anything but.

Initially T&C is a British governed nation, as such it is well run. the locals do not view tourists with disdain, rather they were are extremely friendly, attentive and very hard working. It was like being in the US in many ways. Indeed it may lack the true Island culture of a Jamaica or Bahamas but we didn't need "culture" for a 5 day spring break. We had several musts; to include Bone Fishing, golf, warm weather and great water (snorkeling, Kayaking etc). We are also fond of smaller venues...far from the madding crowd.

The Somerset was extraordinary. It is quiet, beautiful and yet kid friendly. No there is not a DJ pounding the tunes at the pool all day, but if you like activities and are willing to use the concierge to arrange rather than using the hotel as your event center; you will love this.

The staff was first rate in every way, they get to know your family, what you like and are incredibly attentive. I have never met a harder working team. The on site restaurant is excellent, the pool bar and grill was a big hit. But it was is grand yet understated elegance that won us over. Plenty of towels, beach chairs, lounge chairs, almost like a private club.

We had a three bedroom room overlooking the water and it was well decorated with an enormous deck plus a kitchen. we grilled lobster on the deck one night, rode bikes to the grocery.

I highly recommend to the discerning couple or family who value elegance, service, proximity over the more highly orchestrated programs.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank gohorns034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stL
Level Contributor
127 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

I would highly suggest staying somewhere else if you are visiting Turks. We have been coming to the island for 12 years now, and we like to try different hotels each time we visit. This property is a beautiful, boutique (small) hotel, but the service and staff really ruin the experience.

We had booked a 2 bedroom (1 king, 2 double beds), 2.5 bath condo, and upon check in, we were shown to a 2 bedroom condo with 2 king beds and 2 bathrooms. The front desk made NO effort at all to find us a new condo that would meet our promised expectations.

The condo was very nicely decorated, and had all Viking appliances, and was very spacious with a nice deck - but there were definitely some BIG negatives. We had to have the large area rug removed from the master bedroom because it smelled so badly of urine (I think this was because it was a jute rug). Also, we had a roll-away brought in because we didn't have the double beds we were promised - and this was the most uncomfortable bed I have ever slept on in my life. Pool tables are softer than this thing.

The TVs were all very fuzzy, we tried to have this fixed several times, but it never got any better. The wiFi was a joke. I realize not everyone uses the internet when they are on vacation - but it is a huge necessity for my family (the business world doesn't stop just because you leave town!)

The house keeping staff was quite friendly, and they did an excellent job keeping the condo pristine.

The pool side restaurant had several great options on the menu - but plan on waiting at least 45 minutes (even when there are NO other guests dining). Drink service (pool side or beach) is also terrible. We waited for nearly an hour to have melted drinks delivered to us at the beach. If you want anything from the bar - I would highly suggest walking up to the bar yourself and grabbing them.

A "continental breakfast" was included in our stay. This includes a drink (juice/milk/coffee/tea) a small fruit plate, and a basket of pastries... this was a nice way to start the morning. The service here was much better than the pool side service. We ate dinner at this restaurant once during our stay, and the food was great, but the service was pretty slow.

I recommend dining off site as there are SO many great restaurants on the island.

In conclusion - I would stay somewhere else. The Caicos Club, Regent Palms, Seven Stars.... all a better option for the money!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank stLTravelLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilton, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

DO NOT STAY HERE as the terrible service (with attitude) ruined our vacation. I had requested early checking - got in our room at 3:45. Asked for a pool towel, employee with headphones on told me to go to the beach area to get one. Asked 3 times for change at the front desk, told 3 different excuses why they didn't have any. Ordered drinks from the pool bar - took 15 minutes to get them. The free breakfast requires you to go to the restaurant and be waited on, which can take up to 1 hour for a simple continental breakfast. Asked for coffee 2 times (15 minutes before the restaurant opened at 7:00 a.m.) and was denied. The topper - a cockroach in the silverware drawer on our last day! All this for a mere $2,000 per night. Note - the place was half-empty and at check-out I heard three other guest complain. Stay at The Regent Palm or The Grace Bay Club if you don't want to be frustrated on your vacation.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

We had stayed at The Somerset a year ago and what a difference a year makes! The resort has new management and it shows. The grounds look beautiful, the units are clean and in much better condition. The new manager was outside talking to guests, watching the staff and making sure everything was perfect. The staff was friendly, attentive and jumped to help when we needed anything. We ordered groceries to our villa before arrival and they delivered it to the refrigerator as we checked in - great feature!
The Somerset garden villas include all the features of a hotel resort, but each unit is like your own private home. We stayed in a garden villa because we wanted peace and quiet. The garden villas are a one minute walk to the beach and pool but because they are a minute walk away, they are more secluded and quiet.
The kitchens are large with all high end Viking appliances. The Kitchen Aid blender (and ice machine) was used multiple times a day for the kids virgin piña colada drinks! We ate at many of the surrounding restaurants - all walking distance from The Someset and also made a few meals in the villa. It was nice to have that option - especially with 4 kids. We had 4 teen girls with us - 2 of our own and 2 of their friends and they had a fabulous time. They learned how to use the paddle boards, took out the kayaks, used the snorkel and fins and went sailing with me on the Hobe sailboats. Being an avid sailor, the constant wind on Grace Bay is fantastic. All beach equipment use is free - unlike at other resorts. The girls went parasailing (outside vendor from the resort) and we all did a snorkle trip and tried snuba (great fun). We didn't rent a car but friends did and said that once they managed to remember to drive on the other side of the road, it was fine. They said they didn't use the car very much and we found that taking a taxi for the one or two times we needed one was sufficient. We rented bicycles and rode around. The island is pretty flat so a standard bicycle is sufficient.
The beach was as gorgeous as we had rembered and we spent many hours lounging by the pool. Even though we were there Presidents week and the resort was full, there were plenty of chairs and umbrellas and you didn't have to get up early to "reserve" one like at more crowded resorts.
It is a safe area and we had no problem letting the girls walk on the beach to other resorts and visit friends of theirs staying elsewhere. Two of the families came to visit and remarked how beautiful the Somerset was and how our villa was like a private home. Our villa was HUGE - 2700 sq feet with a porch and a balcony and was very tastefullly decorated and comfortable. iIt easily accommodated all of us very nicely.
Service was a bit slow at the pool bar and we were told it was owned by a third party and not the resort. We heard the resort is trying to get them to improve the service. They had a very nice Tuesday night Caribbean night bar-b-que on the beach. We ate dinner and had a few drinks and left the kids to hang out. They stayed late dancing at the bonfire to the DJ spinning tunes. They said it was a lot of fun. The kids had wished they had the bar-b-que a few more nights during the week as they are not into stuffy restaurants with 3 course meals.
We heard that the Somerset has added massage and spa services although we didn't use it during our stay. We saw young kids in their new kid club and the lady taking care of them was doing an amazing job.
The internet was spotty - but we were told a new antenna is being installed and they will soon have movies on demand. That will be a big hit with our teens!
The weather was about 80 degrees each day and we only had a 5 minute rain one afternoon.
With a 3 hour direct flight from NY, it makes this an easy destination.
We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Hobegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Providenciales hotels
1.5 km away
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
#4 of 47 in Providenciales
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,180 reviews
0.1 km away
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
#12 of 47 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
2.3 km away
Gansevoort Turks + Caicos
Gansevoort Turks + Caicos
#5 of 47 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
The Regent Grand
The Regent Grand
#10 of 47 in Providenciales
5.0 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
2.9 km away
The Tuscany
The Tuscany
#1 of 47 in Providenciales
5.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
1.6 km away
Windsong Resort
Windsong Resort
#7 of 47 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Somerset on Grace Bay? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Somerset on Grace Bay

Property: The Somerset on Grace Bay
Address: Princess Drive | Grace Bay, TKCA 1ZZ, Providenciales
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Providenciales
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#4 Spa Hotel in Providenciales
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
#6 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
Price range (per night): ₹ 41,585 - ₹ 1,75,642
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Somerset on Grace Bay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 4.6 Acres of the world-famous Turks and Caicos beach, The Somerset on Grace Bay is an intimate luxury resort where couples and families alike enjoy treasured times together. The five-star resort features 53 one- to five-bedroom luxury villas ranging from 1,400 to 5,300 sq. Ft. Each with ample living, dining and entertaining spaces and gourmet kitchens equipped with Viking appliances. Two restaurants and bars, two freshwater pools, fitness center, full service spa with in-suite spa services, a range of activities on land and sea, complimentary Caicos Kids Club, and concierge services complement your family vacation, group getaway or romantic interlude. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your The Somerset on Grace Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Somerset On Grace Bay Hotel Providenciales
Somerset On Grace Bay Providenciales
Somerset Grace Bay
Somerset On Grace Bay Hotel
The Somerset On Grace Bay Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing