We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Better than we expected!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sands at Grace Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sands at Grace Bay
Ranked #20 of 46 Hotels in Providenciales
Certificate of Excellence
Norfolk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Better than we expected!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

My husband, myself and our 10 year old daughter stayed in Room 3310 from Aug. 13 - 19. If you're interested in a FABULOUS Ocean view, this room and it's HUGE balcony were amazing!!! The entire condo was more than what we expected. We had 2 bathrooms (1 with washer/dryer), Large Master BR, beautiful kitchen with granite counter tops, breakfast bar, stainless steel appl, fully loaded with pots, pans, dishes etc., Large LR with a sleeper sofa for our daughter. There are 4 sets of sliding glass doors leading out to the very spacious screened in balcony. Whenever we were in the condo, we were on the balcony 95% of the time....
The resort itself is very well maintained, clean and easy to get around. The beach and ocean were spectacular!!!! This is our 5th island and all agree that the water itself was the prettiest we've ever seen! Every morning we started our day by staking out our Tiki Umbrella for the day.....there was always plenty and never ever felt we were "on top" of any other guests, quite frankly, the beach never had more than 20 people or so at any given time. The sunsets are gorgeous right there on the beach or from Hemingway's. Speaking of Hemingway's, we did not have one bad meal!!! I highly recommend the blackened salmon for dinner and the sweet chili steak salad for lunch. The wait staff is hit or miss....some (mostly the men) were very friendly and some -- not so much. We started to get used to it and realized it's the same wherever we went on the island. No biggie, certainly didn't put a damper on our trip, just thought I should mention it.
We would also recommend taking the short walk into town. About 15 mins., 20 mins to the grocery store. We had Pizza Pizza for dinner along with homemade ice cream from Island Scoop downstairs -- both were delicious!!!! Our best dinner (food, atmosphere, wait staff, etc.) was at Coco Bistro. Wish we went back for a second time!!! Make your reservation to coincide with the sunset, truly and amazing, magical experience!!! Just and FYI, the 4 nights we walked into town, we walked along the sidewalk on our way, then on the way back we entered one of the many "beach access" roads and walked back along the beach. Was really nice that way and if we got too hot, we cooled off in the ocean....
The snorkel excursion was fun -- I think the advertisement on the boat and literature in brochure mentions "glass bottom boat", it's not. Still was fun and worth the $$, just don't have your heart set on a glass bottom boat. We had freedom to snorkel for as long as we wanted in three separate spots along with diving for sand dollars. The guys that run the boat are entertaining and they keep the rum punch flowing!!! along with finishing your excursion with a fresh Conch salad. I admit, I chickened out from eating the raw Conch, but my hubby and all others seemed to really enjoy it.
All in All, if and when we go back, we would book the exact same room and probably buy more food from the local grocery store in town for breakfasts and lunches. Yes, the grocery store is expensive but compared to eating just about every meal out, it would have saved us some $$. No regrets! We didn't have a bad meal between us the entire trip, we would just consider packing a few lunches to take with us to the beach every day. Hope this helps if you were considering staying at the Sands!!! and Enjoy if you do!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jilly614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,679 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    853
    619
    123
    51
    33
See reviews for
487
758
30
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (479)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

If you haven't traveled to Turks and Cacois islands you must add it to your list of must see destinations. Words cannot begin to describe the beauty of the water, beach and sky. The water illuminates in the most beautiful shades of turquoise you will ever see. The sand is soft and pure white like talcum powder, sunsets breathtaking.
The staff at the Sands are both friendly and gracious and provide assistance with a smile, no attitudes here.
The island can be pricey, but you won't regret the experience.
I have fallen in love with Turks and Cacios and if you visit once you will be hooked line and sinker .
I am returning again in November and I cannot wait!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sealif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dade City, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

We had a anniversary celebration here 9/1 to 9/8/12. Was very pleased with the resort, very quiet, maintained wonderfully. Arrival and getting to the resort was no problem, quick ride and I think a price of $11 a person. Taxi easy to get no preplanning needed for transfers. I had emailed the resort earlier since it was anniversary to request a upgrade if possible since it was down time. When we arrived it had on reservation we were upgraded, not sure to what but it was a nice view. We had purchased the courtyard view I believe and were upgraded to "garden view"? We were room 5304 had view of hot tub pool and could see the ocean from room. We were set back aways and would of liked closer to front and a 1 bedroom but that never was offered. At this time of year they had several buildings they weren't using due to their down time and they were upgrading rooms so they weren't able to move us. Found this out at check out to that we couldn't do late check out since rooms were short and someone was coming into ours. Rooms for studio are small but nice. Kitchen very minimal, microwave, bar refrigrator and small sink with a few plates, cups bowls pitcher silverware wine glasses and opener. Made due and bought a cooler at store to store all the beer! Beds and pillow were very comfortable and we loved the front porch to sit and relax with coffee or wine. Pools were great, the lazy river was nice but the pool upfront kept you cooler with the breeze coming through, the others got hot with no wind blowing. Ocean was great, loved being able to walk every morning for so far, disappointed there weren't more bars along the way to stop at. You can't find better sand or color of water, it's beautiful!
The resort takes you to the grocery store if you want to go twice a day, think 9:30 am and 6:30pm for $9 per person. The prices at their little store are high but nice to have available. Prices at the big IGA are still pricey compared to USA, makes you thankful for sure. Eating out was trickey as with September being down time there's alot of restaurants shut down for the month repairing to. Was very disappointed in that and didn't even get to the Da Conch Shack. Hemmingway's was good food, we ate there a couple time, had a big lobster bbq on Friday.
All in all with what we spent and the time to get it I think next time I'd seriously look at a inclusive, Beaches was right down the beach and it looked busy. We had a friend / travel agent say the same thing. Nothing wrong with The Sands but think convenience and the fun of trying new things and not having to pay constantly is nice.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms up by Hemminways which is ocean front. We were 5304 and it was the next to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TXtravlerGrapevine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fitchburg MA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

Great stay in the Turks. The Sands at Grace Bay had the perfect beach. The location, staff, food was great. We walked to beachfront dining all week from the Sands. The Bay Bistro, Mango Reef, was excellent. Hemingways at the Sands is also a great choice. Pools were very good but sometimes there we not enough chairs.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Hills, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

Picked this resort off of "Cheap Caribbean" web-site. My fiance and I had both never been to the Caribbean so one never really knows if what you see on the web is what one is really getting. With that being said we returned last night from 7 nights at The Sands. We stayed in the junior ocean view suite. We were lucky, got one of the suites with a remodeled bathroom. They are in the process of doing all the bathrooms I was told. The room was well appointed, and comfortably decorated. Some other travelers have listed the furnishings as "old/outdated". I would have to disagree, and add that the whole hotel experience rated easily a strong 4 star rating. As other travelers have mentioned, meals are expensive on the island. We grabbed bikes from the front desk and did what everyone else recommended and went to the grocery store which was less then 10 min bike ride away...stocked up on water, breakfast/lunch supplies and saved a ton. We brought a collapsible cooler and brought drinks to the beach. Our favorite waiter was Korna....great waiter who truly loves his job! Housekeeping staff found a 50 dollar bill my fiance dropped and neatly tucked it under the lip of the nicely made bed:) MOST IMPORTANTLY* Bring mosquito repellant and use it, ESPECIALLY if you go to North/Middle Caicos. Got swarmed by mosquitoes while attempting to explore the "Indian Caves"...bit no joke 50 times! Other then being attacked by the mosquitoes, It was a great trip!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Theresa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Providenciales hotels
1.2 km away
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
#4 of 46 in Providenciales
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,175 reviews
0.5 km away
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
#12 of 46 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
1.6 km away
Villa del Mar
Villa del Mar
#15 of 46 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Beaches Turks and Caicos Resort Villages and Spa
1.9 km away
Windsong Resort
Windsong Resort
#8 of 46 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,440 reviews
0.8 km away
The Regent Grand
The Regent Grand
#5 of 46 in Providenciales
5.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands at Grace Bay? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands at Grace Bay

Property: Sands at Grace Bay
Address: Grace Bay | PO Box 681, Providenciales
Region: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#16 Spa Hotel in Providenciales
#17 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,157 - ₹ 49,279
Hotel Class:4 star — Sands at Grace Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect harmony on Grace Bay Beach, Providenciales Experience an earthly wonder of sand and sea at our 114-suite luxury resort on Providenciales, Turks & Caicos Islands, British West Indies. Family-friendly, yet ideally suited for romantic getaways and wedding celebrations, The Sands at Grace Bay offers a harmonious balance of home comforts and sublime Caribbean elegance - as well as a picture perfect location on the sparkling shores of Grace Bay Beach. If you are dreaming of a beach holiday in the Caribbean that gives you the flexibility of having your own fully-equipped suite while enticing you with fine dining, pristine grounds and sigh-inducing vistas, we look forward to welcoming you to The Sands at Grace Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Sands at Grace Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands At Grace Bay Hotel Providenciales
Sands At Grace Bay Providenciales
Sands Grace Bay
Sands At Grace Bay Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing