We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Beautiful resort and can't wait to go back” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sands at Grace Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sands at Grace Bay
Ranked #20 of 47 Hotels in Providenciales
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful resort and can't wait to go back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Just got back from spending ten fantastic weeks at The Sands Resort. We have chosen to stay at The Sands for the last few years. We've explored other condo options on Grace Bay, but The Sands will be our choice again next year. We just love the accommodations, service, casual atmosphere of this resort and its central location.

We choose to stay in an oceanview studio suite. Perfect for us to have breakfast and lunch in then we enjoy dinner out most evenings. Grocery shopping which is located in the main shopping center of GraceBay is just a 15-minute comfortable walk on the sidewalk. There are many restaurant options within this 15 minute walk. A couple of our favorites are Bella Luna and Upstairs Bar and Grill. Also just a 5-minute walk west on the beach to “Bay Bistro” and 10-minute walk to “Mango Reef.” We also love these two restaurants but there are many other within walking distance. Other nice dining options are in Turtle Cove when we would take a taxi which is approximately $12 one-way for two persons. We take a flashlight with us for our evening walks to restaurants. Never encountered any safety or security problems.

We have been most satisfied with the housekeeping service, management, concierge, and beach attendants. Each year staff is great and most accommodating. We are also very happy with the furniture, screened in balcony, kitchen accommodations, etc. Each suite has its own hot water tank so no problem there…

If any electrical or plumbing problems should arise, a call to the front desk and they will be attended to immediately. Have never had to use the a/c because we open the sliding doors to the screened balcony at night plus our front door has a transom which provides a through draft. Suites also have central fans. We appreciate the computers and printer available in the hospitality suite. Also in the hospitality suite is a fitness center, spa, large ice machine and TV. Wireless connection is good.

No matter which of the 6 buildings you choose, you can easily walk barefoot in a minute or two to the beach.

Beach front is expansive, spectacular and immaculate (raked daily early am). Free snorkel gear, kayaks, paddle boards, hobies, bikes, tennis courts for registered guests. Hot tub for adults in the pool area. The pool area is expansive and has umbrellas and comfortable loungers. We sit in that area sometimes when it gets windy! The rest of the time we are on the beach.

Weekly cocktail party around the pool for owners and registered guests is lots of fun--drinks, snacks and live music.

Onsite restaurant, Hemingways, is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Hemingway's
had great food and service, indoor and outdoor seating, and a spectacular view of the ocean and sunset. Again, casual and relaxing.

Snorkeling at Bight Reef is a 30-minute walk west on the beach. Fun to walk by all the other resorts including Beaches on the way.

Weather cooperated fully this year. We were there all of February and March. Swimming and snorkeling in the beautiful ocean, sitting/reading in the sun and walking the beach at sunrise every day!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank repeater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,685 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    857
    619
    125
    51
    33
See reviews for
490
761
30
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (483)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

My husband and I just returned from a 2wk stay at the Sands. From our seamless check-in (with our complimentary rum punch) to check-out we had a great vacation. Grace Bay is simply breathtaking. We took advantage of the complimentary snorkel gear daily. So amazing to find huge star red star fish, conch, sand dollars and a sting ray right off the beach in front of our chairs. The water is so calm, very little seaweed, and resort offers lots of fun water toys for all. We had no problem getting beach chairs and even umbrellas when we needed them. Beach towels always plentiful. Pools and grounds very well maintained, and on tues nights around the pool they have a managers night with complimentary snacks, beer and rum punch.
Having Hemingways as a close option for meals that you could charge to your room was great. It was so freeing not having to carry around cash or ccards all the time. The resort has a taxi for $9 to the local IGA daily 9am and 6:30pm where you can even get your alcohol. We booked an excursion right at the resort where the beach towel hut is. They were great and it was a decent price. They picked us up and dropped us off on the beach right in front of the resort.

We got a great deal on Jetsetter for a 1bdrm courtyard view room that includes kitchenette, mini fridge, microwave, and stand up shower. Our little condo was in average condition with average decor. It was nice - nothing horrible nothing special either but definitely no view of anything. Our room was very clean no bugs, plenty of towels, and the a/c worked great. Really this type of room is a connecting condo to a larger one separated by a locked door. In honesty we heard the family next door so clearly and all of their personal issues. With this said the two of us really didn't spend much time in the room during the day and at night we made our dinner reservations at a time that they seemed to need more privacy. When we came back they were all in bed so we would literally whisper and keep the tv volume low in hopes that they couldn't hear us. While at first this was odd we didn't let it impact our trip and after a few days we just didn't even think about it any more. This may be important to some that don't want to whisper or who make dinners in their room often and didn't want feel that they are on someone else's vacation...

Staff was amazing always hard working, smiling, and willing to help. In fact everyone on TCI was so friendly it made us feel safe and really welcome to share their island. Three restaurants that made our stay so special and are easy to get to were Coco Bistro, Coyaba, Lemon Cafe.

In general we noticed that this resort was mostly made up of families. We really lucked out because all of them were great and very respectful of other guests around them. If you are looking for more of a scene than this may not be the place for you. For us it was perfect for what we were looking for... a quiet and clean spot to enjoy paradise, read a book and have a little splash of adventure.

Room Tip: Be prepared that in general TCI is an expensive Island for food, grocery, and gas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank RhodeIslandBlinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
forums
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

I stayed at the Sands on April 6 to 14. The hotel is located on the most beautiful beach. the hotel ground is well keep and there is plenty of sitting on the beach, The staff is very friendly and they will help with all your need. The Sands is a much older condo than the other one in the area. The room , bathroom need updating. The furniture are very old and need to go. I don't think this condo had any updating for the last ten years. The restaurent Hemimgway serve good foor. They have a lot of othe good restaurents in the island. I love the island and I enjoy my time there. I plan to go back very soon, but I will stay someplace else. Tuscany, Seven Star, Alexandra. Rengent Palm. Grace Bay Club, The Verranda. Restaurants, Coco Bistro, Bella Luna, Opus, Mango Reef, Bay Bistro.The island also is very expensive..

Room Tip: Higher floor and corner room is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank josi65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
columbia, md
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

The Sands is a beautiful property that I would return to. It is on one of the best spots on the beach at Grace Bay. Plenty of chairs, umbrellas, activities, etc. The people are wonderful and it is like paradise there. So what went wrong? We arrived at 2:00pm, but couldn't get into our two bedroom condo until 4:30pm. We kept being told 20 more minutes, or 30 more minutes. Finally, after traveling all day, being hot and tired, we got in. Someone knocked on our door as soon as we got in. It was a maintenance man who said our refrigerator was reported not working and he was there to fix it. We were not comfortable leaving since we hadn't even upacked, so waited around. He didn't seem to really do anything but said it was okay. It was 6:00pm, and we were still starving. We thought we would go to Hemingways for dinner. However, we were told they couldn't seat us. The restaurant was half empty, but they said it was all reservations. Thankfully we had rented a car, so drove to the small grocery store. We loaded up on frozen pizzas, etc, and finally got back to the room around 7:00pm. In preparing our food we realized the microwave was not working. We called first thing the next morning, and someone came out and said the power was out. The next day we were gone the entire day, only to return and find the refrigerator hadn't been working all day. All of our food was ruined: milk, eggs, cheese, etc. We called again. Someone came out and looked at it and said he couldn't fix it. He left and returned about 10 minutes later with the manager, Miguel. Miguel told us we should use the refrigerator next door and gave us a key to the efficiency apartment next door. The refrigerator was no bigger than a dorm size one. We squeezed as much as we could in there. The next morning, three technicians showed up. They opened the refrigerator door and said "it's working now", and left. We didn't trust the refrigerator. My husband went to see Miguel and told him they didn't do anything. He told my husband that three technicians decided the refrigerator was fine and that we should use it. We didn't trust it so continued to use the small one next door until the next day. The next day when I went to get my food, I realized someone had checked in. I had their key, and my food was in their refrigerator. I was really frustrated but assumed they threw all our food out. We went to the store again, and came home to make lunch. The kids starting pulling bread out to make sandwiches, only to find ants crawling on everything. They were immediately on the bread, in the bread bags, in the chips...just everywhere. It was disgusting. I ran out and got a maid. She was very nice, but told us to remove all of our food and she sprayed insecticide all over the kitchen. We once again had to throw a lot of the food out. Broken refrigerator twice, broken microwave, and ants! We added a day onto our stay, but had to change condos to do so. The second condo we were in was perfect. Lesson learned. Don't be nice! We tried to be pleasant and nice, and were taken advantage of. Miguel never offered for us to change rooms. If it is not working out, demand a change!

Room Tip: First condo we had was in building 2 on the first floor! We loved this location. The pool and hot tu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank beachl0ver12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lidra B, Manager at Sands at Grace Bay, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Dear beachl0ver12,



Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at The Sands. We are delighted to know you would return and that you enjoyed our staff, the beach and its amenities.



We were sorry to learn that your room was not ready until 4:00pm. We try our best to have all the rooms ready at the same time however that is not always possible during heavy demand times.



Please accept our apology again for the refrigerator and the microwave. After it was reported we had outside contractor come in and take a look at the refrigerator to ensure that we were doing everything possible.



Miguel wanted so badly to ensure that you were comfortable that he did offer to repurchase your food items and that evening offered another room however both were declined. We understood that you did not want to move because you would have to pack, he gave you the keys to the room that connected to yours to ensure you had a refrigerator and upon departure Miguel spoke with you again to ensure your concerns were addressed.



We try our best to meet all of our guest’s needs and expectations and appreciate your feedback. We hope we have another opportunity to welcome you and your family back to Providenciales.





Kind regards

Lidra Barranco

Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montclair, New Jersey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

The Sands at Grace Bay - we stayed there almost 6 years ago, and it was nice (perfect location on the beach) so we returned. We stayed there this past February/March and the rooms and the service have gone down hill. The grounds are beautifully maintained, but the rooms are just out of date and not maintained. The staff and management were non responsive.

They could use a real gift shop - what they have offers only necessities and the operator is on her cell phone most of the time while you wait to purchase sunscreen or a magazine.

Room Tip: Only stay in a room with an ocean view and on the second or third floors (third floor is the highest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Providenciales hotels
1.2 km away
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
#4 of 47 in Providenciales
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,179 reviews
0.5 km away
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
#12 of 47 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
1.6 km away
Villa del Mar
Villa del Mar
#14 of 47 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Beaches Turks and Caicos Resort Villages and Spa
1.9 km away
Windsong Resort
Windsong Resort
#7 of 47 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,443 reviews
0.8 km away
The Regent Grand
The Regent Grand
#10 of 47 in Providenciales
5.0 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands at Grace Bay? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands at Grace Bay

Property: Sands at Grace Bay
Address: Grace Bay | PO Box 681, TKCA 1ZZ, Providenciales
Region: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#16 Spa Hotel in Providenciales
#17 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,010 - ₹ 48,325
Hotel Class:4 star — Sands at Grace Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect harmony on Grace Bay Beach, Providenciales Experience an earthly wonder of sand and sea at our 114-suite luxury resort on Providenciales, Turks & Caicos Islands, British West Indies. Family-friendly, yet ideally suited for romantic getaways and wedding celebrations, The Sands at Grace Bay offers a harmonious balance of home comforts and sublime Caribbean elegance - as well as a picture perfect location on the sparkling shores of Grace Bay Beach. If you are dreaming of a beach holiday in the Caribbean that gives you the flexibility of having your own fully-equipped suite while enticing you with fine dining, pristine grounds and sigh-inducing vistas, we look forward to welcoming you to The Sands at Grace Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Sands at Grace Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands At Grace Bay Hotel Providenciales
Sands At Grace Bay Providenciales
Sands Grace Bay
Sands At Grace Bay Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing