We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location; Needs to be updated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Sands at Grace Bay
Ranked #20 of 44 Hotels in Providenciales
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 April 2012

The Sands at Grace Bay - we stayed there almost 6 years ago, and it was nice (perfect location on the beach) so we returned. We stayed there this past February/March and the rooms and the service have gone down hill. The grounds are beautifully maintained, but the rooms are just out of date and not maintained. The staff and management were non responsive.

They could use a real gift shop - what they have offers only necessities and the operator is on her cell phone most of the time while you wait to purchase sunscreen or a magazine.

Room Tip: Only stay in a room with an ocean view and on the second or third floors (third floor is the highest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,892)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,211 - 1,215 of 1,895 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2012

I read a lot of reviews before going to Turks and it's true. The Sands is NOT a 4 star hotel but..there is no reason not to go. It is very comfortable and clean and well cared for. My room was not in one of the front buildings but it isn't far to the beach from anywhere. The beach is beautiful and not very crowded. Much better than Beaches Resort where you can barely move between chairs.

.Hemingway's was good and very nice at night.There are many good restaurants close. Bella Luna and Parallel 23 were our favorites. The only disappointment for me was the pools. There are 3 if you count a 12ft diameter kids pool and a second one smaller than a backyard pool. So there is one large one that isn't really large. The winding river is nice but really just for kids, being 2ft deep and up to 2ft 6 in at most. The beach makes up for it.

The best part are the people. Everyone was genuinely kind and helpful un like The Dominican Republic where they are actually mean and not helpful at all.

I would definitely recommend going. The island is beautiful.

If you like to snorkel check out the Sun charters for the best trip. The owner is very knowledgeable and doesn't herd you around with a million people. You can go to private quiet places with tons of wildlife. It was amazing. The ship is called Atabeyra. The best trip out of 4 other islands, personal service, don't miss it! call 231-0624

Room Tip: buildings 3 and 4 are the best but I requested that and didn't get it. Worth a try.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank swimmer96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

My wife and I just spent a beautiful 11 nights at the Sands. It is absolutely gorgeous. Especially nice, and as far as we could determine somewhat unique, the pool has many private & quiet areas. Unlike other resorts that we visited while there, the pool is not a large central location with chairs surrounding, but rather a quiet wandering pool, with hidden areas to relax. If you have never been to TCI, you are going to be amazed at the clarity of the water and how soft, powdery and white sand is. With the free snorkel and fins from the resort, we were able to explore many snorkeling areas around the island, and were not disappointed. The Staff at the Sands, bar none, was polite and helpful. Be sure to explore restaurants down the beach both left and right of the resort. Every night we had a torch-lit dinner next to the ocean in various locations. I have been to many places in the Caribbean, and would rank TCI a very good choice. My only criticism is that things are extremely expensive, which you do have to expect when traveling to an island. (gas was $6.76/gal while we were there, cash only). There are two large IGA's for groceries & once you get over sticker-shock, it really was very nice to have an American style grocery store available. We would recommend this location. And if you're interested in buying, contact Sotherby's- their signs were on about two out of every three houses we passed. Thank you to the Staff at the Sands, you've made our trip extremely enjoyable.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jesse P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

My husband and I visited the Sands for the first time for my 50th birthday (4/9-4/14/12) and brought along my daughter and her friend, both 17. The longer the we were at the Sands, the more we liked it. All of us agreed it was one our best beach vacations ever. The beach and location were spectacular. Most of the hotels clean the beaches each morning, but the Sands seemingly rakes the entire beach front every day.

Our 2 bedroom unit was perfect for the 4 of us and very spacious. We spent a lot of time on the porch, rode bikes to the local grocery store and shops, and relaxed on the beach. The staff are terrific and very helpful and even showed us some other 2 bedroom units in other buildings for a possible future trip. We also made full use of all the free watersports available on the beach (hobie cats (they will sail it for you or you can do it yourself) kayaks, paddle boards, and windsurfers). There are plenty of permanent grass umbrellas available, but if those are all occupied, the beach staff will bring out lounge chairs and put in umbrellas for you as well.

We were in building 1, unit 1103, which was ocean view and ground floor. I would recommend an ocean view a little closer to the ocean and on the second floor or higher. However, the gardens and pool are beautiful, so wherever you are will be lovely.

We brought workout gear, but never made it to the small fitness facility below ground - not the best, but since the beach was always beckoning, our workouts consisted of long walks on the beach. Walking by Beaches (very hectic and crowded) and some of the other resorts, made us appreciate the vibe at the Sands even more which was friendly and relaxed with plenty going on if you wanted it. It was just the right amount of people around for us.

Hemingway's is a nice option on site and there are numerous restaurants within walking distances on the beach, many offering live music for dinner. Our favorite was Bay Bistro which was literally a 6 min walk from the Sands on the beach.

At check out, we learned that repeat guests get a discount on future trips. Based on our experience, we will definitely be back to the Sands!

Stayed: April 2012
2  Thank Expandyourhorizons2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

This was our second trip to Provo and our first stay at the Sands. Previously, we stayed in a rental across the road from the beach. We decided for our next trip back to the island, we wanted to be in a beachfront resort with a pool and a restaurant onsite. We found a nice deal on Jetsetter and had an amazing stay at the Sands.

We stayed in a 1-br garden view. Clean, tidy, and functional. Just a random whistling noise that would occur frequently, not coming from the A/C, and we couldn't figure out where it was coming from. The porch faced the ocean, which was great! But if you are a light sleeper, you may want to ask for a bedroom that is not off the pool/main grounds.

Pools were great! Nice option when the beach was rough. Beachfront was perfection, as is all of Grace Bay. What sets the Sands apart are their huts, their friendly staff setting up chairs and umbrellas when all the huts are taken, and the lovely Hemingway's waitresses serving lunch and drinks on the beach.

Easy walking distance to the Saltmills and local restaurants. Daily taxi service to the grocery store came in handy, as well as easy access to taxis in general if you want to go explore beyond your walking leisure. Friendly and accommodating staff, all around. We did not encounter one unfriendly Sands staff member.

All in all, I would definitely stay there again. Book it.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank fun-happy-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lidra B, Manager at The Sands at Grace Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2012

Dear fun-happy-traveller,

We are glad that you decided to give us a chance and delighted that you had such a great experience. We believe the noise you heard in the room may have been from the wind. With the screened in porch and being near the beach you may hear the wind whistling.
We will share you compliments with our team members, and know it will put a smile on their face and it also show hard work pays off. Thank you kindly for your review and we hope to see you in the near future.


Regards,
Lidra Barranco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Providenciales hotels
1.2 km away
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
#2 of 44 in Providenciales
2,521 reviews
0.5 km away
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
#10 of 44 in Providenciales
490 reviews
1.6 km away
Villa del Mar
Villa del Mar
#21 of 44 in Providenciales
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Royal West Indies Resort
Royal West Indies Resort
#17 of 44 in Providenciales
1,992 reviews
1.9 km away
Windsong Resort
Windsong Resort
#8 of 44 in Providenciales
1,575 reviews
2.5 km away
Ocean Club Resort
Ocean Club Resort
#23 of 44 in Providenciales
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sands at Grace Bay? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sands at Grace Bay

Address: Grace Bay | PO Box 681, TKCA 1ZZ, Providenciales
Region: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#15 Spa Hotel in Providenciales
#18 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range: ₹ 15,632 - ₹ 40,578 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sands at Grace Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect harmony on Grace Bay Beach, Providenciales Experience an earthly wonder of sand and sea at our 114-suite luxury resort on Providenciales, Turks & Caicos Islands, British West Indies. Family-friendly, yet ideally suited for romantic getaways and wedding celebrations, The Sands at Grace Bay offers a harmonious balance of home comforts and sublime Caribbean elegance - as well as a picture perfect location on the sparkling shores of Grace Bay Beach. If you are dreaming of a beach holiday in the Caribbean that gives you the flexibility of having your own fully-equipped suite while enticing you with fine dining, pristine grounds and sigh-inducing vistas, we look forward to welcoming you to The Sands at Grace Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Sands at Grace Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands At Grace Bay Hotel Providenciales
Sands At Grace Bay Providenciales
Sands Grace Bay
The Sands At Grace Bay Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing