We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect spot on Grace Bay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coral Gardens on Grace Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Coral Gardens on Grace Bay
Certificate of Excellence
minnesota
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Perfect spot on Grace Bay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

We stayed at Coral Gardens in Feb. I started the research last fall. We have been staying at VRBO properties for the last 4 years. I inquired about a VRBO property in T & C and was in touch with Nancy. She helps with managing the rental for this property. We decided to rent a 1 bedroom. We were upgraded to a 1 bedroom ocean front suite due to some changed. Nancy was great to work with. Rochell the property manager was wonderful. She helped us navigate the island. We stayed in Condo #1112. It was on the main level so the view wasn't the best but you could still see the ocean. Others have said they didn't need a car. I disagree. You are quite a ways from things. We did walk to IGA and then decided to get a car. It was a long hot walk. We were also able to see more of the island. The bight reef was right out in front of Coral Gardens which was great to snorkel every day. We ate at a few places and also brought food from home to keep the costs down. The room was clean and well furnished. I did wish our suite had a few more cooking utensils. There were plenty of glasses, plates and silverware. We had no problems bringing in food. IGA food prices were high but some were reasonable for an island. We enjoyed staying here and would do it again.

Room Tip: Bring groceries from home.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank penny50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

464 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    148
    39
    19
    11
See reviews for
120
187
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

Do not choose the garden room - way too small for two adults! We upgraded to the one bedroom ocean front suite - well worth it! The wall of windows open right up to make it an open air condo if you wish! Unobstructed view of the ocean! Private veranda!

Within walking distance to restaurants - 15-20 minutes each way on the beach. We liked Mango Restaurant - good food, dining ocean front, and good value.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sjiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
96 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

Coral Gardens Resort is located steps (literally) from a wonderful protected area that you and your family can easily enjoy lazy days exploring via snorkel. The condominium style resort is perfect for a small or large family vacation. And, is about a 20 minute easy walk from the IGA (note - cab it back if you have lots of groceries!).

We stayed in the White House which is most interesting in its architecture. Steps away from both the pool and the beach. Also spent a few days in a fourth floor ocean view one bedroom. Both had good housekeeping and modern amenities.

For those who don't want to cook, the Somewhere Cafe restaurant is located on-site and we highly recommend the fish tacos and the burgers! The music is fantastic as well.

Located on Grace Bay, you have miles of icing sugar sand, with not a sea urchin in site. The beach's surf was relatively calm, even with a nor-easter. As a result, it is very swimming-friendly as well with little undertow.

We rented a car for a single day of a week-long trip. Were able to visit Long Bay, Malcolm Beach, da Conch Shack, Silly Bay, and Chalk Island. Each are what postcard photos are made from, and each are an adventure in their own right! However, if you want to wander from Grace Bay, you might consider a bicycle rental because distances are not far. We would also recommend for groceries, the Grocery Gourmet located near the Regent. Wonderful produce selection and prices are very similar to the IGA.

Speaking of groceries, we declared food products at customs on our way into Providenciales without incident. As a result, we saved by bringing in frozen meats, perogies, and cereal products. Sounds funny, but you may not be laughing when you see the prices overall for groceries on an island where virtually everything must be brought in!

Another restaurant to try as a family is the Tiki Hut. Friendly service, a resident heron, and excellent ribs.

As a family-friendly vacation, this was high on our list as the kids can spend hours just making sandcastles. Very cool to see the manta rays swimming nearshore at night. By day, you will likely see turtles, parrot fish, and barracuda.

A big thank you to Leeanne, Matthew, and Jerome. Each made the booking and the stay welcoming and easy. Matthew can easily advise you on diving and all things "water" - a great conversation is to be had!

Definitely a good way to introduce yourself to Provo.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Water F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

We stayed in a 1 bedroom/1.5 bath condo at Coral Gardens #4302 from 12/27/11 to 1/3/12 and we were very pleased with our choice. We booked through VRBO (#334836) and working with Jill, the owner, was a pleasure. We had never used VRBO before but will certainly do so again.

Certainly, Turks and Caicos is not a cheap place to visit and by choosing to go during the most expensive week of the year, we definitely paid more than we wanted to. However, we left feeling very happy and satisfied with our condo, with the Coral Gardens staff and with Grace Bay/Provo! Coral Gardens is not a luxury property but Jill's condo was very well appointed. The kitchen had everything you need on vacation including a dishwasher, blender, coffee maker and a very nice stainless steel fridge. There were also plenty of plates, silverware and utensils, plastic containers and pots and pans. It's a small thing, but we appreciated that there was even some coffee, sugar, sweeteners and salt and pepper in the cabinet.

Both the living room and bedroom had flat screen TVs, both bathrooms were updated and and in general, the condo was kept up very nicely. We'd suggest a new couch as the owner's next investment but the current one was certainly acceptable. The terrace, where we ate our breakfasts and lunches had a great sea view straight on and when you looked to the right. The only negative was that the eyesore abandoned Toscana building was next door to the left.

The Coral Gardens property is clean and well kept, though the two small pools feel a little outdated. No matter, as we were there for the beach! The beach in front of Coral Gardens is short, and as it was the holiday week, it was a little crowded – but Jerome, the fantastic beach attendant, made sure we got loungers under a palapa every day. The snorkeling is fantastic right in front of the hotel and at times, there were so many fish surrounding us that we felt like we were swimming in an aquarium! Frankly, we like people around when we are swimming/snorkeling, as we are not the best swimmers and also, swimming in a deserted beach, freaks us out a bit. (I think we saw Jaws too many times when we were kids.)

Finally, we were pretty self sufficient, but whenever we had a question, the Coral Gardens office staff, especially Rochelle, was very helpful.We really needed a relaxing vacation, so we decided to just enjoy the beach and not rent a car and explore the island(s) this trip. In anticipation of this, we did bring down some non perishable food (cereal, granola bars, tuna, mayo, mustard, crackers and cookies) and bought a bottle of gin at the kennedy airport duty free for $23, so we could have our afternoon G & T's on the deck. We saw the same bottle in the Provo IGA for $39.99. We ate all our breakfasts and lunches on the terrace but went out to some very nice dinners via taxi. (Dr. Love was our driver and he was fantastic!). We had great meals at Mango Reef (order the scallop app. and the french style lobster!), Hemmingways (Conch Chowder is the best), Da Conch Shack (lots of great conch dishes and you can't beat the location!). Also, Somewhere, located right at Coral Gardens was a great, little beach bar/restaurant.

Next trip, we’ll do some exploring!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Reggie66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

Just got back from a holiday trip to Turks and Caicos - stayed at coral gardens #4202. I must say I was REALLY disappointed.  
The decor was probably gorgeous ten years ago, but not today. The furniture is worn and dated, the walls are filthy and in desperate need of paint, and the bedroom linens are worn. The worst is the kitchen.  There are exactly 4 dinner plates, 3 mismatched forks and 2 mismatched spoons. No wine opener, but thankfully my husband and I are seasoned travelers and brought our own. Now -  all of this would not be a problem if I were staying in a discounted location. However at over $600 a night - I expected A LOT more. 
Also, there is NO beach there. It's a very thin strip of sand that only allows for a maximum of  two rows of chairs with folks on the front row frequently getting saturated by the waves.  AND - since they dont have enough chairs to accommodate all of the guests - you have to get up very early to secure a chair. If not - you are SOOL.  
I do want to point out some positives.  The beach staff are great.  The location is great.  Having Somebody's Cafe with the live music on site is great. And most importantly- the snorkeling is AWESOME.  Within a few meters of the beach is the reef with an amazing variety of fish. It truly is awesome and almost made up for the crappy and very expensive accommodations.  
Last thing - and sorry to end on a negative - but while Turks & Caicos is very pretty- it is unbelievably expensive. We are talking $78 for a case of Bud light, $19 for a 6 pack of corona, and $43 for a case of local beer. $6 for a gallon of milk,$9 for a box of cereal ...  Take what you would normally pay for something and times it by 4 or 5.   And this is at the main IGA grocery. If you come - spend the money on an additional piece of luggage and pack it full of food. You cannot each lunch here for under $70 - even at local places.  Speaking of which - conch salad at da conch shack is the best.  And perfect location right on the beach. Skip the ribs at the tiki hut - they're no different then what you'd find in the states. 

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank GeorgiaMurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Providenciales hotels
3.2 km away
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
#5 of 45 in Providenciales
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,288 reviews
1.6 km away
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
#12 of 45 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
0.6 km away
Gansevoort Turks + Caicos
Gansevoort Turks + Caicos
#6 of 45 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Beach House Turks & Caicos
Beach House Turks & Caicos
#3 of 45 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
0.1 km away
Windsong Resort
Windsong Resort
#9 of 45 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,484 reviews
1.4 km away
Alexandra Resort
Alexandra Resort
#16 of 45 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Gardens on Grace Bay? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Gardens on Grace Bay

Property: Coral Gardens on Grace Bay
Address: Penn's Rd | Grace Bay, TKCA 1ZZ, Providenciales
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Providenciales
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,953 - ₹ 47,426
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coral Gardens on Grace Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coral Gardens Resort is located directly on Grace Bay Beach and miles of white sand and turquoise ocean. We are directly in front of the best snorkeling reef on the island "Alexandra Marine Park". We are a deluxe Boutique Resort consisting of three unique buildings built along the beach with lush gardens and two swimming pools. The resort is directly on Grace Bay Beach, which was voted as one of the world's Top 10 beaches by Conde Nast Magazine. We have spacious and fully equipped one, two or three bedroom condo suites, as well as Garden Rooms are tastefully decorated with Italian tile flooring and muted tropical colors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Coral Gardens on Grace Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Gardens Hotel Providenciales
Coral Gardens On Grace Bay Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing