We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 229
Courtyard
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 226
US$ 199
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hyatt Regency Trinidad(Port of Spain)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 230
US$ 209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 244/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Sundeck Suites(Port of Spain)
US$ 104
US$ 97
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Kapok Hotel(Port of Spain)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$ 160
US$ 151
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 129
US$ 100
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Culture Crossroads Inn(Port of Spain)
Free cancellation until 22/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 104
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Abriannas Inn(Port of Spain)
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$ 139
Travelocity
View Deal
Ambassador Hotel(Port of Spain)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (56)
Filter reviews
56 results
Traveller rating
15
14
10
8
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
15
14
10
8
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooms are spaciousswimming poolother hotelsplace to staysupermarketcereal
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 56 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2015

I have stayed here before and have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.
The rooms are clean and nicely decorated, and have the iron bedsteads that are locally made to bring visitors the island atmosphere.
The location is just down the hill from the Hilton in Port of Spain.
I was there in February 2015 for the carnival period where there was a party with live soca artistes performing in the pool area. I can honestly say it was a great party with great music and drinks available from the bar.
The hotel is U shaped around the fountain, and the courtyard area is the car
park. The rooms are well equipped with iron and ironing boards and comfortable beds. I have met local footballers and government ministers from Trinidad and Tobago who were there.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank samfromham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

The location to Chancellor is fantastic to overall access to Port of Spain. Plus you can walk to the Botantical Gardens for a relaxing stroll. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Rooms were well equipped and clean. We will definitely stay here again. I loved the quaint courtyard.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank llcotton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flipsideofacoin, General Manager at The Chancellor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2014

Hi
Did you know that the hotel has thirteen varieties of palm trees in that average. The seedlings of three Royal palms imported from India for the Botanical Gardens were precariously placed around the property which the builders had to modify the architecture to accommodate.stages. Just thought i would share this information with you. We are currently replanting with buttercup flowers around the poolside which should make the space even cozier. Hope to see you the next time you visit.
Regards
Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
14
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

This is is our second time at The Chancellor Hotel...Both times we have had wonderful experiences...rooms clean and well equipped...friendly helpful staff...parking always available. ..superb location...very peaceful. Highly recommended.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

I am a journalist for various travel magazines and would never ever recommend this hotel. The rooms were smelly, food was horrible and the service unethical. They are thief's and charged me for extra room nights and never reimbursed me. Do not stay here, EVER

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank viajera54321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flipsideofacoin, General Manager at The Chancellor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Our hotel policy is quite clear which you have disregarded. All documentation has been submitted to your bank which have been approved. Your writing is malicious and deceitful which i have asked trip adviser to review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

We stay for 4 nights during the Carnival festivial in this wonderfully located hotel.
The staff were friendly and we had easy access to the Carnival festivities
We had a lovely bedrooms.
Our room was always clean.

Room Tip: "Higher floors have less A/C unit noise"
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sh_ayala_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flipsideofacoin, General Manager at The Chancellor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Hi
How have you been . We missed you this Carnival 2014 ! Thank you for staying with us and be safe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews