We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location”
Review of The Little Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Little Inn
Ranked #22 of 44 Port of Spain B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 October 2012

The University of Guyana students stayed at The Little Inn in September from 19th-24th....it was the best location Picton Street everything you need around the block. The accommodation was great and comfortable rooms. I would recommend any group to stay here. Thanks Lizst

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Madonna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (17)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 17 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights in September 2012. It's in a great location - safe area, central and very handy for the Savannah. The owners are very friendly and welcoming and even got up before 5:AM to see us off and make sure we got away ok.

We were en route to a backpacking trip round South America and couldn't find a great choice of budget accommodation in Port-of-Spain, so we were pleased that we picked The Little Inn. We stayed in the Pink Room, which was comfortable with good air con and wifi.

The only thing to remember is that it's not well signposted from the outside - no name or number - which made it a little hard to find when we first arrived.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Choccy90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

We were booked into another guest house in POS for Carnival 2011, that did not quite work out due to some customer service issues. We called every hotel and guest house within the downtown, Woodbrook, Newtown, St James, and POS areas, and of course they were all booked. We were well on our way to being homeless for carnival, or having to go down south to stay with relatives, which would have put us too far away from the carnival action in POS.

I had a friend who was staying at a guest house in Newtown who knew my dilemma. She asked the groundkeeper at her guesthouse if he knew of any guesthouses or anyone who would be willing to rent a room for carnival. He directed her to a house across the street from her guesthouse. She had found, The Little Inn.

The owner of the house had one space left which she let us see. In my desperation, the place looked just fine to me! LOL. Since she was not expecting any guest for that space, the place was not prepared. I told her it was ok, just as long as we had a bed and a shower, to which her answer was,

"No my dear... we have standards. You all WILL be comfortable".

And she wasn't kidding! She allowed us to leave our luggage there in the apartment, and told us she would call her workers, and for us to return at 7pm that evening.

We occupied ourselves by walking around Woodbrooke, POS, the Savannah, and visiting with friends. After having dinner at a nearby restaurant, we returned back to the Little Inn and boy oh boy. We were met with brand new fresh curtains at the windows. Crisp, clean, smooth, cool sheets. The apartment, complete with AC, fridge, stove, and wireless internet, was sparking clean. Mind you, this place is no big name fancy hotel, but it felt like we had returned to an aunt's nice clean home. After the stressful day we had experience, we had the best night's sleep in The Little Inn.

The Little Inn is in a perfect location. You can walk to Woodbrooke, the Savannah, Downtown, and St James, and the Oval all in a matter of minutes. There are pan yards, restaurants, shops, a pharmacy, and Ariapita Avenue action only minutes away, walking. The mas camp for my band was right around corner. When I came off the stage on carnival Tuesday, the Little Inn was just right there, minutes away. I stopped in to take a little breather, before heading back out on the road. Honestly, it just gets no better than this location wise.

The owners (a mother and son duo) are lovely and gracious people (and carnival lovers), and I will never forget their kindness. It goes without saying where I am booked for carnival 2012!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TriniTravelingGyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2011

L ove the little inn , have been staying here for twenty years , Love the owner she's like part of my family. When you stay here you will always feel safe. place is clean , well taken care of and easy access to carnival venue.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peetgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2011

We stayed at The Little Inn during the carnival season. It is located so close to the main venue of the carnival that we can walk to/from the venue at night. Some of the steel pan bands have their pan yards 5 minuets walk from the guesthouse. It was a great advantage for me, pan sound lover. The owner and the staff are very kind and hospitable to us. We felt like at home away from home. They have a security staff at gate and there is a lockable shelf in the room.
I believe that it is a great place to stay especially for the carnival season.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PINOKOtn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port of Spain hotels
1.7 km away
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
#2 of 21 in Port of Spain
2,305 reviews
1.2 km away
Hilton Trinidad & Conference Centre
1.5 km away
L'Orchidee Boutique Hotel
L'Orchidee Boutique Hotel
#1 of 1 in St. Ann's
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Courtyard by Marriott Port of Spain
1.6 km away
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
#5 of 21 in Port of Spain
690 reviews
0.8 km away
Melbourne Inn
Melbourne Inn
#25 of 44 in Port of Spain
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Little Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Little Inn

Address: Picton Street, New Town 41, Port of Spain, Trinidad
Region: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Trinidad > Port of Spain
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Port of Spain
Price Range: ₹ 3,562 - ₹ 4,534 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Little Inn is ideally located in the city of Port of Spain near the Queens Park Savannah. local amenities such as historical sites, the national museum, the national cultural centre, carnival (festival with costumes and music usually in months of February and March), pan yards, sporting facilities (cricket, football, tennis, cycling, swimming), banks, supermarkets, various culinary restaurants, exercising and jogging areas, top local night clubs, pharmacies, many International embassies and a general shopping area are all in walking distance of the Inn. The Little Inn offers a quality accommodation with a cozy home like feel to our visitors at the most competitive prices. We have 14 rooms, all private en-suite with A/C, cable TV, internet, hot water bath, daily cleaning and some of the rooms comes with a small kitchenette for those individuals who want to do they own cooking. There are also two central dining areas for groups. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Little Inn Trinidad/Port Of Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing