We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid Location. An upgrade is needed!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alicia's Guest House
Ranked #24 of 44 Port of Spain B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 March 2017

We had a party of approximately 10 people stayed at this guest house for the carnival season in Trinbago from February 28 thru March 1, 2017. The location of the guest house in St. Anns is perfect because of it's strategic location to all the carnival activities taking place in Port-of-Spain and it's environs. We were within walking distance from the Queens Park savannah and there's plenty of events around that area. Now having extensively traveled the Caribbean islands during the past 8 years between myself and my spouse, we have come to expect certain services. This was not the case with this guest house. It's not a hotel but an upgrade in their facilities would be very much appreciated. First and foremost, the beds were not comfy at all and back pains was the order of the day each and every morning. So there should be particular attention paid to that. The breakfast was pretty good because of the local flavor which was very much appreciated by us. The grounds could use some TLC in particular, the jacuzzi and pool. The rooms was cleaned each and every morning by Jennifer (Supervisor of House Keeping) and her staff which is appreciated by us. She made sure we had clean linens each and every day. Also, Ashieka (Mgr.) made sure we were always taken care of and great care was taken by her to make sure we were all comfy and happy, very much appreciated. The ladies in the kitchen (Kizzy and her staff) was extremely nice to us and made sure we were well fed. Overall, the guest house is in a nice location and the staff is very attentive but they need to upgrade here and there and also their wifi was not particular good but that was the story throughout Trinbago. We will definately be back to Alicia's Guest House and wouldn't mind paying a little more for those upgrades mentioned above. Again, thanks to the staff which went the extra mile.

Room Tip: Pool side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Anderson J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2016

My wife and I stayed here for one day as our wedding anniversary. We were greeted by a solemn front desk worker who wasn't welcoming at all. The room was nice and clean and also the pool,I called front desk a little later in the evening and ask about somewhere close by to get something to eat and the csr's response was very rude as if I should not have asked that. It seemed to me that it was just a job and they were there for a salary. I had preferred to stay at the palace but there was a function there,and the front desk staff was very nice and accommodating. My overall brief stay was goo and breakfast was great and also the servers were nice and friendly but I do hope the customer service training be done staff staff at the front desk as first impressions do last.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Junior R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2016

Friendly staff but conflicting info given by then. Rooms are tacky and not very clean. I even had a huge cockroach in mine. I can go on and on about the discomforts I faced... luckily I didn't spend my money to stay there

Stayed: August 2016, travelled on business
3  Thank fampie a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
17
Reviewed 17 March 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for carnival 2016 and it was horrible, the place is nasty and dirty. The front desk customer service was ridiculous, the manager was rude. One word to describe the place is mold and dirt. Too much money for those types of conditions. I'll spend extra to stay somewhere else next time

Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2016 via mobile

From the point you walk in your greeted by the wonderful receptionist with a smile.

Since I wanna gonna be in Trinidad long that I got one of the small rooms that was on point with a very powerful hot/cold shower,AC, dish TV.

The view from the balcony was beautiful in the morning, one can see the mountains and the parks, the breakfast was great made it feel like home.

Stayed: April 2015, travelled solo
Thank Keione G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port of Spain hotels
1 km away
Alicia's Palace
Alicia's Palace
#14 of 21 in Port of Spain
71 reviews
3.6 km away
Sundeck Suites
Sundeck Suites
#11 of 21 in Port of Spain
25 reviews
0.2 km away
Hilton Trinidad & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
#5 of 21 in Port of Spain
690 reviews
0.3 km away
The Normandie Hotel & Conference Centre
0.5 km away
The Chancellor Hotel
The Chancellor Hotel
#8 of 21 in Port of Spain
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alicia's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alicia's Guest House

Address: Coblentz Gardens 7, Port of Spain, Trinidad
Region: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Trinidad > Port of Spain
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Port of Spain
Price Range: ₹ 1,619 - ₹ 3,886 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alicia's Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Alicia`s Guest House Hotel Port Of Spain
Alicia's Guest House Trinidad/Port Of Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing