We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modern, serene and well-located”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Carlton Savannah
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Port of Spain
barbados
Level Contributor
84 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Modern, serene and well-located”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

The Carlton Savannah does not stun from the outside but once you enter it is a different matter entirely. The decor is soothing, the rooms spacious and the views from the fifth floor and up are uplifting. The staff is warm, helpful and courteous.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front to have more of a panoramic view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shanoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    93
    49
    32
    37
See reviews for
34
85
42
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

I was extremely happy with my room and the customer service! Everyone who served me was extremely helpful, and friendly. The pool was gorgeous, and so was the room! The only complaint I had was that the wifi was awful. I found that the internet cord was a pain as well. Otherwise - a great hotel!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank B H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012 via mobile

My first stay at this hotel was very satisfying. Based on my criteria as a business traveler, the C. Savannah provided a clean, secure comfortable room, tasty meals, free Internet and courteous service. I found the exercise room sufficiently equipped, however all 3 treadmills were out of order. I was pleased they offer weights, stationary bikes, and universal exercise machines. If I had a single complaint, I would say there is little to do or see within walking of the hotel. Even though the hotel is not near the airport, this hotel will provide transport when arriving or leaving for a fee. Arrangements can be made by calling ahead.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank alguibert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

Hotel was small/intimate but got the job done. Staff was extremely pleasant and location is great! The hotel has modernly decorated features but carpets can do with a quick clean. Overall had a great time with no problems whatsoever. We also got the room for $99/night which was a steal in my opinion!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chad W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

Whenever I'm in Trinidad this hotel is one of the three I always stay at. The staff is very helpful, the decor of the hotel is very chic, clean and beautiful. Heated pool, ambiance, food, the rooms are beautifully appointed. I love the food! And I realize that many people will have different experiences, but all the times I have been at this hotel, I have never had a bad experience, and each experience out weighs the previous visit.

Well done!!

Room Tip: If you can get rooms on the top three floors you will be soooo happy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SheTravels_com
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port of Spain hotels
0.2 km away
Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre
2.6 km away
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
#2 of 21 in Port of Spain
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,920 reviews
3.2 km away
Courtyard Port of Spain
Courtyard Port of Spain
#1 of 21 in Port of Spain
4.5 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Kapok Hotel
Kapok Hotel
#6 of 21 in Port of Spain
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
2.5 km away
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
#5 of 21 in Port of Spain
3.5 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
0.4 km away
The Normandie Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carlton Savannah? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlton Savannah

Property: The Carlton Savannah
Address: Coblentz Ave | Cascade, Port of Spain, Trinidad
Region: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Trinidad > Port of Spain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Port of Spain
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,825 - ₹ 10,537
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Carlton Savannah 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On every island in the Caribbean there is a place where everyone goes, not to visit and leave, but to experience and return. In Trinidad, the financial seat of the Caribbean, it is The Carlton Savannah. Nestled in the foothills of the St Ann's valley, tucked in by lush bamboo and flora, is a boutique hotel especially fashioned for business travelers and locals who revel in affordable luxury - crackling with energy, sensuality and a sun dappled emotion of rest that stays with you long after your visit is over. The Carlton Savannah, located minutes away from the financial hub of Port of Spain, botanic gardens and Queen's Hall, and minutes away from a spectacular drive through mountainous rain forests to white beaches, is poised at the cusp of a tropical dream. Personalized corporate support for business travelers is our priority in the privacy of jewel shaded rooms, complete with complementary wireless service, flat screen televisions and living rooms doubling as fully equipped office meeting spaces. As a hotel committed to minutely personalized service, our concierge ensures home comforts and office requirements in a safe and luxurious environment. Rest assured... at The Carlton Savannah. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Carlton Savannah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carlton Savannah Hotel Port Of Spain
Carlton Savannah Port Of Spain
The Carlton Savannah Trinidad/Port Of Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing