We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Place”

Pointe-a-Pierre Wildfowl
Book In Advance
More Info
US$ 59.00*
and up
Layover Wild Fowl Experience
Ranked #16 of 92 things to do in Trinidad
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Pointe-a-Pierre Wildfowl Trust was founded in 1966. We are a national, not-for-profit environmental organization dedicated to Environmental Education, Public Awareness and the research, breeding and re-introduction into the wild of locally endangered waterfowl species and other wetland birds. As an inland, freshwater habitat encompassing approximately 32 hectares and 2 lakes, we are uniquely situated within a major petro-chemical and oil-refining complex, making it the only one in the world.
Reviewed 3 May 2015

I visited this place years ago and it was and still is a must see place to visit in Trinidad. However there is a lady who works there by the tone of her voice she sounds foreign. She has a attitude problem didn't get her name but she needs to adjust her attitude...but otherwise the place is lovely :)

Date of experience: October 2014
2  Thank mary s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (57)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"oil refinery"
in 11 reviews
"scarlet ibis"
in 10 reviews
"beautiful birds"
in 4 reviews
"whistling duck"
in 2 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 3 reviews
"bird life"
in 2 reviews
"ducks"
in 8 reviews
"wetlands"
in 4 reviews
"jacana"
in 2 reviews
"lilies"
in 2 reviews
"osprey"
in 3 reviews
"organisation"
in 2 reviews
"wattled"
in 2 reviews
"conservation"
in 2 reviews
"bellied"
in 2 reviews
"beauty"
in 3 reviews
"species"
in 3 reviews
Filter

26 - 30 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2015

I think in half an hour here I saw more osprey than there are in the whole of the UK. A strange place with all the flares etc going on in the middle of a bird reserve or is the reserve in the middle of the refinery - hard to tell.

Date of experience: March 2015
2  Thank imacbeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2015

My boyfriend and I took the guided tour for the wildfowl trust in January of this year and the guide told us about the extra hike along Devil's Ear trail. We had the chance to go on it last week and it was very nice. There are a lot of beautiful trees and bamboo that tower over you. We didn't see any animals but it may have been because of the rain that had been in and out all day. The hike itself wasn't too difficult, but rather relaxing. If you are on the guided tour it would probably be fun to make a day of it and take the extra hike. It took us about an hour.

Date of experience: March 2015
3  Thank AM_Ramgattie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2015 via mobile

Very nice sanctuary. The tour was really affordable and very enjoyable. Lots of information and its doing some interesting stuff. It only takes a couple of hours to see. Make sure you call and make a reservation, I recommend the morning tour. The lily pads will be flowering. They close up in the afternoons.

3  Thank Stingraye0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2015

For our family we always enjoy a visit to the Trust. I'm no expert of fluara and fauna but there is variety here that you wont easily access elsewhere on the island. Recommended to nature lovers or anyone wishing to see some of our wildlife.

Date of experience: June 2014
3  Thank mikecathy j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pointe-a-Pierre Wildfowl also viewed

Trinidad, Trinidad and Tobago
Maracas Bay, Trinidad
 
Trinidad, Trinidad and Tobago
Trinidad, Trinidad and Tobago
 

Been to Pointe-a-Pierre Wildfowl? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing