We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW!”
Review of Coconut Grove

Coconut Grove
Ranked #2 of 53 Restaurants in Nevis
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, View, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Beach side restaurant built in a large Tiki hut with tropical decor, high end cuisine and the only wine cellar on the island. The views of St Kitts and the Caribbean sea as well as the building are exceptional with a relaxed feeling while the food and wine are superior. This is not a beach bar but a high end restaurant on the beach.s
Charlestown,Nevis
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“WOW!”
Reviewed 14 July 2012

This restaurant has it all. A fabulous setting right on the beach, a great open air, island thatch roof wood pole structure, that really captures the essence of the island feel, a pool on the beach, free chairs and loungers on the beach and two bars. Gary and Karen have put together a true gormet experience compleat with a hugh award winning wine cellar. The chef is fabulous, the staff is excellent and very attentive. The prices are right in line with most of the other fine dining restaurants in Nevis. Go for Lunch or dinner or just drinks at their great bar. You will really come away with a wonderful and warm experience. You have to try this if you come to Nevis!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Woody B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

294 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    45
    13
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great wine list!”
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Food is ok, service is just ok! We were a bit disappointed with the service and overly salty food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carrie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coastal South Carolina, South Carolina
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“French/German owners/chef create a delicious, diverse menu”
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Upon arrival, the owner met us at the entrance. The restaurant decor and structure is unlike no other we've experienced. It's a huge, well-made thatched roof with open air seating. The food which was a mix of local Caribbean and French, was incredible. The boeuf bourgnignon was the best I've eaten, and the filet was incredible as well. We will return here again!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank FlipFlopsandCaviar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Dinner!”
Reviewed 10 July 2012

After the mediocre to poor restaurants at the Four Seasons this was a shining star! Had the tuna appetizer-delicious! It could have been my entree. We were then directed by the wonderful waitstaff what to eat next and all 4 of us were in culinary heaven! From lamb to my fish stew-yummy!! Then we topped it off with a delicious chocolate souffle! The chef and his wife are extremely gracious and friendly-don't miss this one in Nevis!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank franju154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awful - not what we expected based on reviews”
Reviewed 22 May 2012 via mobile

Ate there last night. Reservation was for 7:00. We were the first of only 3 2-top tables.

Food - tuna appetizer was good. Seemed promising. I had lamb with peas and potatoes. Everything on my plate was lukewarm, at best. My husband had the special, mahi mahi. He said my snapper at Coral Grill, FS, the night before was better.

Service - the only service provided was by a woman and young man. The woman was abrupt and short. It appeared that she didn't want to be there since there were only 6 customers in the restaurant. The young man was nice and pleasant. We didn't have the service experience that other reviewers had. Never saw or met the owners and wasn't offered a tour of the wine cellar.

That was night 2 of 7 nights. We will not be back. Very disappointing.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank reviewerIndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Coconut Grove also viewed

Nevis, St. Kitts and Nevis
 
Nevis, St. Kitts and Nevis
Nevis, St. Kitts and Nevis
 

Been to Coconut Grove? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing