We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Le Soleil d'Or(Cayman Brac)
US$ 3,098
US$ 2,983
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (768)
Filter reviews
768 results
Traveller rating
558
169
22
9
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
558
169
22
9
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvalet divingdive shopdive staffdive sitesbeach resortdive tripmeal packagegreat divingtop notchbuffet stylefishper daynon diversfriday nightmeal planmask and finsvalet service
Filter
Updating list...
717 - 722 of 768 reviews
Reviewed 17 November 2006

What a great week my husband and I had at Brac Reef Resort in Oct/Nov. The dive crew was great. The diving here is called valet diving which is exactly what it is. You put out your gear in a provided bag on your first morning. They pick it up and set it all up on the dive boat. All you have to carry to the dock is your mask and wetsuit. We dove with Donnie and Vickie on the same boat all week. They were great. They do all the heavy lifting. You just walk to the back of the boat and they bring you your gear. The only drawback to that is that they are busy helping everyone and don't get in the water very quickly. If you want to follow a dive master around, this isn't for you. We loved the diving because we are comfortable going off on our own, now and with no current it was easy to swim around, look at things and get back to the boat. The water temp was 85 degrees and we saw lots of fish, stingrays, coral, and sponges. One day we went to the Russian destroyer. It was a fun dive and the only one that was a little crowded. They also took us over to Little Cayman which was our only long boat ride (most days the boat rides are 10 minutes, max) It was worth the ride.
The room was fine. Nothing special but we didn’t spend much time there so it didn’t really matter. The food was excellent. There wasn’t the repetitive menu we have experienced at other resorts. Every night was different. The entrees and soups were great as were the desserts. There is an air-conditioned dining room as well as a screened-in patio so everyone can be comfortable. We had a three meal a day package. Because the other restaurants on the island are few and far between, this is probably the best way to go. The other option is to get the breakfast/dinner plan and get lunch in the bar. We didn’t eat at the bar but they had hamburgers, nachos, etc. that looked good.
Other than diving, we enjoyed biking around the island. (You can borrow bikes at the resort. They are not fancy but they’ll get you around.) We rode to Rebecca’s Cave and the Bat Cave. (Yes, there were bats.) The caves are fascinating and worth the ride. We also rode to the other side of the island. Can’t remember the name of the store, but it had Caymanite which is only available in the Caymans and is a beautiful stone. One day we rented a car and drove up to the bluffs. What an incredible view! Well worth the trip. Don’t forget to drive on the LEFT! Someone suggested we drive to a store called NIM (Native Island Made)Things. Not really worth the trip. Reminded me of a craft fair with things made by someone’s elderly relatives.
This was a wonderfully relaxing, great vacation. We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank RockyMtnDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2006

The resort staff was more than helpful. They were all very warm and hospitable. As a non-diver we found plenty to do and also spent a lot of time just relaxing on the beach. The resort features a multitude of swinging hammocks at various locations on the beach and on the double decker pier. The food was out of this world!!!! It was a very tasty cuisine every morning and evening, with plenty of variety. The pastry chef spoiled us every night with several choices of desserts. It is definelty a nice respite, if you are looking to relax, this is your place. My husband and I got married on resort property on the beach. Trudy set up the appointment with the marriage officer and made sure everything was on track. Ed the photographer took wonderful pictures of us. My husband and I will definelty be back for more R&R.

p.s. The locals were great too...we ventured out one of the few bars on the other side of the island...very warm people.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank SonyaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2006

My wife and I returned form our second stay at this resort this August. The experience was at least as good as the time we stayed nine years ago. The resort is basicly the same, with a few small improvements. Video Ed is still there. The rooms are still small clean motel type rooms. The boats are still extremely well maintained Newtons manned by well trained and attentive divemasters and captains.

This place is not exotic but it certainly is relaxing and offers great diving, food and companionship (heck there are fewer foreigners here than in our home of Atlanta)

Getting here is pretty hastle free though Island Air has given up their inter-island routes. Watch your connections in Grand Cayman. Most travelers leaving The Brac have to leave on the absurdly early 6:00am 737 flight as Cayman Airways does not have enough small flights leaving early.


While there were a few non divers. I do need to reinforce the nondivers comments from a few posts earlier. This a dive resort and while non divers will certainly find the place relaxing and friendly, there is really not much else to do on the island. If you like sitting on a pretty beach all day then you won't have a problem. Folks that need activities best try somewhere else.
Be aware that people will come to dinner in shorts and tank tops. Your dress shoes will stay in the closet. The night life consists of a few hardly soles hanging around the bar while most people turn in around dark to rest up for the next days dives.

A last note about the all inclusive feature. My wife and I rarely stay at all inclusives anymore, but I reccomend taking at least the breakfast and dinner plan here. There are not many other restaurants on the island and the one at this resort in our opinion is clearly the best on the island. I would stay away from the all inclusive alcohol plan here as I doubt if anyone but the hardest core boozer will drink their moneys worth.

C&E
Jeffserson, GA

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Clyderyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2006

Myself and two friends (we all live on Grand Cayman) stayed here for a weekend. We liked it so much we booked to go back for four days in a couple of weeks. The rooms are clean and comfortable and good a/c although note it is either on or off with no thermostat. Request the rooms with the balconies - they overlook the pool and down to the beach area (view of the sea mostly blocked by lots of well maintained palm trees). The staff at the hotel are excellent and the dive operation was professional and pretty much full service. They will set your gear up if you wish and bring it to the end of the boat just before you jump in so you dont have to waddle around the boat with your gear on. There is always a guide in the water as well and they stay in there for the duration. One of the people i went here with has done something like 4000 dives and used to work in the industry and even he was impressed!

The grounds of the hotel were very well kept - i noticed people cleaning or raking the sand etc constantly which is a good sign. Beach is very nice. There are also lots of hammocks, including two on a dual level 'gazebo' that is over the water. I spent a morning lounging in one with a book and it is total relaxation. There is no noise there except for the waves and the occasional plane taking off once every few hours. Snorkelling is ok - we did see rays etc from the gazebo but there is lots of turtle grass off the beach with sandy areas - often the water is only a foot deep so you end up finning through a fair bit of short turtle grass giving your chin a tickle.

One warning though - the neighbouring resort Divi Tiara has shut down. Expect the reef resort to be busy going forward, but with something like only 70 rooms you are still going to have a relaxing, quiet visit, especially if you take a couple of days off of diving - you will have the place to yourself. Just beware of the cooked breakfasts - it can be a bit stodgy although there is a good range of cereal, yoghurt, omlette, bagels etc to start the day.

So long as you dont expect a 5 star resort (it is a dive resort - practicality is much more important) you will have a great time at the Brac Reef.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank jcm9000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2006

My wife and I returned home this past week from a wonderful 7 night stay at the Brac Reef, July 15-22. We didn't go to Cayman Brac looking for large hotel amenities, fine dining, nightlife and a wide variety of excursions. We were, however, looking for tranquility...an escape from pagers, blackberries, cellular phones and all that is inherent in a big city lifestyle.

...and the Brac Reef provided a wonderful retreat, easliy the most relaxing vacation we have taken to date.

The Brac Reef is a quaint resort consisting of a mere 40 rooms, 10 of which have terraces (upper level) overlooking the pool and a sandy beachfront. The rooms are clean, the property well maintained and the staff, pleasant. The two level pier is a great place to take in the Cayman Brac sunrise while enjoying that first cup of cofee. It is also a great location for snorkeling at night among the Tarpon and Southern Stingray.

We only dined outside the resort twice, once at The Captain's Table and the other, Aunt Sha's. We, however, favored the food at the resort, whether opting for the bar menu or the buffett.

Reef Divers, Brac Reef's dive operation, was top-notch... professional crew and very nice Newton dive boats. Vicki, Donnie, Rob and Josh provided a memorable experience. My 18 dives were well diversified with Wilderness Wall, Buccaneer Reef, Schoolhouse Wall, Treehouse and the Russian Frigate, Capt. Keith Tibbets my particular favorites. The average water temperatures were 84-86 degrees F with visibility well beyond 100'. The only disappointment was not having the opportunity to dive Little Cayman's Bloody Bay Wall.

Well, if you're looking for serenity...the Brac Reef, Cayman Brac delivers.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
13  Thank O'Malley&Nala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews