We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
4 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Morfa Bychan, Porthmadog, Gwynedd, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kee1285
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 23 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

Truly amazing cottage, so quaint, the cottage was so well equipped! We loved it so much we have booked again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dazff
Retford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
367 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
“Simply Wonderful”
Reviewed 24 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at the Ty'r Y Shol from the 17th to 24th April and were fortunate enough to have seven days of absolutely gorgeous sunny weather to allow us to enjoy the Welsh coast and countryside.
To be quite honest we couldn’t have been happier staying in the holiday home and couldn’t have found anything better. The cottage is exceptional and has everything you could want and more. It has all the mod cons, a wonderful conservatory to sit and have the early morning cup of tea, watching the different varieties of birds in the garden, if you’re lucky the woodpecker will pay you a visit and this is something you can’t quite believe. The kitchen has everything you need and provides a very nice setting to have your evening meals. We planned to eat out a lot but because the cottage was so lovely, we ate in nearly every evening. There is a wood burning stove in the lounge that would be fantastic to make up on a cold evening.
The cottage is situated next to a golf course and about a ten minute walk to the beach. There is a SPAR shop within two minutes walk and a fish and chip shop next door to that. Porthmadog is a 5 minute drive away and has local shops as well as a Tesco, Aldi and Lidl.
You have to make the most of the cottage’s location and explore the coast and villages. Criccieth has a host of lovely restaurants and Abersoch was my personal favourite where we saw Bottle Nosed Dolphins playing in the bay. The Wales Coastal Path is a must, with walks along the sand and on the cliffs, popping in and out of bays and towns along the way. Snowdon was less than 30 minutes away and we made the best of the good weather by walking to the top and back. The local beach is stunning at low tide, with miles of soft golden sand and wonderful green and blue sea.
Finally the piece de resistance, the hot tub! After spending the days walking it was simply wonderful to return home to a fantastic hot tub, looking up at the hills, watching the buzzards flying up above and soaking away the aches and pains.
In terms of rating the cottage, it is definitely a 10/10. The Hudson’s have done a fantastic job on the accommodation and I cannot think of one thing I would change.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hottub
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Anthony B
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“modern, comfortable, excellently appointed and hot tub with views!”
Reviewed 7 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013
3
people found this review helpful

excellent renovated house within easy reach of good beach and short coastal walk to Porthmadog. House very well equipped with every convenience and very comfortable. Warm and inviting with lovely hot tub in back garden with views to hills across the golf course. Conservatory with wet room off. Wood burning stoves and underfloor heating which we didn't actually need but nice to know they were available.
And plenty to do round about- 2 different narrow gauge steam trains in Porthmadog alone. close to Snowdonia and Portmeirion , good beaches, castles!
We had a wonderful weeks stay and still have lots we didn't do.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: enjoyed the hot tub best (once it had been cleaned- previous occupants had used with false tan and it needed draining and refilling)
Liked least: only 1 week available!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing