We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like a second home....”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seven Mile Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Harbour View Apartments and Studios
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Like a second home....”
Reviewed 11 February 2011

This was my fourth or fifth visit and it is always just like coming back to a second home.

Perfect location, run by wonderful people and quiet even though it is right on the edge of George Town.

Judging by the number of long-term lets and repeat visitors plenty of other people share this opinion.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    17
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
27
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Europe
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2010

I just returned from an amazing vacation on Grand Cayman, and the Harbour View was a huge part of why I had such a great time. It was a wonderful home base -- offering a comfortable room, good snorkeling out back, and a location convenient to all sorts of other attractions.

As other reviewers have pointed out, this is a no-frills establishment. If you need a bathtub, daily maid service, or a front desk, you may want to look elsewhere. However, my roomy unit had all the essentials, plus beautiful views of the sea. The furnishings were basic, but I thought the apartment had Mary-Richards charm.

Some more details:

I stayed in apartment 2A, which is one of the "deluxe studios." Mine was the only upstairs unit in the building on the north side of the property. It had two windows facing the sea, and one facing north (with a view of trees, and, if you peer from the right angle, a neighboring house). The views of the sea were slightly obstructed by the peaked roof of the lower portion of the building, but I thought they were gorgeous! However, not all the apartments have a sea view, so if this is important to you, make sure you ask for it.

The unit had a fridge, a stovetop with two burners, a toaster, a coffee pot with a gold filter, a microwave, dishes, cutlery, pots and pans, and a blender, which I used to make smoothies every day. The kitchen has very little counter space, but you could use the kitchen table if need be. Or, if you are a serious cook, you may want to look at the one-bedroom apartments -- the one I saw had a huge kitchen with tons of counter space.

Also in the room: a very powerful AC unit, a TV, and a shelf from which you can hang your clothes (that is, not exactly a real closet, but it was perfectly functional). Another nice perk: they allowed free local calls from the room’s phone. The unsecured wireless Internet connection was slow but usable.

My door opened within view of the road -- if you’re a privacy nut and this is a concern for you, you might want to request a studio closer to the water, or go for a one-bedroom apartment (which I believe all have doors that open into an interior hallway). However, the area felt perfectly safe.

Inside the unit and on the beach out back, I could sometimes hear a slight amount of car-traffic noise, but not enough to bother me.

Last but not least, the owners of the Harbour View, Rose and Dudley, are warm, generous people (who live on site). Their welcoming attitude is echoed by the staff. If you need something, you can easily flag someone down to get it. Everyone was very friendly and also happy to give me tips on things like catching the bus.

Bottom line, I hated to leave the Harbour View! I became very fond of it during my stay and hope to return some time.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sazsark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2010

We had a wonderful stay. The owners and their staff create more than a place to stay-a nice shared community of like minded visitor. This reasonably priced apartment is not luxurious or fancy, but the full kitchen, water view apartment and fabulous owners make for a wonderful vacation. Hot tip: The Wharf restaurant next door is pricey, but has free hors d'oeuvres Friday during the 5-6 happy hour and free Salsa dancing lessons Mondays at 9 pm.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sotaroca2
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2010

For a traveler on a budget, the Harbour View is completely perfect. The hotel is located on the very southern tip of seven mile beach and is very close to town. We had a rental car to get around and meet our dive boat every day, but we frequently walked into town in the afternoons and evenings so we wouldn't have to worry about having a few beers and driving. (We dove with Danny of Off the Wall divers and they were awesome.)

The hotel is very plain and not fancy, but it's also very clean and fantastically priced. Our room had a queen bed, very comfortable and clean sheets, and a full sofa. The floors are tile, so you have to watch the sand, but they provide a fresh bucket of water outside each door every morning so you can dunk your feet before you go in and they get swept out every day. Each room has a kitchenette with a mishmash of kitchen supplies - a small sink, small stove, coffeemaker and microwave, and there are weber charcoal grills on the beach. There is also a full size grocery store right across the street. Really convenient! We had steaks and smores on the beach at least twice for dinner. Also, the AC worked great, TV had cable, showers/bathroom were fine, they do have free wireless but you have to kind of huddle by the office and hunt around for the signal.

The hotel has a little beach and they have chairs and a picnic table out there, but the sand meets sharp rock before it hits the water, so if you want to go in there is a concrete boat launch or you can jump off the dock. If you're dreaming about the giant gorgeous expanses of sand where you can go running into the water, just walk or drive a few hundred yards north and camp out on seven mile beach itself.

Overall, it's not fancy schmancy, but the place is well maintained, very clean, and right on the water - you absolutely cannot beat it for the price.

Two notes:
1. The hotel has no pool, so if this is big for you then consider it.
2. The rooms on the ends DO have oceanfront views, but the rooms along the side DO NOT (picture a motel-style building that's perpendicular to the water). The rooms on the sides have almost no windows at all - a small high window in the back, over the bed, and a slatted window on the door. We were in one of these rooms and thought it was just fine because we were spending 90% of our time outside, but if you want an oceanfront room be sure you specify that you want a room facing the water.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sotaroca2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2010

My wife and I spent ten nights at The Harbour View in early February and were just as pleased as last year when we stayed 7 nights. Rose and Dudley Parsons are almost like
family.
The room are clean quiet. There is no beach(Ivan)but a pier extends into the water for
snorkelers. Kirk's Market is 5 minutes away, dowtown is 15 minutes away and bus service
is more than adequate.
It cost us $115 US a night for our studio plus Cayman tax. This was the same rate as 2009. We booked for fourteen nights in 2011&assume if there's an increase, it will be fair.
Rose and Dudley are very accommodating and unlike most lodging facilities, you can
chat with your fellow guests on the veranda. BBQ grills are available and we purchased
fresh fish downtown daily and grilled it ourselves saving money. Try it out!!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank palehose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seven Mile Beach hotels
0.0 km away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,316 reviews
0.0 km away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5,123 reviews
0.0 km away
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
#3 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
2,909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
366 reviews
0.0 km away
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mi...
#7 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
288 reviews
0.0 km away
The Residences at The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
The Residences at The Ritz-Carlt...
#28 of 36 in Seven Mile Beach
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour View Apartments and Studios? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour View Apartments and Studios

Property: Harbour View Apartments and Studios
Address: P.O. Box 176 GT, Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Seven Mile Beach
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Harbour View Apartments And Studios Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Harbour View Apartments And Studios Grand Cayman, Caribbean - Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing