We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (556)
Filter reviews
556 results
Traveller rating
484
63
7
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
484
63
7
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ann rose tennis courts cemetery beach grand cayman fish west bay hot tub third floor the north end screened porch office staff washer dryer rental car recommend unit living room stingray city minute drive
Filter
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 556 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2017

We traveled to Cayman for a 25-year anniversary with our 3 teen daughters in August. It sure was hot and walking anywhere was out of the question. Everything was close by car though. Our condo on 2nd floor was wonderful. Had plenty of room for us and to cook, etc. All appliances and countertop gadgets were great. Very clean, updated facilities. Maid service every day was nice, but every other day would have sufficed. For convenience it would have been nice to be on 1st floor, but the families on 1st floor were quite loud out on their lanais. Also, some people would put their stuff under the huts early in the morning and not be out there until 1pm, which is a bit rude imo, but there are also non-moveable umbrellas with chairs as well. The sandy beach was great. Swimming beach had rocks in the water, so definitely take swim shoes as there were sea urchins under the rocks. It's rocky in front of the pool as well. You may want to bring your own blow-up floats, as it seemed either you only had access to what was in your condo or at the pool, or else ppl just took over what the resort supplied--not sure on that. Our condo had 4 noodles, no floats. We swam just a bit to the left at Christopher Cols condos and it was more sandy-less rocky in the water there. Go to office and ask lots of questions when you get there. We didn't realize that StingRay City and Bioluminescence tours would be so booked up during low season; so get those reserved before you leave home. We used caymankayaks.com for BioLum boat tour. It was incredible; you have the option to snorkel in the water if you want--very educational--this is 1 of 6 places in the world that has it. One person on our boat got a jellyfish sting, but tour captain had vinegar for it. For Stingray city we used caymanecoadventures.com. 5 Stars! Very laid back, smaller private tour. So worth the $65/person because we stopped on far side of all the other boat tours there and the rays swarmed over to us. Experience of a lifetime!
We used Firefly/Hertz car rental. Got a really cheap rate. If you're a safe driver, don't get insurance--boy did they push with high pressure sales on the insurance. One of our favorite restaurants was Macabuca. We snorkeled all over the island. We felt our location was perfect--and a great pick--not too crowded and not too secluded.

Room Tip: Best views from 2nd and 3rd floor; quieter on 2nd and 3rd floors.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank rdemech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TODD C, Condo Association Chairman at Discovery Point Club, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

rdemech,
You said it, "We felt our location was perfect--and a great pick--not too crowded not too secluded." Just be sure when "picking" at Discovery Point Club that you only rent through our Rental Plan managed by DPC and our ON SITE management. There are a few condos rented off site and we cannot control their quality or the experience you may encounter.
( see the May 26 2017 review and my response)
Thanks for the trip tips. The pool toys/floats at the pool are usually ones left by departing guests and are pretty much community property. Individual condo owners may supply some things which should be returned to that condo. The coral in the sea makes for the great snorkeling we have right in front of Discovery Point Club and to the right (north) to close by world famous Cemetery Reef at Cemetery Beach.
Thanks, Todd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017

The beach and water here were excellent. The balcony overlooks the beach which became our favorite place to eat breakfast. There were plenty of chairs and shade available. The later hours on the pool ensured several hours of quiet in the morning.

We stayed in #35. The location of the unit was excellent. It was not right off of the path to the beach so there wasn't any noise of people walking to and from. The walk was really quick to the beach area and pool but the unit was far enough away to keep those noises more in the background. The unit had two bedrooms with an adjoining bathroom on each. The kitchen came well stocked and was wonderful to have the option of eating breakfast or dinner in the unit.

Room Tip: Room 35 was excellent. It wasn't on the main walkway to the beach so you didn't get noise but it was a quick walk.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dondi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TODD C, Condo Association Chairman at Discovery Point Club, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

rdemech,
Sounds like you made a great choice and couldn't have had a better experience. The fully stocked kitchens make it great for breakfasts or light lunch even if you don't plan to do much cooking. Especially if you are a family with children.
Thanks, Todd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017 via mobile

This is our favorite place to stay when we travel with the kids. Great accommodations for a family of 5. Clean, awesome location with fabulous services. Ollie the property manager is fantastic. Also great place for families to meet other families. Kids made friends to stay in touch with and coordinate return visits!!! Can't say enough great things about this place. And the beach is at your front door with amazing snorkeling 5 feet out!!!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank Tiffany S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TODD C, Condo Association Chairman at Discovery Point Club, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

Tiffany S,
Discovery Point Club prides itself on being family friendly, as you stated. And, our great on-site staff understands this. We have many guests who do coordinate their visits and have become life long friends. It is this atmosphere we experienced 24 years ago and why have been coming ever since, kids and now grand kids.
With Hurricane Ivan in 2004, Seven Mile Beach saw coral uncovered in the sea and the snorkeling became a quantum leap better.
Thanks, Todd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

After a 10 year hiatus, we returned to Grand Cayman with our children who are now young adults. We stayed at a ground floor condo at the Discovery Point Club on the north end of Seven Mile Beach. It's not fancy, but it's a very clean property, recently remodeled, and right on the beach. The beach itself is beautiful and there is fantastic snorkeling right off the beach. It's far enough from town so we aren't disturbed when the cruise ships are in, but close enough to make it an easy drive in to go diving every morning. The kitchens have everything you need to cook all your meals in if you choose to, but there are also several good restaurants right nearby. And there are grocery and liquor stores just up the road. The beds are comfortable and there is plenty of closet space to in pack and get comfortable. The living spaces are very comfortable. There's even a screened in porch so you can sit outside in the evening and enjoy the beautiful sunsets. I would definitely stay at Discovery Point again.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank rsaesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TODD C, Condo Association Chairman at Discovery Point Club, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

rsaesq,
We are glad you chose Discovery Point Club for your return to Cayman. All the condos have the screened porch/patio on the beach/Caribbean Sea.
We hope you do "stay at Discover Point again" and hope it's not 10 years from now.
Thanks, Todd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017 via mobile

Our 5th stay here and it just keeps getting better. Not crowded and in the perfect location. We loved the unit we stayed in this time. #26. Updated and beautiful. Gorgeous sunsets on a perfect beach. Ollie and Ann Rose are like family. We love them. They hooked us up with Captain Allan for an awesome excursion to Sting Ray City and some beautiful snorkel sites. We will book him again for sure! We have met some lifelong friends there and couldn't imagine staying anywhere else in Cayman. Still in my depression mode from an awesome trip coming to and end way too fast as always! Can't wait to go back!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank JenKyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TODD C, Condo Association Chairman at Discovery Point Club, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

JenKyle,
5 trips and counting says it all. See you next year.
Thanks, Todd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews