We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (654)
Filter reviews
654 results
Traveller rating
401
170
57
18
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
401
170
57
18
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shore diving dive staff cathy church dive shop great dive dive trip mermaid statue dive sites underwater photography morning boat grand cayman rental gear experienced divers dive locker stingray city diving package great place for divers
Filter
Updating list...
56 - 61 of 654 reviews
Reviewed 18 May 2018

Visited Sunset House as part of Cathy Church's Photofest week. We got a Seaview room, and were lucky enough to get one of the signature photographer ones, which has a range of fantastic underwater photo prints around the walls.

The room was great, with comfortable beds and a good shower. We liked seeing the sea in the morning and watching shore divers come and go from the room, although to be fair no room here is much more than a step-outside from a sea view.

Didn't use the pool but it looks pleasant enough and there are free pool towels at reception.

Sunset Divers are based here and we'd rate them highly. Really friendly and helpful people, with well maintained rental gear and I appreciated the fact they were thorough about boat and dive safety. There's shore diving available and the house reef is a good dive, relatively shallow (think we maxed around 18m at the mermaid statue) so lots of bottom time, with a wide variety of wildlife. I think my favourite thing about Sunset house is being able to walk from breakfast to the morning boat dive, get a great shore dive in after lunch and then watch the sunset from MyBar, all from the resort.

Room tip: Several of the rooms are set up to show off great underwater photographers. Recommend getting one of there's one available.
Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Nathan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne B, Manager at Sunset House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2018

Hi Nathan. Photofest is such a fun week, and we highly recommend it to anyone who is interested in underwater photography.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and all of the different aspects of the resort made your stay enjoyable. We hope that you come back next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2018

I always like staying at Sunset House. The rooms are comfortable, the staff is friendly, and food in the restaurant is very tasty. The onsite dive shop is very good with a great crew. It is very nice have everything close together for a dive vacation.

Room tip: Work on the wifi connection to improve the signal strength.
Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jimmy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne B, Manager at Sunset House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2018

Hi Jimmy. We are happy your enjoyed your stay with us and hope you come back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2018

Just was at Sunset for 10 days and it was like being at home.
The people at the hotel are very nice and always go out of there way
to make you fell at home. I love the feel of the resort and the island way
of life at the resort. My bar is great to have lunch and dinner and was
right their. This resort is a must for divers in Cayman.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank plumberone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne B, Manager at Sunset House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2018

We are happy that you came to visit us. Come back again soon. We may have some surprises in store for your depending on when you come...they are big, and red and they float : )

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2018

There is something about heading to Sunset House after we land and pick-up the rental car. We know the food is good, the beer is cold and the service is friendly. But the BEST part - the water and watching the divers and snorkelers. It is also a good stop before leaving the island too!

Date of stay: August 2017
Thank S_JURY_2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne B, Manager at Sunset House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2018

We are glad that you enjoy My Bar at the Sunset House. At this point, it is kind of an institution....more than forty years in business : )

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2018

Dive operations at Sunset House are top notch. Boats in great condition. Crew is professional, helpful and safety conscious while being friendly and outgoing. Food in the restaurant/bar was excellent. Easy walk to town from the hotel.

Room tip: While somewhat dated, the room was clean and comfortable.
Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank TNDIVEGAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne B, Manager at Sunset House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2018

Hey TNDIVEGAL. We are glad that you enjoyed your time with us and hope you come back again soon. We think the dive shop staff is great as well!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews