We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Pedro St. James National Historic Site
from US$ 89.00
More Info
from US$ 316.20
More Info
Reviews (491)
Filter reviews
477 results
Traveller rating
287
149
38
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
287
149
38
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cayman history gift shop multimedia presentation great history restored house self guided tour history lesson short movie sound effects love history interactive video worth a visit rum tasting local history great place to learn botanical gardens hurricane ivan
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 477 reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago

We had friends and family visiting from out of town so we took a family trip to the site. If the views do not blow you away, you will be fascinated by the history and culture of the island. Trisha was our tour guide for the day! Trisha’s authentic and charismatic personality was a delight. She was extremely knowledgeable, articulate, and accommodating. If you get a couple hours, go visit Trisha at Pedro St. James National Historic Site!

1  Thank Dani B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

I learned a lot about the island and we had the best time learning the culture and history from Trisha, She was so great and spectacular presentation. She will keep you amused throughout the tour. On of the best part of the trip was meeting her. She advise us on all the local food dishes and even called our order in for us.
Thanks Trisha

1  Thank smoke4x4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We went to Pedro St James, and thought doing an unguided your would get us in and out in an hour. Sadly we didn’t plan enough time. You start by hearing from a gentlemen about some photos, before being taken into a room to view a video on the history of the house. Then you go go about looking over the house and grounds. The older gentleman Stacy, tour guide,is a descendant of the original owner. He is so sweet. His job is his life and he loves telling about it. I wish we would of had more time because he had a lot of stories or knowledge about this historic site. I give Stacy 5 stars for making history come alive.
After the house tour you can go to the bar on premises close to the gift shop. (Cayman spirits) Moses was amazing giving us the history of Seven Fathoms rum . Two in our group had paid for tastings. The spiced rum and dark rum was AMAZING! Tasted others and they were good too. The above mentioned was our favorites .
The gift shop was a great place to buy souvenirs!

Thank TnTDean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Hands down this is a place you will not want to miss! Thoroughly enjoyed the site and all the history of the island! You must ask for Trisha as your tour guide!! We could have stayed and listened to her all day!! She is for real!!

1  Thank Trail22919528395
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We recently visited Pedro St. James National Historic Site.via Webster Tours. It was very insightful. Stacy was our tour guide and he was really passionate about Cayman history and in particular this historic site. Highly recommend visiting this place.

Thank SpecialK268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Pedro St. James was not on our original list of things to see but we had time one day and we are so glad we stopped by. We decided on the guided tour because you just get so much more out of the visit. We really connected with Trisha - same name Patricia and she once lived in VA like Pat. From that point on I believe we got some special treatment and a lot of extra history and stories that left us feeling like we were there 200 years ago. The interactive video gave the quick overview of life back then but Trisha was able to add the details. She was funny and entertaining. The house and grounds are beautifully restored. We took our time and unfortunately the rum tasting room had closed! Our only regret. Beautiful historical site and great tour guide.

1  Thank Sue F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stopped at Pedro St. James on our way to Rum Point. It was an interesting stop with lots of information about the history of the house and area. There was also a "multimedia show" that was worth watching (about 25 mins long) but it does stretch out the tale by repeating some of the same facts over and over. We also purchased a guided tour which was a kind of a waste of money. Our guide, Miss Trisha, was knowledgeable but she essentially just repeated the same facts in the show and added lots of personal stories that had very little bearing on the site. I'd recommend watching the show and then touring the site on your own with a pamphlet from the shop.

Thank SoftwareGeek12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This historical site was fascinating and our tour guide Trisha really made it even better. It takes about 15 minutes to get there by bus, really a small friendly van, and only costs $5.00 US. The great house is beautifully restored and the architecture is interesting. It was the meeting place for the government for a while and has a very unique history. If you are all interested in the history of the places you visit or just want to know a little bit more about the island take the time to go. You really should plan on spending several hours there.

Thank Cruiser255847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This is a terrific place to get to know the history of Grand Cayman. Very entertaining & it has the best prices at any gift shop on the island. If you want to get cayamanite jewelry, this is the place to get it. Also did a very nice rum tasting (better than I’ve ever done before) with a nice snack at the restaurant.

Thank RML808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We visited here while we were in Grand Cayman and LOVED IT. We love historic sites and history so we found this to be a great place to visit. Our tour guide Trisha was the best! She really knew the history of this historic site and had a great sense of humor They had a movie with effects that made you feel like you were in the movie.. The gift shop had a good selection of things to pick from and they were priced well.

Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews