We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Sooooo Peaceful !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Peter Island Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Peter Island Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Peter Island
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Sooooo Peaceful !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2008

Can't say enough good things about our week at Peter Island. We have traveled extensively in the Carribean, staying at several other "private island" type places such as Jumby Bay, and Young Island in St. Vincent, as well as plenty of the better resorts such as Caneel Bay in St. John and Little Dix in Virgin Gorda.
We found Peter Island while sailing a few years ago and thought that we would give it a try. Peter Island is a super place for total relaxation, be aware that there is little to do but that! The food is ABSOLUTELY INCREDIBLE,definately 5 star, and included in you room price.
The rooms are currently being remodeled, ours had not yet been redone but it was still charming though not as luxurious as some.Linens were ready to be replaced but it was immaculately clean and lovely wih a great balcony witha beautiful view of the sea beyond.
The staff which at first seemed removed ended up actually being deligtful and eager to help us with even the most unusual request.( I found a sea bisquet and the lady at the desk took it from me to bleach and clean... she returned it to me the next day and the gift shop ladies offered to wrap it for me for travel!,I asked for soup recipe and the next day it was hand delivered to my room , neatly typed with a note of thanks from the chef.)
The water is beautiful and the resort offers plenty of watersports etc. We hiked and walked daily as well.Small but nice workout facility.
About the only thing that we might add is that if you plan ahead , we found it helpful that we took a few bottles of our own wine, as spirits on the island are not included and are quite pricey

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — windy when we were there
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank packedpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

889 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    632
    152
    58
    36
    11
See reviews for
95
548
8
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2008

Our reception was wonderful. BVI has such beautiful views. We were greeted and taken on a tour of the island. Breathtaking! The rooms were clean and well kept. We stayed in a suite right on the bay, which had such nices breezes. I recommend staying in them. March is a perfect time to visit. Our suite had a large bathroom, with double head showers, whirlpool, and double sinks. The spa never scheduled an appointment for my husband and I so I had to reschedule. We were disappointed because you then don't have time to schedule other activities. We made two trips to White Bay, it is perfect for relaxing all day with a book and some snorkeling. Very quiet. I do not recommend going to Honeymoon beach. It is not private or romantic in anyway. It actually is a very busy area.
There were yacthers that swam up to the beach where we were trying to relax. They snorkeled right in front of us as well as a helicopter landing not to far away. We had a lot of fun with Patouche Charters. We went out for a day excursion and did some snorkeling in the area. The Baths are a really neat place, but very overcrowded, almost like visiting the Jersey Shore (which I am from). I enjoyed the snorkeling in other areas though. We had such a fun time at the Vintner dinner, we recommend it. The restaurants were very good, as far as service and quality. We were a little bored however by the 7 night of eating from only 2 restaurants. We didn't like the seafood buffet on one of the evenings. They closed down both restuarants though so, you have no option. Some of the guests are a little pretentious but we met a lot of fun people as well. There were only two other younger couples during our stay, which was fine with us because we were looking for r&r. When we searched for a honeymoon location, there were other resorts with better values, but I am not sure that they will have the beauty and seclusion like Peter Island.

  • Liked — The seclusion and beautiful views
  • Disliked — food
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Dbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2008

We had a wonderful time. The hotel is beautiful and the staff is lovely. We've booked next year already!

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank Smoof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2008

This is a followup to a review I posted here on Jan 1 2004. We had stayed at Peter Island and experienced some issues during our stay. Because of those issues, Peter Island offered us three free nights to return and re-experience the island.

We returned three years later and are very happy we did. The island was in beautiful shape, our last experience having come after landslides and other issues. The service, which ran from extremely friendly in the main dining room to somewhat surly at the beach, was uniformly excellent. The food was just as great as it was the first time.

The beach itself is beautiful and the spa is wonderful. I highly suggest taking the charter boat, the Silmaril, out for a day. The captains, Paul and Judy, are wonderful people to spend some time out on the open sea with and have many great suggestions on how to spend your day. If we ever return, we plan on going out with them again. Be sure to book well ahead of time.

We were very happy that we returned to Peter Island and are grateful that they extended us the courtesy. It's a great place for a romantic getaway. Children are somewhat discouraged, as I would imagine younger ones might be bored by the lack of in room televisions, etc. There are some water sports like kayaking, etc, but for the most part, you're going there to lay on a beach and relax for a few days. Older children might appreciate the solitude.

The resort has a library with a few computers on the internet, free of charge, as well as a single TV.

  • Stayed June 2007
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank scotth23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2008

Instead of repeating the positive remarks of others who have written about the resort, I will comment on a few subjects that may add some new value.

If you are are trying to decide between Caneel Bay, Little Dix, Brias Creek and Peter Island I would recommend Peter Island. We have either stayed, had diner or lunch and walked the grounds of all of these places. I base my recommendation on quality of service, quality of accommodations, the food, the beaches, and location/scenery. The other resorts may be superior in one category but it is the combination of all these factors that makes Peter Island the better choice, especially the beaches and beauty of the location. The views of the ocean with other islands doting the horizon are unmatched.

Update on Ocean View rooms. We stayed in room 128 on the advise of prior readers, which was good advise. Rooms 128-131 do provide better views (most blocked by palm trees) and little better location. Found the bath rooms in very good shape, the tilting, bathtub and fixtures all looked new. Others have written that they looked "tried" but I would strongly disagree. The rooms themselves are large, larger than standard Ritz Carlton rooms; king bed with nice sitting area and plenty of room for luggage. I talked with management and yes these rooms will be extensively renovated in the next 12-18 months; rebuilt with larger bath rooms with a shower and tub combinations. So as of this writing the rooms are being well maintaining and if you get a room in one of the last two buildings, the Ocean rooms do represent value over the more expense beach suites. Didn't see a Beach room but can say that the views from these rooms are far superior to the Ocean rooms, also talked with a few people who stayed in the Beach suites and all reported very positive reviews.

One final thought. If you have problems walking Ocean rooms are close to pool and Trade Winds restaurant, however require uphill walk to beach and beach grill restaurant. Beach suites are close to beach and breach grill restaurant but would require up hill walk to pool and Trade Winds; resort dose proved golf cart type transport but the timeliness of the carts is a bit iffy.

  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
11 Thank watch0ut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peter Island
6.7 km away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
8.5 km away
Frenchmans
Frenchmans
#1 of 2 in West End
5.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
11.9 km away
Scrub Island Resort, Spa & Marina, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 km away
Rosewood Little Dix Bay
Rosewood Little Dix Bay
#1 of 7 in Virgin Gorda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
29.9 km away
Bitter End Yacht Club
Bitter End Yacht Club
#1 of 1 in North Sound
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
7.3 km away
Long Bay Beach Club
Long Bay Beach Club
#6 of 25 in Tortola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peter Island Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peter Island Resort and Spa

Property: Peter Island Resort and Spa
Address: Road Town | Tortola, 00801 2409, Peter Island
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Peter Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Peter Island
Price range (per night): ₹ 33,768 - ₹ 3,07,388
Hotel Class:5 star — Peter Island Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Peter Island Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peter Island Hotel Peter Island
Peter Island Resort And Spa British Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing