We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Fabulous and relaxing trip to Peter Island” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Peter Island Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Peter Island Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Peter Island
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, CO.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fabulous and relaxing trip to Peter Island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

My husband and I went to Peter Island in June 2011 and had a wonderful time. We were looking for a quiet and relaxing vacation with some adventure and that's exactly what we found. My husband was impressed with the dive shop and went on a few dives during our trip. We also went out on one of the boats with Mark from the dive shop for a full day trip around the BVI's and did a half a day trip as well to go snorkeling. Both trips were great with the exception of some rough water. Mark was entertaining and took us to some places we would not have known about. We loved the beaches at Peter Island and many times felt like we were the only ones on the island. Snorkeling was good and the water was beautiful. The food was good...really loved the french toast at breakfast. Definitely grab a bottle of wine and do the sunset loop...was very beautiful and romantic. We look forward to returning to Peter Island one day.

Room Tip: We did the basic room with an ocean view and were satisfied. We were rarely in the room so we didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaisyDenver_CO_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

891 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    633
    152
    59
    36
    11
See reviews for
96
549
8
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

We spent three nights on Peter Island at the end of a week of island-hopping adventuring, hoping to relax, eat a lot, and sleep. We accomplished all three, and more!

Our room was listed in Frommer's as one of the "less desirable" garden rooms, but we couldn't disagree more! Spacious, beautifully decorated, breezy (open the BOTTOM of the patio doors), so clean, and quiet - we loved our room. Being able to walk right out on the yard and hop into a hammock or gaze over the low wall at the see or watch the boats coming into the marina was awesome for us.

The staff was so friendly and wonderful. Some are definitely more outgoing than others, but we never had a problem with anyone! In fact, since I was pregnant during our stay, the staff actually bought me a baby gift - what other hotel would do that??

The food at the restaurants was so delicious - every night a different menu, lots of wine choices (for the hubby) to look at, and an unbeatable breakfast buffet.

We opted for an afternoon on the private Honeymoon beach, which was lovely and deserted, except for the big soft beach chairs left for us. Very nice. My husband mountain biked and sailed, and I snorkled and took advantage of the free yoga, which turned out to be a private lesson.

Upon leaving, our bags appeared at the marina and the resort arranged for us a shuttle all the way to the ferry terminal where were were departing for St. Thomas.

A truly amazing stay, one that we won't forget! I only wish there had been some more rainy day activities for the day the weather turned a bit chilly, windy, and rainy. And, of course, I wish we'd been able to spend even more time there!!

Room Tip: Those "less desirable" garden rooms are beautiful, and a great deal on this amazing resort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank alihanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

If I was on a honeymoon or had a birthday milestone this is the place.
Pristine beaches,lovely beach lounge areas and privacy.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CanadaRockiesgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solon, Iowa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

We just returned from 5 nights at Peter Island, which we've visited regularly for the past 30 years. Happy to say that, while 2 years ago we noticed a little dip in the level of service, that has all been corrected. Everyone on the staff was great, friendly and seemed very happy to see us. The rooms are not the Ritz, but they are clean, well-stocked, as are the bathrooms. Besides, this is paradise and you shouldn't be spending a boatload of time in your room. The rest of the facility was wonderful. Walks around the island are strenuous, but beautiful (and you have to walk off all that great--yes, great--food, anyway. Be sure to have a picnic (they'll deliver) at the end of the sunset loop. Views are amazing, and if you walk, it is very pretty (though they will drive you to your picnic, if you want). And PLEASE be sure to give a little of your lunch up to those two cute little kitties who live there. All in all, we were SO happy to return and to find Peter Island back where it has been for most of these many years.

Oh, yes, by the way, we understand that their next big remodel is with the bathrooms. They must be reading some of these reviews.

Can't recommend this place highly enough, particularly when many of the other upscale Caribbean resorts have gotten so huge.

Room Tip: Request an upstairs Oceanview room toward the end. They are all good, but the waves are a little noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nmcslg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

Despite some negative reviews, we decided to book at Peter Island for 5 nights, Feb 17th - 22nd, 2012.
What we liked:
- Beautiful paradise-like beaches which are almost for you own.
- There are so many things to do in the island, that even staying 5 days, it was impossible to be bored. Planning the day is a must!
- Hotel had many complimentary offerings: water sports (including a fun hobbie-cat), snorkeling gear, tennis courts, yoga lessons, cheese during sunset, reservations for honeymoon beach, etc..

- The hotel is not packed with rooms or people, so you feel wilderness everywhere. Wherever you go in the island, there is always a sense of solitude and relaxation

- Spa is great with amazing views.

- We had a bottle of Champagne delivered to our room upon arrival

- Complimentary wi-fi reached to our room. No TV in the room (that's positive for us)

- The hotel is not noisy, so even if you go early to bed, you enjoy nice quality of sleeping.

What we didn't like:
- it's quite difficult to get into the island and the hotel doesn't help you with that
- it seems all the good things the hotel has, can be enjoyed by anyone who arrives to spend the day (makes you wonder if it's worth the $ just to sleep in an OK room).
- Despite what other reviews said, we found food to be quite bad (frozen pizzas, sub par beef, average fish... Breakfast was in our opinion, best meal of the day and wasn't anything special anyway (except for the freshly squeezed orange which was truly amazing)

- Transportation vehicles were old, ugly and in bad shape. They should have cute vehicles. Drivers were hardly ever on time even if you requested 2 hours in advance
- Room was quite ok, but bathroom was in really bad shape. There was a dirty and old curtain in our shower instead of glass
- Service, with a couple of exceptions, was horrible. 18% gratuity is included in all F&B, so waiters don't do any extra effort. Nobody welcomed us when we arrived and were asked to come back the following morning for the introduction...In the reception, they were slow and with no iniative. In general, total lack of interest in the guest.
- At the checkout, we found 2 charges that didn't belong to us. They didn't feel bad about it, nor paid excuses. Nobody was interested to hear about our experience.
- Total lack of management. Nobody seems to be in charge of the place, and that shows constantly during your stay. We never met the hotel manager in 5 days.

All in all, we had a terrific time and we don't regret the decision we made.
It's a just a pity to sense what a unique hotel this could be, with just some details, some love, proper management and just some $ spent in refurbishment (especially bathrooms).
If you want to relax and have fun in a beautiful surrounding, this is a great place to go.
If for the price you pay, you expect luxury accommodation, outstanding service and food, I would recommend to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank tedacuen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunsetloop, General Manager at Peter Island Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 25 March 2012
Thank you on behalf of the entire team for taking the time to post your comments and for your kind review of Peter Island Resort and Spa.

We are disappointed however that your experiences have not been consistent with what we offer. We make an effort each week to meet all of our guests and clearly we did not have the opportunity to welcome you to the Island. This information has been shared with our team and we will renew our efforts to ensure each visit to Peter Island Resort and Spa meets your expectations.

If you have any photographs or videos from your stay that you think capture the essence of your Peter Island Experience, please do upload onto Trip Advisor and visit us on Face book and YouTube where you can share your Peter Island Resort and Spa memories with others.

Thank you again for taking the time to post your comments. We look forward to welcoming back to our ‘amazing’ Private Island Resort.

With kind regards,

Wilbert Mason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peter Island
6.7 km away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
8.5 km away
Frenchmans
Frenchmans
#1 of 2 in West End
5.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
11.9 km away
Scrub Island Resort, Spa & Marina, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 km away
Rosewood Little Dix Bay
Rosewood Little Dix Bay
#1 of 7 in Virgin Gorda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
29.9 km away
Bitter End Yacht Club
Bitter End Yacht Club
#1 of 1 in North Sound
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
7.3 km away
Long Bay Beach Club
Long Bay Beach Club
#6 of 25 in Tortola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peter Island Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peter Island Resort and Spa

Property: Peter Island Resort and Spa
Address: Road Town | Tortola, 00801 2409, Peter Island
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Peter Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Peter Island
Price range (per night): ₹ 33,236 - ₹ 3,08,469
Hotel Class:5 star — Peter Island Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Peter Island Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peter Island Hotel Peter Island
Peter Island Resort And Spa British Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing