We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Badly managed paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Peter Island Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Peter Island
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Badly managed paradise”
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Despite some negative reviews, we decided to book at Peter Island for 5 nights, Feb 17th - 22nd, 2012.
What we liked:
- Beautiful paradise-like beaches which are almost for you own.
- There are so many things to do in the island, that even staying 5 days, it was impossible to be bored. Planning the day is a must!
- Hotel had many complimentary offerings: water sports (including a fun hobbie-cat), snorkeling gear, tennis courts, yoga lessons, cheese during sunset, reservations for honeymoon beach, etc..

- The hotel is not packed with rooms or people, so you feel wilderness everywhere. Wherever you go in the island, there is always a sense of solitude and relaxation

- Spa is great with amazing views.

- We had a bottle of Champagne delivered to our room upon arrival

- Complimentary wi-fi reached to our room. No TV in the room (that's positive for us)

- The hotel is not noisy, so even if you go early to bed, you enjoy nice quality of sleeping.

What we didn't like:
- it's quite difficult to get into the island and the hotel doesn't help you with that
- it seems all the good things the hotel has, can be enjoyed by anyone who arrives to spend the day (makes you wonder if it's worth the $ just to sleep in an OK room).
- Despite what other reviews said, we found food to be quite bad (frozen pizzas, sub par beef, average fish... Breakfast was in our opinion, best meal of the day and wasn't anything special anyway (except for the freshly squeezed orange which was truly amazing)

- Transportation vehicles were old, ugly and in bad shape. They should have cute vehicles. Drivers were hardly ever on time even if you requested 2 hours in advance
- Room was quite ok, but bathroom was in really bad shape. There was a dirty and old curtain in our shower instead of glass
- Service, with a couple of exceptions, was horrible. 18% gratuity is included in all F&B, so waiters don't do any extra effort. Nobody welcomed us when we arrived and were asked to come back the following morning for the introduction...In the reception, they were slow and with no iniative. In general, total lack of interest in the guest.
- At the checkout, we found 2 charges that didn't belong to us. They didn't feel bad about it, nor paid excuses. Nobody was interested to hear about our experience.
- Total lack of management. Nobody seems to be in charge of the place, and that shows constantly during your stay. We never met the hotel manager in 5 days.

All in all, we had a terrific time and we don't regret the decision we made.
It's a just a pity to sense what a unique hotel this could be, with just some details, some love, proper management and just some $ spent in refurbishment (especially bathrooms).
If you want to relax and have fun in a beautiful surrounding, this is a great place to go.
If for the price you pay, you expect luxury accommodation, outstanding service and food, I would recommend to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank tedacuen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunsetloop, General Manager at Peter Island Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 25 March 2012
Thank you on behalf of the entire team for taking the time to post your comments and for your kind review of Peter Island Resort and Spa.

We are disappointed however that your experiences have not been consistent with what we offer. We make an effort each week to meet all of our guests and clearly we did not have the opportunity to welcome you to the Island. This information has been shared with our team and we will renew our efforts to ensure each visit to Peter Island Resort and Spa meets your expectations.

If you have any photographs or videos from your stay that you think capture the essence of your Peter Island Experience, please do upload onto Trip Advisor and visit us on Face book and YouTube where you can share your Peter Island Resort and Spa memories with others.

Thank you again for taking the time to post your comments. We look forward to welcoming back to our ‘amazing’ Private Island Resort.

With kind regards,

Wilbert Mason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

929 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    659
    153
    63
    38
    16
See reviews for
105
571
9
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

The rooms are very low-key but who cares - you are in The BVI!!! The staff was amazing. The food was incredible. The service was fantastic. The Spa is the most beautiful that I have ever seen. The beaches are beautiful. The island is a wonderful place to walk or run if you like hills with breathtaking views. I definitely recommend having the couples spa experience in the Bohio at the spa. You must have champagne at sunset on the top of the mountain. And definitely have the private honeymoon beach experience - be sure to explore the beautiful rocky beaches by climbing over the hill behind the beach to the north side of the island. Scary, but exhilarating.

Room Tip: The water front (not beach front) rooms are the least expensive. The bathrooms in these rooms are v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnneSchmitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, VA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

We had an amazing week at Peter island. Hiking and island that is undeveloped with fantastic views. Relaxing on a beach the we felt was just ours. Snorkeling on a reef just off the beach. And an amazing sunset our last night to cap off the week. Overall a great week. Everyone their helped to make our week special.

Room Tip: We had room 131. It was away from the main resort/dining.. but made it feel like we were right on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank scubatrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We loved the unpretentious nature of this resort as well as the physical plant - gorgeous setting, food above average for the carribean. The outsides of the buildings definitely need a little work, and the bathrooms need remodeling. However, the staff is amazing, the beaches gorgeous, and it's so easy to relax!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PeterandAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dereham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

The room was okay, the food good but pricey, the spa fully booked by day trippers, and the bar service was non existent.
The bathroom should have been replaced ages ago.
It is not a place to go for two nights, as it is too confusing. There were very few staff to assist you.
Overall my two night stay was as expensive as my two nights at Burj-al-Arab, and the quality was worlds apart.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank hw-in-bermuda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peter Island
6.9 km away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
6.6 km away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#1 of 13 in Road Town
383 reviews
11.9 km away
Scrub Island Resort, Spa & Marina, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.9 km away
Bitter End Yacht Club
Bitter End Yacht Club
#1 of 1 in North Sound
480 reviews
7.2 km away
Long Bay Beach Club
Long Bay Beach Club
#7 of 25 in Tortola
709 reviews
20.8 km away
Rosewood Little Dix Bay
Rosewood Little Dix Bay
#1 of 7 in Virgin Gorda
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peter Island Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peter Island Resort and Spa

Property: Peter Island Resort and Spa
Address: Road Town | Tortola, 00801 2409, Peter Island
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Peter Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Peter Island
Price range (per night): ₹ 24,879 - ₹ 1,04,697
Hotel Class:5 star — Peter Island Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Peter Island Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peter Island Hotel Peter Island
Peter Island Resort And Spa British Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing