We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fort Recovery / Tortola”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Road Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We just returned from a 1 week stay at Fort Recovery in Tortola, BVIs. It has been 5 years since we last stayed at Fort Recovery. We enjoyed it so much 5 years ago that we returned this year with 2 friends. We rented units next door to eachother and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The staff continues to be pleasant and accommodated our every need. The only probelm with our stay was that it was too short. But my wife works in the school system so we were limited by the spring vacation. All 4 of us cannot wait until our next visit. Thanks especially to Doug, who checked in with us frequently to see if we needed anything. What a tremendous vacation we had.

Room Tip: I'd reccomned a lower unti as it is just seconds to the water, and nice snorkeling over calm gra...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DiverEastFalmouth_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (529)
There are newer reviews for Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

180 - 184 of 529 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2012

We stayed at the Fort Recovery "mansion" (as we called it) for a yoga retreat in April of 2012. Roughly 20 women stayed in this beautiful ocean-front house for 4 nights. The location was spectacular, right on the water. The house was a bit echo-ey due to the tile floors, but it's not so bad to get up a little early and enjoy a cup of coffee out on the dock. Every room had a really nice private bathroom and air conditioner.

We fell in love with Ivette, one of the women who worked there. She gave the BEST massage I've ever had, made the most delicious home-made bread I'd ever tasted, brewed a mean pot-o-coffee and was, just generally, incredibly sweet and accommodating. She even joined us for a meditation class! We did find the front desk staff to be a bit challenging to deal with at times. One of the gentlemen continued to give us incorrect information any time we asked him a question and the vibe among the administrative staff was generally a little bit awkward any time we went into the office to ask a question - but who wants to spend time in the office when you're in Tortola anyway!?

The restaurant at the hotel was quiet during the week and you do need to place your food order by a certain hour so they know what to buy - they leave paper out front and it was really easy to do. The continental breakfast is really just bread and coffee (but the bread is super delicious). If you want a regular breakfast you can order it through the restaurant but it's not included.

The pool is small but really cute and the hotel is located just a quick walk away from a little mini-market which we walked to for snacks, lunch and beverages on several occasions. Beach towels were a decent size and cleaning staff did a great job every day.

One thing we will say about the trip as a whole is that it may make sense to rent a car. It's roughly $70 a day and the cabs all over the Virgin Islands charge by passenger AND by bag. So for a quick 5 minute ride they can get everyone for $10 a piece - and you can see how this would add up if you wanted to tour the island and hit up a few spots.

We did have friends stay in the beach-front villas the night before we got there and were able to peak into their rooms. They included a cute little kitchenette, living room area and were just as nice as the suites in the main house in which we stayed.

The SPA gave us an amazing massage and everyone who had a service there was totally thrilled.

Room Tip: I didn't see a bad one
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Snowbored
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

I had the pleasure of returning to Fort Recovery beachfront Villa & Suites for a family retreat over the Passover/ Good Friday weekend. We arrived late Thursday night and were greeted with friendly faces. Our room was beautiful too. Our room opened to the most glorious view of the beach. The hotel staff arranged to accommodate our large family both Friday & Saturday nights in a common room to hold our family Seders. They made sure we had everything we needed and didn't forget anything. The food they prepared for us was delicious. During the day I had a massage in the spa which was so relaxing and peaceful. Everyone who works on staff here was friendly & accommodating. The hotel was clean, quiet & serene & made you feel like you were at home. The houskeeping staff was very good. They offer free wi-fi & a large tv in a common room. Overall, we feel we choose the right place to house our large family and accommodate our needs. I will gladly recommend Fort Recovery to my friends. I hope to come back soon.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the beach are glorious.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank djgmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

My husband and I have been staying at Fort Recovery Villas on Tortola for about 15 years. This year we were lucky enough to stay there twice. We spent the month of February at Fort Recovery and then returned in April with our daughter, her husband and our 2 granddaughters. Suffice it to say...this is our "home away from home." We have stayed in several of their units and love them all. The staff is very accommodating. We love that it is right on the water. We love that it is quiet and tucked away. We love that the units have a full kitchen so that we can eat meals at home and don't have to go out all the time. And we just plain love it! I would recommend a car rental. Although the location is very convenient to many of the beaches and restaurants, they are not within walking distance. This is for sure a little bit of paradise.

P.S. My husband just reminded me we have stayed at Fort Recovery 39 nights this year. He would never do that if he didn't really like it.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Solonite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

We keep saying lets do back to Fort Recovery for our winter get a way. It is so peaceful, quiet. A perfect spot to get away from the hustle and bustle of those big resorts. We stay three weeks, rent a car and explore our favorite spots on Tortola. We take advantage of the full kitchen about half of the time.

Room Tip: We like the penthouse suites in the older section.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Road Town
1.5 km away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#1 of 13 in Road Town
446 reviews
15.1 km away
Surfsong Villa Resort
Surfsong Villa Resort
#1 of 1 in Beef Island
293 reviews
1.9 km away
Frenchmans
Frenchmans
#1 of 2 in West End
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Long Bay Beach Club
Long Bay Beach Club
#7 of 25 in Tortola
733 reviews
18.4 km away
Scrub Island Resort, Spa & Marina, Autograph Collection
6.9 km away
Peter Island Resort and Spa
Peter Island Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Peter Island
960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel

Address: | West End, Road Town VG1110, Tortola
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Tortola > Road Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Road Town
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Road Town
Price Range: ₹ 15,492 - ₹ 30,406 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel is a small, unique hotel located on Tortola, British Virgin Islands and is family owned & operated since 1969. Chosen by Discovery's Travel Channel, Fort Recovery was the only Hotel Selected on Tortola for their exclusive Caribbean showcase. They were also chosen as the Captain's Guide Magazine's "Best Resort," by the Reader's of the Captain's Guide Magazine. All suites are directly on the beach with cable TV, A/C, free WI-FI, housekeeping, private balcony/patio/deck, living room, kitchen, master bedroom, full bathroom and more. Views are unmatched and completely unobstructed, right on the calm, Caribbean side of Tortola. On site is a full service spa with professionally trained staff. There is an in-house, private restaurant also serving breakfast and dinner daily. 24/7 on-site management and knowledgeable front desk staff are always there at your service! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa And Suites Hotel
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa Hotel Road Town
Fort Recovery Beachfront Hotel
Hotel Fort Recovery Beachfront
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel Tortola/Road Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing